We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay with family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Villas
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We decided to take the family to Spring Training in AZ for Spring Break. With four kids, it is often difficult to find a place that easily accommodates a family of our size...this was not a problem here. We stayed for a week and loved it. The service was great and the location was perfect. We would defiitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor! I hope you were able to see some great Spring Training games! I hope you will let me know when you get a chance to return.


Best regards,

Scott Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last year and had many challenges with the service and I can not compliment the staff and management enough on how much this property has improved since my last stay. The service was great from the reservations, check in, room, pool staff etc., very enjoyable family vacation. Great location and very nice amenities. We will be back! We stayed in 1 bedroom premium with 1 child and had a fantastic vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjgSummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

I am very pleased to hear we were able to recover your trust in choosing us. Thank you for your comments, and I look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the villa for 3 night and love all the facilities it offered. It is very kids friendly. The pool with the slide is great. It is done in a way that you can always see your child without being in the water with him. The service around the pool is also very good thanks to our server Jack. Even it was march break and the place was fully booked it wasn't crowded. They also had lots of activities for children and adult going on around the pool all day.
About our villa, we had a small one bedroom. Everything was nice and clean but the living room/kitchen had no widow so even with the light on it was dark and depressing. But we spent most of our time outdoors so it was OK. The cleaning staff was very good.
By staying at the villa you can use all the amenities of the hotel, where you can find many other pools + the lazy river and another OK corral with the giant chest games, ping pong table,etc...
To go to the hotel you have a 10 mn walk or you can use the shuttle.
About the food, we simply like to go to the market grill at the villa for breakfast and lunch where you can fin Robin who is an amazing person. We went also once to have breakfast at the main hotel it was good too. But you have so much choice for restaurants with the shopping jut across the street and the hotel shuttle will take you there.
Now for the cons .... most of the villa staff was not very friendly and very unprofessional. When we arrived I did not even get a welcome from the check in person ( a dark hair man with little of a beard), he hardly looked up from his computer. Then the concierge called us up so we would pick up a welcome gift but all it was was pressure to book us in for a meeting to buy time share. The concierge girl (long blond hair) just took about all the the meeting but when we asked about activities to do in Scottsdale or in the region , she looked annoyed and just threw some pamphlets at us... So we did go to the meeting and lost one morning of our vacations but we wanted to learn about it to let other people now, and yes it may fit some people but the meeting is a complete brain wash where they expect you to sign and buy after the talk is over...so you do not have time to think it over. We got out of there without signing anything as I could just see the psychologic pattern they were using to make us buy. We are on a vacation and do not need that kind of pressure. But they were just doing their job and I have to say that Elizabeth who did the first part of the meeting is a very nice and sweet person.
So overall, we still liked the place but the staff need to be more friendly, may be smile once in a while and be more helpful and if you want to see the difference go to the JW Marriott (the concierge are an amazing professional team as well as the front desk).

Room Tip: Try not to book the small one bedroom lock off as it is very dark. Also rooms away from the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I appreciate the praise and will address your constructive comments. I apologize you found some members of our team less than friendly. I don't hear that often, but will work with my team to insure we don't let a down day come through. I will also share your thoughts with the concierge manager. I feel we have a great property, and you shouldn't feel pressured while on vacation.

I hope you will return and give me a call prior to your arrival. I would appreciate the opportunty to make sure we are your first choice when coming to Arizona.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have stayed here about five times. My son goes to ASU, and my friend lets me take her time share here.
The rooms are fantastic for a family of four, and the pools are great. Especially the adult pool. The other pool is great for families with younger children.
The staff is welcoming, and the grounds are very nice.
The free shuttle between the villas and hotel is excellent.
The hotel is beautiful as well. The spa is wonderful, and I've had many visits to it.
The salon at the hotel is great as well.
I think the area is perfect, and you can't go wrong with this property.

Room Tip: The buildings closer to pool are close to the main lobby. The buildings further away seem to have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheltienm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for coming back again and again. I hope you will continue to visit us after your son's graduation. I will be sure to share your praise of the spa and salon with the staff.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We love the Westin Kierland Villas and stay here every time we come to Scottsdale. It is a timeshare property but it's next to the Westin Kierland Hotel and you can use all those facilities as well. We usually stay in the 1 br/1ba villa with a partial kitchen. It's fine for the 4 of us. Always a nice view of pools/golf course. There are a couple pools and slides, pool volleyball and basketball. There is service by the pool so nice to be able to get food/drinks anytime. I like the outdoor firepit at night. There is a lazy river over at hotel and a beach volleyball court as well as lots of cabanas for rent and a nice pool. This location is great because it's across street from a mall with a CPK and PF Changs so don't have to eat at hotel. There's a grocery store and Einstein's Bagels down the street.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for continuing to stay with us. There is lots to do in Scottsdale this time of year, and I'm glad you and your family had a good trip. I hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We always try to stay in a villa/condo and got a great deal on the Westin Villas in the mail. The 1 bedroom lock-off is OK in size and has a double electric cooktop, a small fridge and small sink. There are minimal cooking utensils and no oven, but cooking breakfast in was easy. The grills are communal so we didn't try to cook dinner as our stay was only 4 nights. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is friendly and helpful. As a villa guest you also have access to the Westin Kierland Hotel and all of its amenities. There is a shuttle to the high end shopping/dining centers that are about a 25 minute walk. Nice to walk to and ride back after dinner and drinks.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course view, upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. Many of our guests stay for the additional features, such as our kitchens and washer/dryer. I'm glad you enjoyed your Kierland stay.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful villas in lovely Scottsdale! We stayed in a 1-bedroom, 1-bath villa with view of the golf course. Overall very comfortable. The walk thru the grounds to our building is lovely with several sitting areas with either a fireplace or firepit - beautiful on a cool evening. Adult and kids pools available as well.

Bathroom was very large with spa tub. The only negative is the tub/shower combo - unless you have something like a step stool (or incredibly long legs) it's very difficult to climb over and into the tub. I understand not all rooms are the same so it may not be an issue for all guests. I can't image a petite (short legged) or elderly person getting in!!

Property is adjacent (pleasant walk) to the Kierland Resort which is very lovely. Once again, several outdoor sitting areas with fireplaces or fire pits. HIGHLIGHT - each evening at sunset (or 530pm) a bagpiper performs on the fairway adjacent to the outdoor bar - people sit around the fires with cocktails (or not) and enjoy the performance.

Would definately return!

Room Tip: Request a room with separate tub and shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaLisa321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott_Caldwell, General Manager at The Westin Kierland Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your vacation with us! It's a beautiful time of year to sit out by the fire in the evening. I'm sorry you found our tub/shower difficult to enter. Our larger units do have a separate tub and shower enclosure. Perhaps you may want to try that room on your next visit. Please let me know if I can assist in any way in planning your return.

Best regards,

Scott Caldwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Villas

Address: 15620 N Clubgate Dr, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-2012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $326 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and unwind in spacious villas designed to suit your personal needs. Enjoy private balconies, fully equipped kitchens with granite countertops, washers and dryers, separate living and dining room areas, and complimentary in room Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Kierland Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Villas Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Hotel
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing