We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steaks, Huge Sides, Nice Atmosphere”

Mastro's Ocean Club
Reserve with OpenTable
Mastro's Ocean Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 1,262 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Main St
Description: Mastro's collection of sophisticated, classic Steakhouses and Ocean Club seafood locations are recognized for their combination of world-class service, highly acclaimed cuisine, and live entertainment in an elegant yet energetic atmosphere. A truly unparalleled dining experience.
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great Steaks, Huge Sides, Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I enjoy Mastro's and typically entertain there while in Scottsdale.

When we entered they were running a few minutes late, we were eating at 8:30 PM. They offered free drinks which we were not real interested in at that time. However it was a very nice gesture.

We skipped the appetizers since we were coming from a cocktail party. I had a salad and the bone-in sirloin - 12 oz. It was very nice. We ate lots of sides... lobster mashed potatoes, gnocchi, mac and cheese, and lots of vegetables.

We ended the evening sharing the warm butter cake with ice cream. It was amazing.

This is not an inexpensive restaurant. The waiters are great at recommending the house specials which are typically the most expensive items on the menu. If you are with a group and they all order sides, you will most likely end up with enough to feed a football team.

It's a good experience,. professional staff, and as I stated above...not inexpensive. We did not eat any appetizers and went light on the drinks and only one ($90) bottle of wine. It was still $900 for 8 people. So figure about $100 a head plus wine.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clinton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    176
    108
    34
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food is good but the bar is TOO LOUD”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We dined there for our office Christmas party in Dec 20, 2007. We enjoyed it so much, that we looked forward to returning sometime. We did return Dec 23, 2012 for a special occasion, but had a far different experience. The bar music was BLASTING; made it nearly impossible for conversation. Food was good, but dining isn't only about the food. If you don't care about hearing anyone at your table, this is the place for you. We would not go back. The other couple in our party said the same thing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank hrtinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and snazzy atmosphere”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We recently visited Ocean Club for a work dinner with clients. We were able to have great wine, excellent service and a fun atmosphere. It was a bit loud for good conversation with our clients, but was fun people watching. We had the seafood towers and they were amazing! There was also a fantastic band playing all of today's hits and it was fun to dance. Great wine, service, food and people watching! I recommend going back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roseee311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mastro's - The Best in Scottsdale -”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a party of four for New Year's Eve and booked the table a month out. Good thing it was packed. Mastro's is busy, but not so noisy you can't have a table conversion. We were seated within 5 minutes of our reservation (7pm). The service is over the top, they match your linen to your outfit!.

We ordered two bottles of wine of the very deep wine list and had lobster bisque for appetizers. I had very large pieces of lobster in the reduction, it was smooth and creamy. The table bread was warm and a good variety.

Entress: I ordered the blackened steelhead with lump crab meat (oscar style), the girls split a salmon entree and the other gent had a huge Maine lobster. The lobster was sweet and tender. I would recommend it when you visit. All meals were outstanding. Of course we added the lobster mashed potatoes and the house mac and cheese. We had no room for dessert. total cost was aprox $400 with two bottles of wine.

Side note, we arrived by Execucar transportation. The bellman at Mastro's suggested we use the local Mastro's towncar for the ride back to the hotel (Camelback Inn). he suggested it would be less expensive. Bottom line, ride to Mastro's $38, back $55...so avoid the local car trans.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AZPILOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good dining experience”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This restaurant is pricy and a little noisy. The atmosphere is very nice and the service is very good. The portions are very large more than enough to share. We had appetizers, salads and a very nice bottle of wine. It was more than enough and did not order a main course. We were staying at a hotel and had no place for leftovers. The wine list is very good and the drinks are generous. Next visit I will skip starters and just order a main course.
The live music was very nice without being over loud.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2lilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mastro's Ocean Club also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Mastro's Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing