We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal and view from patio”

J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician
Reserve with OpenTable
J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 1,295 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Phoenician Place
Description: J&G Steakhouse offers a sophisticated collection of steakhouse classics as interpreted by Michelin-starred chef, Jean-Georges Vongerichten. Located atop The Phoenician, the restaurant is draped in a rich palate of purple and gold with a modern, stylish flair. Diners will enjoy dramatic sunsets and views of the Valley while dining on premium meats and a global selection of fish. The bill of fare is complemented by fresh, local ingredients and worldly spices, masterfully executed by Chef de Cuisine Jacques Qualin.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place is in the Phoenician Resort at the base of Camelback in Phoenix. We visited during
Restaurant week and watched sunset over Phoenix while we dined. The food was outstanding. We had the Barramundi and Steak and everything was cooked perfectly. Definitely our new favorite Steakhouse and worth the money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

I too think that the view from our patio is very special. We are glad that both the setting and the meal helped make your evening memorable. Restaurant week is a special time for us as it allows a little more space on the menu to feature some favorite composed dishes from the past and to preview some that we will have in the future. Thank you for taking your time to post about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

284 - 288 of 423 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great view over Phoenix and Scottsdale, really pretty at night. Enjoyed my salmon and mashed potato was superb. Steaks were expensive and we did not indulge. Passion fruit sorbet in meringue bombe was best pudding we have ever had in a restaurant - superb!

Thank Pete_Gill_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you very much for writing about your dinner experience with us. Yes, we are a steakhouse, but we think (as you do) that the rest of the menu is special as well. And the Passion Fruit Pavlova is one of my favorite warm weather dishes that we feature; it is so refreshing and light that I will have just that for a meal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had a great meal in this restaurant that offers a great view of the sunset and city. The meal was cooked to perfection and the wine list was vey nice. Order the chocolate cake, it is a great way to end the night

Thank Rebel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you for letting everyone know that you enjoyed your dinner with us! Or beverage staff works very hard to make sure that the wines that we have on the list are special and that they complement the food that we serve. And the chocolate cake has been a crowd favorite since we opened five years ago--you can see why.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent dinner at J&G Steakhouse at the beautiful Phoenician Resort in Scottsdale during our 2 days in this area. The price may seem a little on the higher side, but well worth the price. Between three of us, we had filet, chicken and salmon - all delicious, and shared two sides - garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. We would definitely return when in the area. Also a great selection of wines - we found a new Riesling which we have never tried and it is now our favorite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Debszoo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

It gives us a lot of joy when we can help someone discover a new wine! We are happy that you enjoyed your dinner and we want to thank you for taking the time to let others know about it by writing this note. Please do come back when you are in the area, we would love to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Loved the view. Was nice to sit and look at the view during dinner and then go out to the large patio afterwards. Food was good. This is a high end steakhouse so be prepared for the price point!! Steak and lamb were ordered and both were fantastic. The shrimp cocktail was perfect. The lobster was not however. Would not order that again. Great service as well. If you are looking to spend a good deal of money on a special occasion I'd say this is the place!

Thank Mauibums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for spending your evening with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner and pleased that you have taken the time to recommend us to others on TripAdvisor. Please come back to see us when you can!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing