We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good... but not great”
Review of Bandera

Bandera
Ranked #24 of 1,261 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good... but not great”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We always stop at Banderas when in Scottsdale for the yearly Barrett-Jackson auction. The food is good - not great, but always acceptably good. The only objectionable item on the limited menu is the sea bass; it is definitely not sea bass and is a mediocre entree. The drinks are excellent. The decor & ambiance spot on; classy but not stuffy. Nice pleasant waitresses. Prices are a bit high but acceptable. We like the place and will stop again but if you want really great food... no. If you want a nice meal and a few good drinks... yes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    209
    40
    18
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Bandera - great place in Old Town”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Drove by a couple of times before committing to dinner. Bandera was always busy. Service was great. We had a big crowd and had to split our party into two different tables (this was anticipated). The restaurant was very accomodating and did their best to take care of us. I had the Rotisserie chicken with green rice (green in that it is served with cilantro). Quite good. And while lacking a little in flavor I would order again. the chicken was not at all dry. Highly recommend ordering the skillet cornbread (one of their specialties) for the table. It looks more like a cake and was excellent. However, I was dissappointed with the House Margarita in which I had Don Julio substituted for the regular tequila. Seemed to me they were fairly stingy with the tequila and overall it was weak. I would come back here although there are a lot of options in the area that are enticing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ecbatana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Open it at 5”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We got there just before 5, and were the first to be let in. There were five in our group. We had a nice and comfortable booth. Started with wine....very good. Then had the corn-bread appetizer - very good (fortunately not spicy). Everyone loved their meal. One party member was informed the meal he ordered wasn't available (could not hear the problem). They would comp his second choice (nice that they did that). He was disappointed, but he liked his alternative. Overall, service was good, very attentive, and friendly. Meals were very good (especially a specialty they have - the carrots).

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank az2woodridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Second visit - glad I came back!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is my second visit to Bandera. Glad I made reservations as this place fills up quickly on a Friday night.

Food is fast served and the staff is very friendly. It does get a bit busy and loud, so just have that in mind for whatever type of dinner you have planned.

There are not a ton of selections on the menu, but my go to is the chicken salad - great! Smoky chicken and nice fresh lettuce.

Would definitely come back if I was in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SMR_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“banderas”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

always a good meal. limited menu but varied enough to please everyone. all items always well prepared. attentive service. very convenient to old scottsdale activities. basically I can choose any item on their menu and be happy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandera also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Bandera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing