We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were pleased!”

J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician
Reserve with OpenTable
J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 1,256 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Phoenician Place
Description: J&G Steakhouse offers a sophisticated collection of steakhouse classics as interpreted by Michelin-starred chef, Jean-Georges Vongerichten. Located atop The Phoenician, the restaurant is draped in a rich palate of purple and gold with a modern, stylish flair. Diners will enjoy dramatic sunsets and views of the Valley while dining on premium meats and a global selection of fish. The bill of fare is complemented by fresh, local ingredients and worldly spices, masterfully executed by Chef de Cuisine Jacques Qualin.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We were pleased!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I had read reviews of the restaurant which said it was good, but we were both surprised with how good the steaks were. We split a 12 ounce filet that was one of the best I've ever had. With salads and shared sides we had plenty to eat. We completely enjoyed our evening!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We want to thank you for posting your thoughts about your dinner. We are proud of the steaks we serve, and it is great to hear that we were able to make your evening special. Please come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    85
    45
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Obviously, this location is beautiful. The Phoenician is easily one of the most beautiful resort properties in the continental US. J&G's interior lives up to that expectation, and it is a super welcoming place to sit and enjoy some steak.

I am an avid frequenter of Vongerichten' Market in Vancouver, and this place I would say, is even better. Incredible desserts, steak was prepared and cooked perfectly, bring sauces on the side rather than try and throw them on the steak, and service was impeccable. The only weak dish was the black truffle cheese fritter. Everything else was great.

One of the best veal steaks I have had, and easily the best carrot cake I have ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank treepondersleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I am very happy that you enjoyed your dinner with us, and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I hope that you got to try the Black Pepper Condiment as one of your sauces: It is my favorite! We would love to see you again when you make it back to Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful food and a stunning view. When you make reservations, ask to be seated outside. Well worth the money.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank texasgirl020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner with us. We think that the view over the valley from our patio is very special, and we are all very proud of what Chef Jacques and his team do every night to make each dish special! We hope to see you again when you are back in Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

J&G meets the upscale steakhouse standard but was not fantastic overall. My only disappointment was that it is priced to be the BEST and somewhat fell short. Steak was good but mac & cheese tasted like microwaved velveeta. Great location and views, however

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you, Tom for your note about your visit to our restaurant. While we are pleased that you enjoyed the special setting and your steak, we are disappointed that the truffled macaroni and cheese did not meet your expectations. I would love to discuss your evening with you personally. Please feel free to contact me--we would welcome the opportunity to have another chance to gain your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
199 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“HAVE THE STEAK!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Ginger cocktail was good! We liked the oysters, they were fresh. The Caesar salad was good, lettuce was crisp. I had the hamburger which was okay but I should have had the steak. My husband had the marbled one with the bone which was very good. I liked the mushrooms and the Brussels sprouts. The view is nice. Tiramisu was different and fine. We enjoyed our evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diningprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for coming to see us and thank you again for letting people know that you enjoyed your dinner. The Ginger Margarita has been our specialty cocktail since we opened and has won over many a non-tequila drinker. We changed our dessert menu today, so maybe next time we can tempt you with our Cheesecake with Hibiscus Syrup and Rhubarb Sorbet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing