We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Italian food and service”
Review of Veneto Trattoria

Veneto Trattoria
Ranked #62 of 1,262 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Scottsdale
Description: Veneto Tratoria is an independently owned and operated restaurant featuring authentic Northern Italian cuisine with an accent on Venetian specialties. All dishes are traditionally prepared, lightly seasoned, made with fine quality, fresh ingredients. Most pastas and all deserts house-made. A restaurant true to its Italian heritage, including Italian ownership, with the chef and many staff members from Italy and very knowledgeable about food and wine.. A warm and friendly atmosphere with a loyal following of locals and Europeans who frequent Scottsdale. The warm and friendly atmosphere of a real Italian Trattoria. Fine quality dining at reasonable prices with the special attention to details only found in independently owned establishments.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“great Italian food and service”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I avoid big center city restaurants so when in the Phoenix area recently I was mostly in the Scottsdale/Tempe area. We saved the last night of vacation to dine here. I had heard of this Italian restaurant from a few sources and their recommendation paid off in a wonderful culinary experience. You can't go wrong with any selection from the menu (or the daily specials) regardless of your tastes. Service was very friendly and prompt. We almost became friends with our server, Gaetano, after hearing about his coming to America from Sorrento. He found the time to explain this even while he was busily waiting tables on a busy weekday night. I also overheard other staff speaking with a noticeable accent. All of this contributed to a lovely last night since we felt we were in Italy again. If you are in the area I recommend checking out this lovely strip mall restaurant. Reservations on a weekend are recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ginals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    67
    19
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prince Albert, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A true taste of Italy”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had landed in Phoenix an hour earlier and after a long day of travelling wanted some good food. We aimlessly made our way up through Scottsdale towards our hotel and pulled into this plaza on a whim.

We were the first to be in the restaurant when it opened, severely underdressed and jet lagged, but were welcomed warmly.

Service was quick and attentive and the food was delicious. Being half Italian myself and having been to Italy many times, this food was authentic and balanced perfectly for taste.

My boyfriend had the lasagne and I had the duck fettuccine. We split the chocolate truffle cake.

A great observation too - it seemed the staff knew customers coming in by name, so it must be a great place if people come back that often!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mpavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Italy comes alive in the Valley of the Sun”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Veneto is a destination of choice! Beautiful restaurant , consistent attentive service, good selection of wines and delicious regional specialties. We have enjoyed dining there often and it never disappoints. The outside patio is lovely but we prefer the quaintness and intimate feel of the inside.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanViii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Genuine Hi-class Italian Food”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you like a real and large Dover Sole, grilled with white wine and butter, you have to visit this fine establishment on Monday or Tuesday. The fish are flown in fresh with the British Air Sunday flight - True!
Pasta is freshly prepared and the marinated veal and lamb are excellent. The staff are mostly Italian ex-pats and they make you feel right at home.Very nice ouside patio, with good heaters in winter months.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LorraineChance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Italian restaurant”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Food good, service was very average. Always busy, and they have outdoor seating with heat lamps. Situated opposite Houston's which gives better value

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Theresa555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veneto Trattoria also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Veneto Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing