We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific food and service”

J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician
Reserve with OpenTable
J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 1,268 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Phoenician Place
Description: J&G Steakhouse offers a sophisticated collection of steakhouse classics as interpreted by Michelin-starred chef, Jean-Georges Vongerichten. Located atop The Phoenician, the restaurant is draped in a rich palate of purple and gold with a modern, stylish flair. Diners will enjoy dramatic sunsets and views of the Valley while dining on premium meats and a global selection of fish. The bill of fare is complemented by fresh, local ingredients and worldly spices, masterfully executed by Chef de Cuisine Jacques Qualin.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Terrific food and service”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The steaks are some of the best we have had anywhere. Nice wine list but very expensive. It is a very pretty restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler50226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your note letting people know about your dinner experience. We keep changing the choices on the wine list to improve it and keep it interesting as availability and vintage changes permit. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    86
    46
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Loved the view, not the food”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

i have to agree with bear003. Beautiful view, excellent service, strange paper placemats and ok food. The steaks were good (we had the filets medium rare) but not great as I would have expected. The wedge salad was typical. The heirloom tomato salad excellent! We had mushrooms as a side and they were just ok. We tried the southwest coffee for dessert and it was the best part of the meal! All in all our experience was just ok .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your visit to J&G. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the salad, your dessert and the service that you received. We also thank you for letting us know what you did not enjoy; your feedback helps us to become a better restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Refined and Gorgeous Restaurant.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We hosted a Company Holiday Dinner Party at J&G in December. What a beautiful space! Perfect for couples and small to medium groups. Not usually partial to restaurants known for their "beauty factor" and caters to tourists (since it's located inside the Phoenician Resort) but this restaurant pairs food that rivals some of the best the Phoenix Valley has to offer with stunning views from
every table. I can't say enough about the group catering staff. Very professional, friendly and informative as we planned the menu. Our service staff was well trained and efficient without being stuffy or overly bubbly. Food presentation was gorgeous and timing of each course was done with perfection for a large group. My only suggestion was the seating arrangement for a group of 10. They placed us at a long table (one side was a long booth facing the view windows) with the other side facing a back wall, and very difficult to have conversations. They also split the long table into two tables to enable the "booth side" to get in and out. A bit awkward. Menu was delicious and prepared well. Excellent wine list. I would return for another business meal without hesitation!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixWestin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
I apologize for taking so long to respond to your wonderful comments. We are very happy to have been a part of your holiday festivities. We are happy to have groups all year round in both the main dining room and in our private rooms (some people like start with cocktails and hors d'oeuvre on the patio overlooking the beautiful grounds at The Phoenician before they come in to dinner). Come on by any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Steaks, gracious dining”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The food here, like all of the Jean Georges restaurants, is superb. The wait staff is knowledgeable, attentive and genuine love the food they are serving

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Santa_Fe_Jeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time from your day to post your thoughts about your experience at J&G. We are truly happy that you enjoyed your dinner and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Prepare to enjoy”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

While I have stayed at the hotel many times, this is the first time at the restaurant. I invited a local relative to join us as opposed to going somewhere else. I was told it was good - they were right! The rib eye bone-in steak was wonderful. I have had lesser quality and paid more for it. The view of the valley is great and makes the total package worthwhile. Like others on this review page have indicated, the paper placemat was a question mark. But, they took the dinner one away and gave a clean one for desert. I guess that's for the clean factor. For a good meal with atmosphere and NO RUSH, this met my expectation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick N, General Manager at J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you, Skip, for taking the time to post about your experience at J&G. We are very happy that you enjoyed your dinner and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Patrick Norton
General Manager
J&G Steakhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to J & G Steakhouse at the Phoenician? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing