We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best au gratin potatoes ever!”
Review of Don & Charlie's

Don & Charlie's
Reserve with OpenTable
Don & Charlie's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 1,262 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Cross street: 75th St. (3 blocks east of Scottsdale Rd)
Description: Since 1981 Don and Charlie's has been serving prime steaks, BBQ baby back ribs, BBQ chicken, prime rib, fresh fish and many other entrees that are indicative to our Chicago roots. Don, the management team and the staff deliver professional and friendly service in relaxed surroundings. After 35 years, satisfying our guest is still our number one goal.
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best au gratin potatoes ever!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We had reservations for 8:15, but didn't get seated until 8:45.....but the meals was very good! I had the coconut shrimp and the marmalade dip had a little kick which was so good, but the potatoes were the best I have ever had! Others had ribs and really enjoyed them also. Baseball/ sports fans will have a great time with all the "stuff" everywhere, helps the waiting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bettysac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    147
    46
    24
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
napa ca
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Over rated, mediocre food, very high prices”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Go for the memorabilia but don't expect anything worthwhile after that. Perfect example of a popular restaurant that has lost its quality because it cannot adequately handle the crowds. We had reservations for 7, did not get seated til 8:15! Prime rib was fatty, cole slaw like soup, and that was over $30! Please, what a rip off. Plus crowded, hot, frenetic dashing around by staff. At one point waiter removed my butter and placed a like container of creamy horseradish much to my surprise as I slathered it on bread. Honestly, go once to peruse memorabilia but for great food, go somewhere else.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie9855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sport's Fan Must See”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place is absolutely filled to the brim with sports memorabilia. You won't have time in one visit to take in all the history hanging on the walls. Hubby and I go to Spring Training each year and this has become a must-do for one dinner.
The food is delicious and plentiful, yes a little price-y, but very good quality food. We got the fried calamari appetizer which was fried just right, not overdone. We could have shared an entree but noooo, we each had to order our own. Too much food! We had to take home a lot of it! I had the Parmesan Crusted New York. If I didn't know better, that was a Filet Mignon. It was easily 2" thick and cooked exactly like I ordered it, rare. Very tender, you could tell it was a well aged piece of beef. Hubby had the Skirt Steak Chicago Style. He loved it and will get it again. We never have room for dessert.
Our visit last year, our first, was just as good. We had the ribs which is what they are probably best known for. Very meaty and tender. Coconut Shrimp were pretty good, standard fare.
We both love the noisy, bustling atmosphere of this place yet we always have the best servers. Attentive yet not hovering, enjoyably friendly and funny.
They put in a new outdoor patio on the street side. It's always nice to sit outside in the spring in Scottsdale. It was a good way to sit with a glass of something tasty after dinner to digest a little and and talk.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Revlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok, but not great”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Ribs one visit were above average; NY Strip the next visit disappointing. Ordered medium rare with crust. Came medium, expected a chared crust, more like a dark sauce.
Home made salad dressings (tried garlic & anchovie cream) very good, elevated ordinary salads.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don and Charlie's”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

A bit pricey for what we wanted to pay for dinner but the burgers were good. Sports Bar type restaurant. Got seated sooner than we expected for how busy it was.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don & Charlie's also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Don & Charlie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing