We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roaring Fork

Roaring Fork
Reserve with OpenTable
Roaring Fork is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 1,241 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $80
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Cross street: Chaparral
Description: The Roaring Fork captures the spirit of bold American cuisine matched with a contemporary Western ambiance and unmatched service, creating upscale flavors that crackle with a rugged edge. Select from lamb, chicken, beef, pork and fresh fish entrees all perfectly prepared by wood fire rotisserie, open flame grill or wood oven roasting.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
161 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

The food is seriously good here but the main reason for the 4 stars instead of 5 related to the service. Granted, the bar area is extremely busy due to the great happy hour deals (7 days a week in the summer) but based on the completely booked tables in the restaurant, you would think they should have this down. We asked the hostess when we were seated if she could get us a better table and she said she would check. She never came back. Our server was good, but he was also running pretty crazy among other tables. But.....the food....OMG. no complaints from our table of four. The trout almondine was lovely, the scallops were decadent with truffle oil, the short ribs were perfect. The mac and cheese with green chiles is a must as a side and can be shared by two people. Amazingly, we got a piece of warm pecan pie with salted caramel gelato and the four of us looked like scavengers at a last meal. It was totally sumptuous. Yes, we will go back again and again, maybe just not a Saturday night. But all of this said, it really was a great night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    295
    86
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great service, food and prices”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

My husband and I visited Scottsdale for the July 4th weekend and one of the highlights was our visit(s)to the Roaring Fork. Lucky for us it was located across the street from the Kimpton FireSky hotel; it was easy to locate.

We sat at the bar during their 4-10pm happy hour and could not stay away; visited 3 times during our 5 day trip. Stephen made our happy hours most enjoyable; along with George and Heidi. Stephen brings happiness to all sitting at the bar; his martinis are the fullest you will ever enjoy.

The food was excellent. You will be surrounded by locals that visit weekly which tells you how awesome the food, drinks and overall comfortable atmosphere this place has. While we were there one evening a chef from another prominent restaurant was eating in the bar area too - he loves the food!

I will definitely return whenever I am visiting Scottsdale. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jlamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
143 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Great High-End Chain Restaurant”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The best way to describe Roaring Fork is that it's a high-end chain restaurant. So for those that understand that, you'll know what to expect from the restaurant. For those that don't, the best explanation is that you'll get good food and a good atmosphere, but probably not memorable. The food and drinks were good. Definitely a place where you can dress casual but enjoy higher end food. We went to celebrate my mother-in-law's birthday, and we all enjoyed our dishes. The highlight of the night was the bread pudding dessert, that was AMAZING. So make sure to save room for dessert when you dine here, cause the bread pudding was one of the best we've ever had.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhoenixRising7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Toonarmy”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great place - try the Happy hour at the Bar - great drink prices and food amazing. Staff are great especially George and Skyler

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scottsdale123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
148 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is an excellent place to go! The food was fantastic! There were 5 in our party and we ordered the "fresh guacamole" and the avocado and pulled pork appetizers. They were incredible! Our dinner entrees were fantastic as well. We had the Waldorf chicken salad- fabulous, fish tacos- amazing, "big a" burger- incredible and BIG, the green chile pulled pork with soft warm tortillas - very flavorful and half rotisserie chicken- super! I look forward to going back again soon! Plan on making reservations:)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csabol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roaring Fork also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Roaring Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing