We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value, great food, great service”

Cholla Prime Steakhouse & Lounge
Ranked #95 of 1,250 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cholla Prime Steakhouse & Lounge offers one of Scottsdale's best fine-dining experiences in an intimate, upscale environment. Our taste-tempting menu is prepared by some of Scottsdale's top chefs and features the best regional cuisine you'll find anywhere in the Valley. Our menu selection includes such favorites as Chorizo Stuffed Dates, Cranberry Spinach Salad, Elk Tenderloin and a Chateaubriand for Two
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing value, great food, great service”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I love a good steak and knew that while on vacation in Scottsdale we would dine at least once at one of the many high end steak houses in town. We are willing to pay the prices associated with these higher end places, but love finding the spots that give that "high end" experience with moderate prices and Cholla Prime fits that bill! While the other reviews are correct in stating that you must venture into the relatively smoke filled casino in order to dine here, it wasn't horrible. The walk from the front entrance of the casino to this restaurant is not very far, and once inside the non smoking restaurant there is no issue.

The restaurant is very small but welcoming and comfortable. While not at all pretentious, we liked all the little touches that made this place feel a little old fashioned, such as the hot towels once seated to clean our hands before dinner and the sorbet to cleanse our pallets after our starter before our entrée was served. The bread basket had several different kinds of bread that were all tasty. We were also brought a delicious tiny appetizer compliments of the chef which was a small filet medallion with seafood. We had caesar salad, seafood bisque, Chateaubriand for two, sides of mashed potato, baked potato, and brocollini. We also enjoyed a glass of wine and a soda pop. We really enjoyed everything we ate. The soup was fantastic! loaded with large pieces of shrimp and scallops, served piping hot the way I love it. The salad was very good as were our side dishes. We really enjoyed the meat, however it was sliced a bit too thin leaving us to decide that the next time we dine here, we will order individual filets or strip steaks. So once you finish reading this review and make your reservation, just remember that if you're coming for steak, you'll likely be happiest with a filet, ribeye or strip steak as opposed to the Chateaubriand.

What's perhaps most impressive however, is that for great food and service we paid only $80....which included tax and tip. We would have easily paid at least 50% more for the same amount and quality of food in one of the other steak houses in town. This is a no brainer for anyone who enjoys steak.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    14
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Diamond in the Rough”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I dined at Cholla Prime the first evening we arrived in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area. She was in the mood for steak, and after reading a few reviews across multiple websites, all that I read about this establishment was true. Great food, at a tremendously great price.

Now the bad news......this quaint restaurant is located within the smoky confines of Casino Arizona. But if you can survive the 200 foot walk or so, without contracting emphysema, this place is worth the trip. Once the restaurant doors close behind you, not a trace of Marlboro smell can be noticed.

The service was very good. You receive 3 or 4 different types of breads as a starter, along with a small salmon dish, good for just a taste. My wife, who really does not like any fish at all, except for shell fish, was hoping for more.

Here is the best part.......this restaurant is very wallet friendly! My wife and I ordered the following:

1 Appetizer Wedge Salad
1 glass of Malbec wine
1 16oz glass of Bombay Sapphire Gin & Tonic
1 8oz filet mignon with 2 complimentary sides
1 8oz filet mignon with prawns and 2 complimentary sides

The total with tax: $72

I could not believe it. I do dine at chain steak restaurants, such as Mortons and Ruth's Chris, and the same exact meal would run anywhere between $100 - 120 all inclusive. The meat was prepared to order, the waiters were knowledgeable about the menu, and the atmosphere was very quiet. You would never be able to tell that this was located in some dingy casino.

If you are within driving distance of this restaurant, then please follow my recommendation. If your experience was just like mine, then make sure to vote this review as helpful. I would not steer you wrong!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MHlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
747 reviews
417 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Didn't have reservations so we sat at the bar. The bartender was great. He gave us samples of his cocktail "experiments". They were actually pretty good. One of the specials was rib eye and lobster including desert. There was enough to split between two people. Both steak and lobster was cooked to perfection. If you have the players card you get a 10% discount on your bill. If your in the casino and you want a good meal this is the place to go.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food, even better service.”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I'd give a 5 star rating if this restaurant wasn't in a casino, but if you walk briskly the smoke isn't too bad. We had filet mignon and both entrees were cooked as ordered. We had exceptional service from Matthew, a very personable young man. Also appreciated being able to have a bottle of wine and only drink a glass and a half, then take the remainder home with us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
304 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Suprisingly Great”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were in town looking for a steak restaurant that we hadn't been to before and decided to "Ask Siri." She mentioned Cholla at Casino Arizona was the closest. Because it had good ratings we decided to give it a try. It was excellent. The food, the service, the atmosphere, everything was great. Now, it was a Sunday night (8:00 p.m.) and there was only one other couple in the restaurant, but we were made to feel welcome and very well taken care of. We had the Porterhouse Steak special and were pleasantly surprised to also receive a delicious appetizer, and sorbet (to cleanse the palate). The portions of steak and vegetables were huge, so we got a doggie bag and were able to enjoy another meal from it. Santiago was our great waiter, and we always appreciate it when the manager(?) stops by the table to see if everything was done to our liking. We are definitely returning, and not to contradict other reviewers, but walking through the casino didn't bother us at all, and we commented on how you couldn't smell smoke (and I am seriously allergic/bothered by smoke/smokers).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PasssionateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cholla Prime Steakhouse & Lounge also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cholla Prime Steakhouse & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing