We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Villas
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
glasgow uk
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great resort”
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This is our second stay at the Westin Kierland Villas. We had a two bedroomed unit in building 7 which was perfect for us. The units are spacious and well equipped. Beds are verycomfortable. Although there is not an oven, this was not a problem as we did not cook big meals. There is a good microwave, cooker and larege fridge/freezer. The barbeques look great but we did not use them due to the heat. The pool areas are lovely and well kept. There is a family pool and an adult pool with good loungers and plenty of towels. We didn't go to the pools at the hotel but you can get the shuttle over. We used the shuttle to go over to the hotel. I wanted to see the piper this year. It was very pleasant having a cocktail watching on the golf course. We used the shuttle to Kierland Commons which saved me driving and the restaurant staff would phone for the shuttle when you were ready to go back.
We liked the position of the resort as it is close to the supermarket, Kierland Commons and an easy drive to many restaurants and shops.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I left my key in the room when my husband was golfing. Within minutes, reception had arranged for me to be taken and let into the apartment. My husband loved the golf and played several times. It's one of my favourite timeshares and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,049
    284
    83
    25
    13
See reviews for
624
536
27
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Don't expect to be able to check in early. We got there and we were told that it was possible to check in early. we stayed on the property for 2 hours. No rooms were available until 3:55. That is hard to believe. I had requested that our room not be near the elevator and they gave us a room near the elevator. The room was sparkly clean and smelled really nice. I called and made the front desk aware that we had requested not to be near the elevators. After about 15 minutes they called and sent someone to move us into another room. The second room was dusty and did not have that great smell. Hmmm..... if they could get us a new room so fast why couldn't they check us in a little early. The staff was quick, polite and helpful. The property is beautiful! There are a few things that show a little wear but not enough to deter me from going back.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esmomrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

This was our second stay at the Westin Kierland Villas. Like the first time, our stay was excellent. We had a 2 brd villa which is very spacious. My son, his wife and baby had plenty of room on the lock off side, even their own balcony. We also traveled with other family members who had a 1 bedroom unit (the lock off side) and it was a little tight for them - 2 adults & 2 teenagers. They got a rollaway for one of the girls as the sofa bed was uncomfortable, but the rollaway was very comfortable. The two pools at the villas are very nice - nice to have the option of the quiet pool if you really want to relax. Great that they have ice water pitchers for the guests as you really get dehydrated in the desert sun. We loved having access to the hotel pool with the water slide and lazy river .. just a short walk or you could hop on the shuttle at the front lobby entrance. the villas have a small coffee shop type restaurant with some tables outside for breakfast and lunch. We ate there several times and enjoyed the food. Every night at sunset, there is a bagpiper who plays near the fire pit at the hotel. He's very good and plays for about an hour. Kierland Commons is about a 15-20 minute walk with lots of nice shops and restaurants. Again, you can hop on the shuttle to get there. The italian restaurant at Kierland Commons is excellent (sorry, can't remember the name). The hotel has a great spa (even though very pricey). The golf course is right there and the club house is located between the hotel and villas. The supermarket is even close enough to walk to (but again the suttle will take you there as well). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and look forward to a return in the next couple of years. Feel free to email me with any questions.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastCoastGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

My long time friend and I spent 4 nights in mid-May at the Villas for a girl's getaway. We are both in our early 40s with young children at home, so this was a wonderful getaway for us. The experience was great from check-in to check-out. Our room (4301 and 4302)was ready upon our arrival around 4:30 pm on Friday afternoon. We had two one bedroom units with an adjoining door which was honestly way too much room for just two people (it can sleep 8 with 1400 square feet). The decor and furniture was tasteful, functional, and classy. All appeared to be new. Main kitchen was well stocked with cookware, appliances and serving items, though it would have been helpful to supply coffee filters with the coffee pot. Rooms were clean with wide screen HDTVs (4 in our units). We elected to forgo the Monday maid service and instead recieved $14 in vouchers at the Market and Grille where we enjoyed a bountiful "traditional breakfast" on our check out morning. The adult pool and hot tub was great at the Villas. We also thoroughly enjoyed the main pool at the Westin Hotel located next door (we took the golf cart shuttle over and back, but you could walk it as well) where there is a fabulous lazy river, a cool water slide, spacious pool, plenty of comfortable lounge chairs and umbrellas. We ate lunch at the hotel poolside grill, which was good. Note that poolside mixed drinks are slighly cheaper at the Villa pool than at the main hotel pool. We explored the spa at the hotel, but found the prices a bit higher than we wanted to pay, so elected not to make appointments. We did not try any of the hotel or villa restaurants, but did take advantage of the shuttle over to Kierland Commons where we dressed up and splurged for dinner at Mastro's Ocean Club (get there by 7:00 on a weekend night and grab one of the several bar tables which don't require a reservation) and we had a light dinner at the Green House Grill. The fitness center was clean and well stocked with nice treadmills. Overall, really recommend this resort and would certainly consider staying there again if I ever return to Scottsdale.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottcaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We chose this property as our first recommendation from Trip Advisor. Great complex. Premium villa definitely worth extra space. Great facility for staying in when you want but golf cart convenience if you want to go elsewhere at the Westin or to nearby restaurants. Two great pools for kids, and the adults enjoyed the "lazy river" a lot. Golf was terrific. You have to get through the sales pitch for time share at the Villa, but no pressure once you say no. Would repeat in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForUs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We just got back from an amazing week. If you are reading reviews to try and make your decision as did I - do not bother reading the negative ones. If you find something negative to say about this place then you should just stay home. We were in blding 6, 2nd floor. Premium One Bedroom which is the larger one bedroom with the full kitchen. It is quite spacious, there was the four of us - the kids stayed on the pull out couch in the living room. We were overlooking the golf course - amazing..... The staff were spectacular - anything you ask it was provided. The villas also has full access to the main hotel, the pool is much larger over there and there is a shuttle bus to take you on the really hot days - otherwise just about a 5-6 min. walk. Which is spectacular I might add. The lazy river also very good with the kids. They had a blast in the pool area. Both pools have a water slide. Also a big hit. They bring water to you while sitting by the pool. We ordered lunch one day over at the pool at the main hotel - it was great and really good prices. I would def. recommend, especially with kids. Each night at the main hotel they have a bag piper, it is a very nice treat, very different and unique. It is truly a 5 star hotel. We also went out for dinner at Marcello's which is in the giant Fashion Square Mall, it was fantastic - we had salmon and filet - absolutely the best meal we ever had.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newfie_penney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

We stayed at the Westin Kierland Villas at the end of April with our 2 young children, and we're really happy we chose the Villas over the Resort. Everything was super convenient at the Villas. Plenty of free parking right outside your building, the premium one-bedroom units are spacious enough for a family of 4 (we paid $5/night for the rollaway bed instead of using the pull-out sofa, and got a free crib for the baby), the family pool was steps away from our building and our balcony overlooked the pool, and there is a free golf cart shuttle to take you over to the Westin Resort and the Kierland Commons. We took the shuttle over to the Commons for lunch the first day, but after that we chose to walk as the weather was pretty mild. It was only 10 minutes to get to the Resort and maybe 15-20 to get to the Commons. The food prices were very reasonable for a resort ($2 quesadillas for the kids at the MacDowell Market AND they come with salsa, sour cream and guacamole - can't beat that!), and it was nice that the unit came with a full kitchen, so we always had the option of eating in. We really liked our unit's proximity to the pool. We went over to the Resort's pool one day, and while the pool is very close to the Casitas, it was a bit of a walk to the main building. With young kids, it's really nice to be so close to the family pool.

I would have to agree with the previous posters who complained about the timeshare offers. Right after you check in, they take you over to the concierge and ask if you want to attend a "timeshare" presentation. We said no, but they continued to call our room and leave messages every day and had a letter sent to our room on our final day. This was a bit annoying, but we just ignored all the offers.

Also, they try very hard to provide good service, and everyone there is always smiling and saying hello. Even the maintenance men would smile and hold the elevators when they saw us coming. The service wasn't always perfect, but I would give them an A for effort. Overall, this is a solid 4 star property with 4 star service. Don't expect luxury or Four Seasons style service - if you want that, go to one of the luxury resorts. But if you're looking for convenience, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlstar128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,452 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Villas

Property: The Westin Kierland Villas
Address: 15620 N Clubgate Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-2012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in spacious villas designed to suit your personal needs. Enjoy private balconies, fully equipped kitchens with granite countertops, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary in room Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Kierland Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Villas Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Hotel
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing