We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”

Razz's Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #91 of 1,257 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Scottsdale
Description: Razz's Restaurant & Catering With his engaging smile, rich exotic voice and culinary wizardry, Chef Razz Kamnitzer is the charismatic soul of the hip restaurant. The restaurant is small and sleek. A bustling open kitchen transport diners to the hobnobbing, energetic experience of big city dining. The chef is a native of Venezuela with a heritage spanning Europe. Razz offers international classics: Paella, Bouillabaisse, Osso Bucco, Escargot Bourguignonne as well as inspired contemporary creations such as Macadamia Nut Encrusted Mahi Mahi served with a tropical fruit relish and garlic beurre blanc sauce. If you're a Food Network junkie, dine at island kitchen with a host of regular guests and chat with Razz as he and his team flambe, saute and slice it up.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

the restaurant is a hidden jewel, the host a beautiful women yes sometimes Razz's wife greets you with a pleasant smile, gives you the impression you are being sat were you want to be sat, this is a quint restaurant. small contemporary you can order off the menu, or if you choose to site at the bar more of an atmosphere to watch Razz and his assistant prepare the meals, if you choose to sit at the bar Razz will prepare course's for you, ,Part of the presentation Razz or one of his assistant will explain how the course was prepared and what ingredients were used , the food is great, a once in a lifetime experience everybody deserves

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnnyjayhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    27
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I would strongly recommend this restaurant. We made a reservation at the captains table where we sat at the counter. We were able to watch as our entrées were prepared and interact with the chef. He made our party a series of one item entrees from apitizers, soup, main courses and desert. He reviewed the ingredients in each as they were served. Each item was cooked to perfection. The spices were very balanced and tasted wonderfully. We particularly loved the the interaction with Razz. We also let the staff pick the wines we drank and they matched the food perfectly. The restaurant was full with many of the diners coming up and talking with Razz. Overall, one of our best dinning experiences!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcwillis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
766 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Overcrowded, overly noisy, overpriced, overrated! This Scottsdale restaurant on a Saturday night is not the place to be. The service was not good. We had to ask a few times before we could get a glass of wine. The restaurant is on the small side so it could be intimate. However, the tables are jammed in and the restaurant is noisy. The wait staff can hardly serve the tables. The food is ok but for the ambiance, it is overpriced. The wait staff is hassled and lets you know it. You definitely feel that this is not a great night for them and they just don't want you to ask them for anything extra. This restaurant wants to be gourmet but has a long way to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pbuntarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok but a disappointment”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We eat here about once a year. It is usually good- not great but this time it was less good than usual. Razz's has gourmet pretentions but this was a really pretty mediocre meal. I really depend on the menu to tell me what my meal will look like and taste like but three out of 5 were different than the way they were described.
My appetizer- risotto with lobster and crab- turned out to be a deep fried rice ball with no seafood flavor at all. I sent it back and got sweetbreads instead. I have had that dish before but this time the sweetbreads...... were in a ball and deep fried. Sweetbreads are all about texture so rolling them in a ball and deep frying them makes no sense whatsoever. I sent them back as well. Two terrible appetizers. My husband had the Seafood Beggar's Purse which he shared. it was good.
The duck breast was good although the lingonberry sauce didn't taste of fruit, it was just a brown sauce. He had something called Chicken and rice which turned out to be Jambalaya.
Scottsdale has a lot of restaurants and quite a few that are better than this. Or maybe this was an off night. Razz was busy the whole time chatting with the people at the Chef's table so maybe he wasn't watching what goes on in the kitchen.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amyarizona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went to Razz for my husband's birthday. We loved it. The food was excellent. We started with the Beggars Purse Appetizer and had the Bouillabasse for our entree. It was full of seafood .
The Waiters were very attentive.They have a Chef's table which is a large bar. Razz prepares special items for you. He is very entertaining and the food he prepares is great. We tried it at another visit. It can be pricey however.Razz is definitely a Scottsdale Treasure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Razz's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Razz's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing