We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Ice Cream in Old Town”

Sugar Bowl Ice Cream Parlor
Ranked #2 of 39 Dessert in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $8
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classic Ice Cream in Old Town”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Any trip to Old Town Scottsdale should include a stop at the Sugar Bowl. Old Fashioned Ice Cream treats served up in a wonderful atmosphere of nostalgia. The basic root beer float is a dream. I also enjoyed the decorations of signed cartoon cells from Bil Keane and "The Family Circus" around the shop. He lived nearby and even incorporated the Sugar Bowl into a few panels. My 12 year old daughter is still talking about the place and can't wait to return!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nnw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    233
    79
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Ice Cream Paradise”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

As we drove into Downtown Scottsdale, what caught my attention was the nice pink-colored Sugar Bowl Ice Cream Parlor. I knew immediately that's a place I wanted to go. After strolling through other parts of downtown Scottsdale, we made sure we'd end up at the Sugar Bowl for lunch. I was totally fine with just ordering dessert (ice cream sundaes of all types), but the husband thought I should at least eat something somewhat resembling lunch before diving into dessert. So, yes, they do serve more than just dessert. I had a tuna sandwich, and the husband had meat loaf. Lunch was good, but, who am I kidding, I was there for the main event -- the ice cream. And, it did not disappoint! Toppings galore...so many choices! I knew I should have skipped lunch because by the time I was ready for dessert, I was already pretty full. But, it'd be criminal to come here and not order ice cream. Service was pleasant, and the atmosphere was fun. I loved the menus and the connection this place has with "Family Circus'" Bill Keane. The menus were illustrated in a cute way, and were my favorite color -- pink! If you're in downtown Scottsdale, I wholeheartedly recommend a visit to this restaurant that not only serves up nostalgia but delicious ice cream!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aloha056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pepto Pink!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was not my husband and I's first visit. The group wanted ice cream, so off we went! The things we ordered ranged from small sundaes, to Hot Fudge cream puffs to vanilla shake. Everyone was happy. The thing that bothered me was it seemed to attract some less than stellar characters for customers; made some of us uncomfortable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very pink!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I had never been here prior to yesterday. I went with family who had been to this place as a child and was now bringing her own children. She said the place hadn't changed a bit. It certainly did appear to be a blast from the past, perhaps a bit worn down, but apparently still a destination when in Scottsdale. I have never seen so much bubble gum pink in decor before. It's very retro indeed. We dined elsewhere, coming here strictly for the ice cream. I had a vanilla sundae with hot caramel and hot fudge. Neither topping was even warm. The sundae was alright, but nothing spectacular. The portion sizes for all that my party ordered seemed decent for around the $5.50 range. The chocolate soda looked quite impressive with it's generous scoop of vanilla ice cream balanced along the side of the glass. We enjoyed our sweet treats and conversation, but I don't think that I would return on my own. Maybe I just don't understand that the Sugar Bowl is an institution and that is more of the appeal here. There's a shabby little arcade in an adjoining room that attracted all the kids prior to leaving. All in all, I enjoyed the company more than the experience. The service was friendly and attentive. Had to throw that in.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JAZ715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Style - Average Ice Cream”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

It feels as if you're stepping back in time when you enter Sugar Bowl. The atmosphere is very nice, the service is friendly. However, the ice cream is average at best. In fact, the vanilla that I ordered was somewhat crystallized. This ice cream does not seem to be made in house.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SEETHEBEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Bowl Ice Cream Parlor also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sugar Bowl Ice Cream Parlor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing