We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”
Review of Voltaire Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Voltaire Restaurant
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Enter Voltaire and you step into a time of graciousness where you are treated as a welcome guest. Owner/host Martin oversees the excellent service without ever being intrusive. Chef David prepares the cuisine as if for his own family. Over the past 12 years I have dined there often, sampling a variety of the menu, all delectable. In addition to the nightly specials, Martin and David have, in these difficult financial times, offered their patrons special discounts and reduced prices, never skimping on the quality nor quantity of their dishes. If you live here or are visiting, I heartily recommend Voltaire as a special dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    7
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Voltaire restaurant a winner!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

In Scottsdale/Phoenix area you cannot find a better dining experience than Voltaire. The food preparation is outstanding and always dependable. You will find dishes here that you cannot find elsewhere, such as their fresh fish preparations. The Dover Sole is a favorite as is the Sandabs, seldom found elsewhere. The serene, pleasant atmosphere allows you to visit pleasantly with your companions...no blasting rock music destroys the evening. We eat their almost weekly and always look forward to the gracious reception and excellent food.
Lois and John Mueller

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaReddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
1 review
“Excellent French -style meals”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We enjoy the unique meals on the menu, as well as the mainstay type ones. It is much closer to our home than going to central phoenix.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scrubz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Dining Experience from the Past”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have enjoyed many fine dining experiences, reminiscent of days past when quiet conversation and superb service were the norm not the exception. Voltaire offers amazing menu selections from Vichyssoise to Roast Duckling and everything in between. The 3 course Prix Fixe Dinner is a great value and is served with expert attention to presentation. Martin and David are fine restaurateurs.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank firerock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Dining Experience”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I recently returned to Voltaire for dinner with my wife, I'd been there twice before and had been impressed & I was hoping to not be disappointed. My wife & I used a Groupon coupon & thought that maybe we wouldn't be given the same service we'd received before but they treated us the with the same good service as I'd had on my prior visits. Our server, Krista, suggested the Goat Cheese Salad with Pear Vinaigrette dressing served with Beatsor Beets, so we shared one and it was AMAZING. I am definitely recommending trying this AMAZING starter. For our entree's my wife ordered the Dover Sole which they filet table side & she said was excellent...I had one of their specials, Monk Fish w/Nan Tucket Scallops covered in a Lemon Caper sauce that melted in my mouth & the flavor of the sauce was the perfect choice for the fish. We were treated very well by everyone and the food was incredible. I would definitely recommend Voltaire to anyone and you don't have to feel uncomfortable using a coupon. I have been treated the same with and without. This restaurant is one of the best kept secrets in fine dining in Scottsdale. It is becoming one of my very favorite places to eat. Anyone would be very happy with their experience at Voltaire.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voltaire Restaurant also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing