We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Que Bueno”
Review of Los Sombreros - CLOSED

Los Sombreros
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South Scottsdale
Sedona
Level Contributor
162 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Que Bueno”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

SO happy that Los Sombreros opened in North Scottsdale as we now have a second option for Mexican food when we don't want to venture into Oldtown Scottsdale or central Phoenix. What first impressed us was the warm (and obviously home-made chips) that came with two salsas that were quite different from what is often served. We shared the seafood taco appetizer which were superb and then I had the duck enchiladas with mole nayarit (fabulous) and my husband had the chicken dish which was good but not great as chicken tasted like it had been cooked prior to being sauced. We will definitely be back as menu is not only very different from the usual Mexican restaurants but service was excellent and there are still so many items that we would like to try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lili1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    55
    13
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This restaurant used to be one of our favorites and I do mean USED to! Tried it one more time and now we will NEVER go back. The food has gone downhill quite a bit and the staff still is riding on its old reputation. I think when they really went downhill when they lost their chef. Try the Mission in Scottsdale for a decent Mexican fare. But avoid this place!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheriBeriB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a dissappointment”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I went to the new location on Northsight with my family. It is a nice location. The childerns menu is very hard to read a very fancy font that kids can not read. The portion was so small it did not fill them up! Not served with rice or beans for the kids meal. I ordered the enchiladas which were served in a bowl like soup with the rice and beans. The food was fair, but I will not be returning it was too expensive. The chips and salsa were not included unless we ordered an appetizer. It is a shame that the food was not served in a nicer presentation for the price you paid.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst service ! Terrible experience!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely cannot disagree with other reviewers. Went last Friday to their new location. Everything went wrong. Bad service, wrong food delivered, food was awful (toughest meat in town). Friends were there at another table and left after waiting 20 minutes for drinks, I wish we would have done the same. Had to take the family and kids to chickfila afterwards (honestly). Server and manager were ignorant and rude when I brought issues to their attention, Didn't care about our experience and should not be in the hospitality industry. Avid Mexican food fan and I can honestly say that the food was horrendous!

Helpful?
4 Thank bryanwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“unique mexican food”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great little just south of downtown Scottsdale. There were three of us and we ended up getting a few of the small plates to share and what a great taste experience. Highly recommend the corn cake souffle with mole, the right mix of sweet and savory. Also the mushroom bacon taco was a very good. The dessert offerings weren't as exciting or extensive as the dinner menu, alas. We ordered two of the chocolate desserts to share and decided that the chocoate tamale dish was the better of the two, and had a interesting taste.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mxm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Sombreros also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing