We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite local spot”
Review of Z'Tejas Scottsdale

Z'Tejas Scottsdale
Ranked #196 of 1,256 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Cross street: Camelback Rd and Scottsdale Rd.
Transit: Camelback Road and Scottsdale Road.
Description: Our fresh, flavorful and innovative menus showcase the bold and robust flavors of Arizona, California, Louisiana, New Mexico and Texas. We take traditional ingredients, spices and cooking techniques from around the South to create a taste without borders.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“My favorite local spot”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

ALways have great service--food is moderately priced and always a more interested menu with a great selection of healthy choices and wonderful salads. Never disappoints!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bluewar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    88
    38
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Happy Hour with Friends!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The was a great spot for friends to catch up. We took advantage of the appeziter happy hour menu. They serve a wonderful cornbread; we added table side guacamole, beef street tacos and pork verde. We enjoyed outdoor seating with excellent service. I always find it interesting when people comment on authentic mexican food. I don't think they claim to be authenic, it's just a fun place to eat that puts their own twist on southwest/tex mex cooking.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“There are better southwestern restos in Scottsdale -- but not bad.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Corn bread is great as are the guac, salsa and cheese apps. The mains are pretty so-so. The Spicy Tuna is great but much of the food was rather bland. Good family place with lots of options for the kids. Try to sit upstairs as the basement level is very dark.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TO-ski-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We typically visit the Z Tejas in Chandler on Ray Road, but like the one in Scottsdale too.
The cornbread is so yummy you have to be careful not to fill up on it before getting to your meal.
Two favorites are the Five Cheese Macaroni with Chicken and the Chile Relleno. Both are absolutely delicious.


The service is always attentive without being annoying. We also like the atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good corn bread”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I didnt feel authentic mexican food is served here... I liked the corn bread for sure
Ambience is great and so the staff; but was not impressed with food at all

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avinash_Swami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Z'Tejas Scottsdale also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Z'Tejas Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing