We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“felt really taken care of” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kierland Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Villas
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“felt really taken care of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Staff exceptionally helpful, atttentive and polite.
great sauna & steam, small gym 24/7 also @the hotel
2 pools offeredd on each property, one is the "quiet" pool

staying @villas gives you full access to the hotel. best lazy river EVER
grounds are gorgeous

some covered parking...shuttle service
private balcony on the golf course put the cherry on top!

beautiful area of Phoenix

Room Tip: stayed on golf course away fr pool area where its quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollycs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased our team took great care of you and that you enjoyed your stay. I hope you make it back to Phoenix soon.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    253
    70
    24
    14
See reviews for
545
447
25
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I think the first thing to remember is that is a vacation ownership property. With the in suite kitchen area the resort tends to cater to families. It really is a family friendly resort.

We stayed here on a rate that included a per night account credit for incidentals. The rate and how it worked was unknown by out checkin front desk person. Front desk doesn’t appear to be a strong point for this resort.

The suites are well appointed and generally in good repair. Our carpet was very dirty but cleaned within a couple of days after raising the concern. The phone system has issues. It took 5 phone calls to clear a system issue and the master bedroom phone did not work well.

The concierge area was good and proactive. These guys are obviously on commission so they should be good!

Discounts (with conditions) for the hotel and vacation resort are available should you choose to attend a presentation. Contact me directly for my personal observations of the sales presentation.
Overall the resort was great! Cabanas are relatively cheap but keep in mind others will take over your paid space if you are not there. Management seemed somewhat reluctant to deal much with this issue.

A couple of days before we were to check out we wanted to put a deposit down for our room. There was an exchange rate advantage that we wanted to lock in. Upon check out we discovered the deposit was never made in addition to the final bill having charges for the room credit rather than a credit. It’s not a hotel but a vacation resort – but at the Westin level this is a point of performance improvement needed.

Check out is a firm 10 AM. No problem We knew this in advance. We pre booked a cabana for the day and checked out after showering and dressing and having our final cabana charges posted to our account. The bell desk held our luggage.

Other observations:
- almost all parking is uncovered
- the family pool water is pretty murky by the end of the day
- you also have access to the main hotel pool & restaurants when staying at the resort
- there is shuttle service to the hotel and the local area. We saw one family delivered from the local food store with their groceries
- in our deluxe villa master bedroom, the curtains are puled from the middle to the edge. Although they spent a lot of money on black out curtains it went to waste when they could not be pulled enough to cover the window. I used low tack masking tape to pull the edges of the curtain over the window and block out the morning sun that lit the headboard area of the bed at 6:00 am.
I would likely stay here again should I decide to visit Arizona in the future.

The vacation ownership presentation is most interesting theatre! Go for the thrill of it otherwise you can buy your ownership on line for pennies on the dollar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BCtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I'm very happy to hear you would like to stay with us again should you return to Scottsdale. I appreciate your observations and will work to correct the issues we didn't perform as well. Please contact me if I can help with any future plans to Arizona.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Recently stayed here with my family in a 1 Bedroom premium villa (not an owner). The staff was great from the moment we got to the property. The pools are great and the amenities at the regular resort are awesome. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NDHurdles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. I'm thrilled you found our team friendly and helpful. I'd love to meet you when you return.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

What a lovely resort. We had a fourth floor balcony overlooking the course and the patio area where we could hear the Scottish bagpipes at sunset every night. We were there in late June which is awfully hot, but they had spritzers in outdoor seating areas that really helped cool you down. My husband was attending a work event during the day so I enjoyed some shopping, reading and the luxurious facilities. Service by poolside was wonderful, I stayed mostly by the adults only pool, but enjoyed a trip around the lazy river too. The spa was fabulous, took a great Yoga class every morning and had a fantastic exfoliation treatment and massage. The concierge heard that it was our 25th wedding anniversary when they helped us with dinner reservations, so they sent delicious chocolate covered strawberries to our room.

The area of Scottsdale is basically a giant outdoor shopping mall,with all the usual high-end chains and restaurants, along with a few local/regional outfits. there is Old Town which is a little bit quainter. I took a previous trip to Arizona to visit the Grand Canyon and Prescott, much more interesting and impressive. want to go back to see Flagstaff and Sedona someday.

Room Tip: It depends, we enjoyed the sunrise from our room overlooking the golf-course, some may prefer the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, September 12, 2014
Happy belated Anniversary! Thank you for spending such a special time with us, and I hope you will have a chance to return soon.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The most beautiful resort and amenities. Accommodated a family reunion. Requested rooms facing the golf course, upper level and all together. Each request made with no question. Staff superb, rooms super clean, comfortable, appointed and spacious. Pools, there are three including at the hotel side very clean and perfect service. Especially at the relaxation pool where we spent most of our pool time. You will not be disappointed. If you plan to visit the Grand Canyon check out Pink Jeep tours. They pick you up, do all the driving and you sit back and enjoy the scenery. Concierge extremely helpful to plan outings. Even did our owner update with ease. All this during the hottest time of year in Arizona. But don't let that stop you, dry heat, pool water temp just right and cool beverages. Will definitely go again and this was our second visit!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveler971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Thank you so much for returning for another vacation with us. You described the best way to deal with the summer in Arizona. Please come visit us again soon.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The villas are a wonderful place to stay as a family. We love the atmosphere and the people. The staff is incredible. We were there for two weeks and it could not have been more perfect. John, Hailey, Belal, Abby, Alex, Dylan and Edgar were incredible at the pool. They interacted with our children and made every event fun for our family. Michelle was a great server. She was prompt and friendly. We also want to say that Nick was a fabulous server at the hotel pool. Thank you for making such a memorable trip. We can't wait to come back next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Your review's title is one of my favorite phrases. I appreciate you mentioning so many of the team that made your experience more special. I will thank each of them and let them know they made a difference in your family's vacation. We will look for you next year.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I have been at this location mostly during the hot weather months...but it's always a wonderful stay regardless of weather. This year, we stayed in their villas and it was very comfortable and spacious. The villas were a little larger than other villas we have stayed at at other locations. The staff is always professional and accommodating. My kids love the pool/water slide as well as playing shuffle board and pool. The laser show was new to me this year and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a great place to stay for the family and for just adults.

Room Tip: Staying in a room with the golf course view is always preferred, however, the villas will not have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachyCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay. I understand you enjoy staying both at the resort and Villas. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the combined amenities available. Let me know if I can help with any future return plans.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#2 of 79 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 79 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Villas

Property: The Westin Kierland Villas
Address: 15620 N Clubgate Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-2012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in spacious villas designed to suit your personal needs. Enjoy private balconies, fully equipped kitchens with granite countertops, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary in room Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Kierland Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Villas Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Hotel
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing