We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for a hearty breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chompie's

Chompie's
Ranked #123 of 1,239 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chompie's, Arizona's NY Deli Since 1979, is best known for its award-winning N.Y. style boiled-then-baked bagels, famous "Mile High" corned beef and pastrami sandwiches, Jewish Sliders (featured on Travel Channel's Man v. Food Season 3), matzo ball soup, fresh baked breads, N.Y. style black and white cookies, N.Y. style cheesecake, catering, and its huge breakfast all day, lunch and dinner menu, featuring sandwiches, salads, burgers, chicken sandwiches, smoked fish and lox, sliders, traditional Jewish cuisine favorites, Friday fish fry, potato pancakes (latkes), soups, eggs, omelets, pancakes, waffles, French toast, eggs benedicts, healthy Fitness Boot Camp selections, gluten free friendly choices, and kids menu options. Chompie's deli counter features meats and cheeses, smoked fish, cream cheeses, deli salads, knish, and more. The bakery counter offers Chompie's fresh baked-from-scratch breads, bagels, bialys, cakes, cookies, danishes, gluten free friendly bakery goods, rugelach, cupcakes, cheesecake, and more. Take out is also available.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great place for a hearty breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

When I'm hungry for a big ole breakfast, which isn't often, I go to Chompies. Last time I consumed my days worth of calories in their corned beef potato hash skillet with eggs sunny side up. YUM! Wait staff is amazing. Waitress reheated my coffee because she saw I was busy with work and hadn't had time to drink it. I didn't even have to ask her. She treated me like a queen.

The 'host' is always the same guy- older gentleman, maybe part of the family that owns Chompies. I actually enjoy seeing him and consider it part of my Scottsdale 'New York' experience. I hope he's always there. Last time he helped me find a plug for my cell phone and laptop. The look on his face was priceless, like 'Seriously, chic' - but he was all about customer service first.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MBradbury33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    112
    36
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seven layer cake!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Have been to chompies many times over the past 8 years, although I've been to better Jewish Delis being originally from Detroit, you can't beat their 7 layer cake, I've had this traditional Jewish deli dessert all over the US and chompies rates near the top, I usually order a whole one anytime guests are in town from Detroit or a single piece for me( 1 piece is HUGE enough for 2), their lox is also very good

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Bakery and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I love to go to Chompies, I cannot ever finish my meal it is too big but it is worth it to take some home. What a great variety of foods and flavors. Don't forget to go to the bakery where all the delights await you. Wish the one near 32nd and Greenway didn't go out of business. I will make the trip to the mall to eat there and it is the only place in the mall to get a beer now.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank angied764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The next best thing to Katz's in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

It will take you a while if you try to read everything on the menu. They have homemade soups, great sandwiches, fabulous breakfasts, delicious dinners and all the portions are huge, we always share! The potato pancakes are awesome. They have table service, a deli, a bakery/baked goods case and carry-out. The everything bagels and the blueberry bagels are our favorites. The Challa bread and rolls are fantastic. And, if you ever need a cake for a special occasion, they always have multiple choices all ready to go and they are not only beautiful, they are unbelievably decadent. Your friends/family will rave about them. And, if that isn't enough they also have multiple varieties of Dr. Brown's soda. You will feel like you stepped into the movie set of When Harry Met Sally!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Heymisch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you know what that means, you are a good candidate for this establishment (it's Yiddish for homey, or like when you were growing up). Their chcken stock is excellent whether you prefer noodles, matzoh balls, kreplach, or the whole mish-mash. Their deli meats are fresh and tasty and their bakery is more than respectable (I have a weakness for 7-layer cake). Go hungry, eat hearty, feel guilty later.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sedonadiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chompie's also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Chompie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing