We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Dorado Scottsdale
Nearby Hotels
$84
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$158
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Scottsdale Resort at McCormick Ranch(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$231
$161
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Scott Resort & Spa(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
$209
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Scottsdale Resort & Villas(Scottsdale)(Great Value!)
$108
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$799
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$239
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
35
18
14
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
18
14
5
6
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 78 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2014

There are lots of pros to this hotel: a) great location to Scottsdale- walking distance to ballpark, lots of restaurants, b) really great pool area and outdoor space in the evenings, and c) the ability to have a full kitchen. I'd come back for sure if we were with a group of friends & wanted to have a 2 bedroom condo & make some of our own food. Being this close to a city area and having those options is not common.

However, I was not impressed with the customer service, lack of included food options and the comfort of our room. The bed in our master bed room was literally a V and was not able to be slept in. Luckily they had run out of single room units and put us in a 2 bedroom so we slept in the other room in an okay bed. The AC in our unit also did not properly cool the unit (lowest was 72) and the high temp while were there was only 75. I also think that a hotel of this style & price point should offer some sort of continental breakfast. I understand there are full kitchens but similar hotels in the area or close cities offer something, even if its small.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify an updated room. After reading the prior reviews, I made sure of this. The updated rooms were nice but I can only imagine what the un-updated rooms look like. Just feels like this hotel has updated surface/cosmetic changes but likely doesn't keep things updated once they do it the first time.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ACouplefromCMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

there are so many things we loved about this hotel.there were a few issues the worst of which was extremely loud ac that when it went off and on during the nite never failed to wake us up.adding to the sleep issue were loud people in the courtyard well past 11pm.we purchased earplugs for these issues.handled it somewhat.

what we loved was the location,the adorable retro pool area, the hottub,the many lounging options, the bicycles we rode around scottsdale, the helpful friendly staff and phil the property peacock..what a stud..hes a real peacock not a playa and when he unfurls his tail..standback and admire his majesty.

Room Tip: Not room 203
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rkelly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We purchased our stay on Priceline, so paid 1/2 of what it would cost normally. The room pictures looked great and a 2 bedroom/2 bath suite was just what we were looking for. We did not get a room that was in the pictures, we too were in a room as described earlier that had not been updated. Our bathroom door did not work, the bathroom fan had condensation so much the floor was constantly wet, the room smelled musty. So was very disappointed that our "luxury" suite did not fit the description. On the positive side the location to downtown Scottsdale was a short 4 blk walk and we enjoyed being able to walk to restaurants and shopping. The staff are great and the place has a homey feeling to it. You don't feel like you are staying in a hotel, more like an apt complex where the residents mingle amongst each other. Enjoyed sitting by the fire at night and the outside area with music and great ambiance. Phil the peacock needs to have a larger pen or sent to a sanctuary. He was let out when we where there but his pen is way to small for a bird his size and it was depressing to witness such a beautiful bird being able to do nothing but move in a circle, with his only friend a mirror. I would stay again if I was able to retain a remodeled room and Phil is taken care of, just for location, staff and ambiance.

Room Tip: Request a remodeled room since they all cost the same.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

It is still chilly at night here. The hotel is from 1960. Made of bricks. Only the A/C is on. Both can't be on at the same time. Of course, they don't say that anywhere.
The decorations are cool but the place is old, specially the kitchen. The oven smelled like food.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
5  Thank Julio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We LOVED the El Dorado. Tucked away on a residential side street (get good directions), it's a little funky oasis mere blocks from the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. Unfortunately, we were in town for work, so we didn't get to enjoy our stay as much as we'd have liked to!

We did, however, throw a small party for some of our work people. These folks were all locals and had never heard of El Dorado before. They all loved the space.

The grounds are hip 40s/50s decor. Frank Sinatra croons from the sound system. And yes, a peacock named Phil often roams the grounds. A small group of retirees still stay there during the winter months...just like they have for decades, long before the complex changed from being apartments to a motel.

We stayed in a two-bedroom/two-bath unit, and it was spacious and wonderful! The room next to the parking lot can get a little noisy at night. It's great to have the kitchen.

They have a small wine/beer/coffee bar right next to the registration desk with some breakfast/lunch items.

The people who work here are friendly, helpful, and very laid back. They truly want to make your visit a good one - ask them if you need anything!

Tip: If you want some good Mexican food with a funky cantina atmosphere, try Frank and Lupe's in Old Town. Also, Cartel coffee is a good alternative to Starbucks and some of the upscale chains. It's where you just might spot a Phoenix hipster!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hildeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews