We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Meat you can imagine...”

YC's Mongolian Grill
Ranked #312 of 1,342 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Mongolian
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Reviewed September 21, 2016

I just finished my first (and last) meal at YC's. It seems to have quite a following with vegetarians and the large waisted all-you-can-eat buffet crowd but I have to say the animal proteins were simply the worst I have ever tasted. Cheap, super low quality beef, chicken and pork, chipped, pressed, cooked, frozen and thin sliced. The veggies seemed fresh and if you do not eat meat this could work for you. Nonetheless I believe the low quality of the soups and dessert tell the true back story on this place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at YC's Mongolian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2016

Thank you for the feedback.
We would like to clear up any misconceptions about our protein. Our beef is chuck (shoulder meat), our chicken meat is breast and thigh, and the pork is cushion meat. Our meats are delivered fresh daily, trimmed of fat, rolled, and then frozen. On the following day, we slice them thinly with a meat slicer and then put them out on the line. They are kept frozen for even cooking and to keep them out of the temperature danger zone.
We hope that helps to shed some light on the back story. Please email us at socialmedia@ycmongo.net if you have any other concerns.
-YC's Mongolian Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 58 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2016

This place was fantastic. I went there for the first time last week and it was awesome. They let you pick what you want buffet style and then you take it to the cooks where they fry it up for you. The spicy sauces are very spicy, I would go easy on those if you are not sure if you like their spicy sauces. Overall great places and the dinner hour was not very busy.

Thank Spencer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at YC's Mongolian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2016

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit at YC's. Come in and see us again soon!

-YC's Mongolian Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016

Tons of choices for your noodle bowl. All choices are fresh and the restaurant is clean. Service is always good.

Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at YC's Mongolian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2016

Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

-YC's Mongolian Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2016

The Manager was kind enough to reach out to us after our unfortunate first experience. My hubby and I looked forward to a more positive return visit-and we were pleased with our meal. We both created a bowl with the Kung Pao sauce and it was very tasty. The restaurant was clean and maintained. We enjoy healthy eating and are glad we have a spot to return to when we get a "yen" for YC's.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M2922DHkarenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at YC's Mongolian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2016

We are so happy to had a great experience at YC's. Thank you for the opportunity!

-YC's Mongolian Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016

A multitude of fresh veggies, noodles and sauces to choose from equals a great meal. I love this place. They keep the restaurant very clean.

Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff S, Owner at YC's Mongolian Grill, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Thank you so much for your review and your patronage! We hope to see you in again soon.
-YC's Mongolian Grill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YC's Mongolian Grill also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to YC's Mongolian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing