We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Chinese”

Flo's Unique Chinese Cuisine
Ranked #135 of 1,256 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: North Scottsdale
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Chinese”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good Chinese food with good service
The decor and ambiance are good and the price reasonable. Would not hesitate to go back when next in Scottsdale
David T

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    54
    24
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The din!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Service and food quite good. Price normal for the dish and quantity (teriyaki salmon & beef and wide noodles). Wife and I are authorities on Chinese cuisine (ran restaurant 25 years). The food was nicely prepared, including correct hotness added to noodle dish. Wife said the food a bit salty, but I thought it was fine. Lots of fish in the salmon plate. The beef had been softened with some sort of tenderizer. Not too fatty, just as one expects for flank steak usually served in Chinese restaurants. No knife offered, since everything was soft and bite sized.
Decor attractive modern. Big bar area (we did not utilize).
One big problem--really big problem. The din! Everything in the facility echos noise, making this the noisiest restaurant I have ever eaten in (out of literally hundreds all across the USA). I could not hear my digital voice recorder even pushed right against my ear. My wife could not hear her audio tape even with two earplugs.
In short, complete failure of room design (absolutely no sound adsorbing materials--no drapes, no acoustical tiles, no etc.) and complete failure to remediate the noise problem.
Other than that, very nice restaurant in a very nice neighborhood.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr J W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quick service - nice variety”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Flo's is always good. A salad or soup to start followed by any number of Chinese dishes. They are served hot and with a smile. Attentive but not bothersome wait staff - and when the bill comes you will be plesantly surprised!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Vermont
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Food and Value!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I visited Flo's today (Thursday) around 1 PM with my boyfriend and his grandpa. For a weekday afternoon it was almost full, and I can see why. The lunch portions are more than fair and a great value. I think each of our meals were about $10 and came with salad and choice of white or brown rice. I had the Kung Pao chicken and it was delicious, although for me personally I would've liked a bit more heat. The servers were helpful and really quick to get anything we needed. We will definitely be back to Flo's soon!

Helpful?
Thank Kala B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best Chinese Restaurant in the Greater Phoenix Area”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have been dining at this restaurant for three years. No sure why it's taken me this long to write a review, but I tell ya, what a gem of a place it is. The staff, the owner (Flo), the ambiance are all a WOW! In fact, they had recently renovated, and the place is a total ten while the prices are fairly inexpensive for the lavish location of the beautiful North Scottsdale. Definitely recommending it to all my friends, and I cannot wait to eat there again. Try their hot and sour soup and their Vindaloo Chicken! You will lick your fingers! :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FountainResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flo's Unique Chinese Cuisine also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Flo's Unique Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing