We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abusive Conduct and Lousy Food”
Review of Italian Grotto

Italian Grotto
Ranked #800 of 1,267 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Abusive Conduct and Lousy Food”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have never had such a terrible experience in a restaurant in my whole life. We were 4 girlfriends dining together and as the owner passed by our table, my friend called to him "sir, excuse me". She wanted to tell him that she liked the shirt he was wearing. He apparently expected a complaint and just launched on us. Yelling and swearing--I honestly couldn't tell you what point he was trying to make. We were completely aghast.

Oh, and the food is lousy too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jjayp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    93
    51
    33
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richfield, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Like Italian? Here you go!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great Italian food in a cozy corner location! Friendly staff in the center of Old Town where you can shop to your delight!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“What a waste of a great hunger!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

After touring the Apache Trail pretty well all day and nothing to eat since breakfast, we arrived in Scottsdale hoping for a great meal.

I should have known from the music being piped outside that this place should be avoided like the plague. Sadly, stomach overruled brain. Giving this place a 'Terrible' rating is doing all the other terrible restaurants a disservice. The Italian Grotto rates a double minus terrible.

From the loud-mouthed pot-bellied servers to the level of noise, this restaurant should only be frequented fifteen minutes before death by starvation or thirst, whichever comes last. Neither my wife nor I finished our meals. The little we ate did make us survive to the next morning, so there is at least something good to be said about this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ergoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwesterner
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old School Italian”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have dined here before, but this experience was even BETTER! We were immediately seated for dinner and had an excellent server. He "read" us very well and had great menu and wine recommendations. It is definitely an "old school" Italian menu and the food is delicious!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank politicallyincorrect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Local Italian in Old Town”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stumbled onto this place while on a golf trip to Scottsdale. Great bartender, great wait staff. You could tell almost everyone in the place was a regular. Had a great dinner. You can't miss here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Road_Warrior34655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Grotto also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Italian Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing