We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun experience”
Review of Chompie's

Chompie's
Ranked #127 of 1,250 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chompie's, Arizona's NY Deli Since 1979, is best known for its award-winning N.Y. style boiled-then-baked bagels, famous "Mile High" corned beef and pastrami sandwiches, Jewish Sliders (featured on Travel Channel's Man v. Food Season 3), matzo ball soup, fresh baked breads, N.Y. style black and white cookies, N.Y. style cheesecake, catering, and its huge breakfast all day, lunch and dinner menu, featuring sandwiches, salads, burgers, chicken sandwiches, smoked fish and lox, sliders, traditional Jewish cuisine favorites, Friday fish fry, potato pancakes (latkes), soups, eggs, omelets, pancakes, waffles, French toast, eggs benedicts, healthy Fitness Boot Camp selections, gluten free friendly choices, and kids menu options. Chompie's deli counter features meats and cheeses, smoked fish, cream cheeses, deli salads, knish, and more. The bakery counter offers Chompie's fresh baked-from-scratch breads, bagels, bialys, cakes, cookies, danishes, gluten free friendly bakery goods, rugelach, cupcakes, cheesecake, and more. Take out is also available.
Affton, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Ate there with my husband and 2 school-age kids and we all had a great meal. The fried matzo balls were fun and the knish was really good but our sandwiches were awesome! My white fish sandwich was amazing and my husband had something big and stacked (can't remember what it was but he loved it). Good food, huge portions, and fun atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    116
    38
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Great Deli Restaurant”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We first came here not knowing what we would find as in the UK we do not have any deli restaurants like this. The food was very good and great value for money with generous portions. The menu is extensive and I would think there is something for everyone from breakfast to dinner as well as snacks . The margaritas are not the best I have tasted but for the price are OK. We come here regularly now when we are in Phoenix and have always found the staff to be excellent. If you like something that is a change from the usual eateries then a visit here will not disappoint.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Reubens”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My dad and I went to Chompie's last week and had a great experience. It's a casual place in a strip mall, but has great food. I ordered a half reuben sandwich with matzo ball soup. The half sandwich was HUGE and I could have shared it and still left full. I had never had matzo ball soup and that was great, too. If I had still been hungry, I would have been happy to buy some treats from the bakery. This is a place that is worth trying!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Critzyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tombstone, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really Good Sandwiches!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Really Good Sandwiches!

Not cheap on prices, but also jam packed sandwiches full of meat!

My first time there was the best, but I never remember which sandwich it was to get it right when I go back....

Good spot!

Helpful?
1 Thank TLWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
102 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What you would expect in a NY type Deli”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great pastrami and corned beef. Really liked the Reuben sandwich. My wife ordered the Monte Christo sandwich and it was also huge. The bagels are terrific. I have had the corned beef hash and eggs for breakfast, which was also good. You can't pass up the bakery with all the fresh cakes, cookies and pastries. We always have to get some to go. The staff is friendly, and the service is generally fairly fast. There were two annoying things on this visit. First one of the servers decided to refill the mustard bottles and other condiments at a table right beside ours. This should have been done somewhere other than the dining area. Banging half filled bottles together to combine into one is not what the customers need to listen too or see. The second was as my wife was watching the TV screen she also watched a roach crawling around on the wall beside it. Makes you wonder about the sanitation at the restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AtascocitaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chompie's also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Chompie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing