We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician

J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician
Reserve with OpenTable
J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 1,240 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Phoenician Place
Description: J&G Steakhouse offers a sophisticated collection of steakhouse classics as interpreted by Michelin-starred chef, Jean-Georges Vongerichten. Located atop The Phoenician, the restaurant is draped in a rich palate of purple and gold with a modern, stylish flair. Diners will enjoy dramatic sunsets and views of the Valley while dining on premium meats and a global selection of fish. The bill of fare is complemented by fresh, local ingredients and worldly spices, masterfully executed by Chef de Cuisine Jacques Qualin.
Haslemere
Level Contributor
412 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Excellent food and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great view over Phoenix and Scottsdale, really pretty at night. Enjoyed my salmon and mashed potato was superb. Steaks were expensive and we did not indulge. Passion fruit sorbet in meringue bombe was best pudding we have ever had in a restaurant - superb!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pete_Gill_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you very much for writing about your dinner experience with us. Yes, we are a steakhouse, but we think (as you do) that the rest of the menu is special as well. And the Passion Fruit Pavlova is one of my favorite warm weather dishes that we feature; it is so refreshing and light that I will have just that for a meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    82
    43
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
418 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had a great meal in this restaurant that offers a great view of the sunset and city. The meal was cooked to perfection and the wine list was vey nice. Order the chocolate cake, it is a great way to end the night

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for letting everyone know that you enjoyed your dinner with us! Or beverage staff works very hard to make sure that the wines that we have on the list are special and that they complement the food that we serve. And the chocolate cake has been a crowd favorite since we opened five years ago--you can see why.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Scottsdale - Best Dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent dinner at J&G Steakhouse at the beautiful Phoenician Resort in Scottsdale during our 2 days in this area. The price may seem a little on the higher side, but well worth the price. Between three of us, we had filet, chicken and salmon - all delicious, and shared two sides - garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. We would definitely return when in the area. Also a great selection of wines - we found a new Riesling which we have never tried and it is now our favorite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debszoo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
It gives us a lot of joy when we can help someone discover a new wine! We are happy that you enjoyed your dinner and we want to thank you for taking the time to let others know about it by writing this note. Please do come back when you are in the area, we would love to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great steakhouse with a beautiful vista”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Loved the view. Was nice to sit and look at the view during dinner and then go out to the large patio afterwards. Food was good. This is a high end steakhouse so be prepared for the price point!! Steak and lamb were ordered and both were fantastic. The shrimp cocktail was perfect. The lobster was not however. Would not order that again. Great service as well. If you are looking to spend a good deal of money on a special occasion I'd say this is the place!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mauibums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for spending your evening with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner and pleased that you have taken the time to recommend us to others on TripAdvisor. Please come back to see us when you can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
178 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“They have it all: view, food, service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is one fine restaurant. We wandered into the resort just to see what it looked like and when they said they had a steak house on the top floor, we decided to try it. The service was impeccable, thought we were back in NY. The menu had a nice variety and a good wine list. We chose the fixe priced "sunset" special" and were delighted with every bit of it. We watched the sunset and the planes circling and coming into Phoenix Sky Harbor airport. Great place to dine in the Phoenix area and the prices were reasonable for the setting. We look forward to going back the next time we are in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saintjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I want to thank you for dropping up to see us and for taking the time to let people know about your dinner experience as well. As we go into the "nice" season here in The Valley, the light changes as the sun goes down and the menu changes with the season as well. So please come back when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician also viewed

 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing