We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel just South of Old Town Scottsdale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel just South of Old Town Scottsdale”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We just finished a 3-night stay at the hotel. The staff at this hotel are exceptional. During our entire stay we never once encountered a staff member that didn't greet us with a smile. Kudos to all of you! As I stated, this is a budget hotel.. but a nice one. There isn't a large spacious lobby or elegant dining. No fancy pool with swim-up bar or waterfall and no beautifully groomed gardens to walk through. BUT, for the budget conscious this is a great stay. The breakfast was above average and there was plenty of variety. The suites are large and clean. The beds and pillows were super comfortable and they actually had nice soft towels which is always a plus. Mini coffee maker in the room along with mini frig and microwave. The rooms were well insulated. We only heard a few noises while we were there and it was pretty full. I believe this is a hotel that the locals frequent for staycations.

They provide a complimentary Happy Hour form 5:30 - 7:00 in the evening. There is always coffee with creamers and hot tea available. They have a complimentary shuttle that will take you within a 3 mile radius. The pool is small but clean. There are lots of comfortable lounge chairs. I did not us the hot tub but they do have one as well a very nice fitness room. They also have a coin-operated washer and dryer on each floor for guest use.

The hotel is just south of Old Town Scottsdale. It is about a 15 minute walk. They have golf cart type vehicles that drive around Old Town and offer rides for a negotiable rate. If the hotel shuttle stops running and you don't want to walk back this is a great option.

If you like pizza go across the street to Oregano's. A local favorite. We also spent the afternoon at Postino's Wine Café on Campbell. $5.00 wine until 5:00 everyday and bruschetta that is absolutely delicious. We also enjoyed some evening music at The Rusty Spur and EVO. I recommend them both.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnySkiesDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Mikki B,

Our associates understand and believe that our valued guests deserve an exceptional stay and we will continue to push daily to find new ways to WOW our guests. I will be sure to share your very nice comments with our team; they work hard to ensure guests have a pleasant stay. I appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again.

Best,
Trisha Ryno
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    291
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
218
298
67
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

i only chose this hotel because of its excellent reviews, and was not disappointed
staff were fantastic the pool area was great and free breakfast and parking a must .

only down side our room was not facing the pool but road with no ability to open windows
the 3 levels,you either are facing the road and parking or you are on the best facing the pool with a bacony
table . so PLEASE ask which side you are facing if its the carpark or road ask for rooms with pool views
this is not really a kids fun park so remember for kids it is limited

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing pool area but not ground floor 2 or 3 these rooms have a bacony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asfran100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
It is fantastic to hear that your stay was enjoyable! We thank you for your compliments regarding our pool and ample breakfast, but more importantly our staff. Our associates strive to provide exceptional guest experiences; I will be sure to share your kind feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to write.

Best,
Trisha Ryno, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed for one night at the hotel. The room was a good size with good facilities, The breakfast was basic but good esp. as it was free. The swimming pool area is very clean and pleasant. Hotel is located a very short drive or approx. 15 min walk from downtown Scottsdale in a safe area. Recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinBUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear ErinBUk,

Thank you for your kind review! We’re pleased to hear our spacious rooms, amenities and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay; I look forward to sharing your feedback with the team. It was a pleasure to host you. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area.

Best,
Trisha Ryno, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our family of 4, two adults and two teens,stayed here for a total of 3 nights. The room set up was great, with a sitting room with pullout sofa, frig, microwave and desk. We loved the pool with waterfalls, happy hour every eve but Sunday,milk and cookies in the evening, generous breakfast buffet. The fitness room was clean, quiet,and barely used. the staff were all friendly and incredibly helpful, to our children and to us...we felt like we were getting Band B level care with the privacy of a bigger hotel. We would happily return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretEFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Margaret,

We're happy to hear from you, and we're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to learn that you enjoyed our spacious room, pool and ample breakfast in addition to our helpful staff. A return visit is the best compliment; please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area!

Best,
Trisha Ryno, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and two children (ages 13 and 18) stayed here for three nights in late June and were very impressed. The front desk staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful and the included breakfast and happy hour every day were great. The property is very well-maintained and clean. The pool is excellent. The location is perfect and the hotel shuttle will take you anywhere you need to go within a 3-mile radius, which is convenient if you're without a car, like we were. We took the shuttle into Old Scottsdale twice and it was a very fast trip. I also liked the different flavors of fruit water available in the lobby _ lovely when it's 108 degrees outside!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieRBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Julie,

Our staff makes sincere hospitality their priority. Reflections like yours give us areas to improve our guest experience, as well as talking points to commend our staff. I’m thrilled to learn you enjoyed our pool, breakfast and friendly staff in addition to our convenient location. Thank for taking the time to review your experience and we hope to see you again.

Best,
Trisha Ryno, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I booked this hotel during our stay in scottsdale to go to the mayo clinic. We obviously had other choices that were much closer but since we've stayed here before we decided the drive was worth it. We came just in time for happy hour! Complimentary Bud Light and Amber Bock were on tap and an assortment of wine was also available. They also had milk and cookies toward the end of the night! How cool is that!? The room was very clean, i'm a bit of a clean freak and was so grateful that everything from the lobby, and pool were clean. Breakfast was not just bagels and muffins. They had a full breakfast, which is great if you eat healthy, Eggs, toast, cereal, pastries, protein options, juice, coffee. All this sounds pretty standard but it really is the little things that make your stay so much more enjoyable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank S_Moncayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
S_Moncayo,
We appreciate your review and return visit to Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. We know you have many choices when traveling to Scottsdale area and we thank you for choosing our hotel. I'm delighted to hear that the level of cleanliness, comfort and service you experienced made for an enjoyable stay. We hope you'll visit us again in the future! Thank you again for writing.

Kind regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was there this past weekend for buissness and WOW what a clean nice hotel......staff was super nice quite and friendly I asked for a ride into oldtown and they dropped what they were doing to help me out.. Will stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBMORR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
BBMORR,
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale while traveling on business. We appreciate your compliments regarding our clean hotel and friendly staff. Our team takes great pride in the level of service they provide. We look forward to extending our hospitality to you again in the future. Thank you again for your review!

Kind regards,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,634 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Address: 3131 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-7217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the Sonoran Desert, Scottsdale is a lovely oasis that offers the excitement and attractions of a busy metropolis, as well as the quiet and laid-back atmosphere of a Western town. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Scottsdale offers easy access to the area's attractions and lovely desert landscape. Corporate travelers appreciate that our modern facilities include a well-equipped Business Center, as well as an 875-sq-ft event room. The hotel's location in Scottsdale, Arizona places guests near such area businesses as Scottsdale Healthcare, General Dynamics, Boeing and Greenbaum Surgery Center. We suggest that you take the time to explore the nearby, beautiful Desert Botanical Garden. After spending the morning at the garden, head over to the Phoenix Zoo for a fun-filled afternoon. If you're in the mood to go shopping, you can check out Old Town Scottsdale or Fashion Square Mall. While visiting, be sure to check the schedules at Scottsdale Stadium and WestWorld to see what events are in town. Our complimentary, hot breakfast ensures that you start your day off the right way with a hearty meal. We provide free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel's facility, and the Scottsdale, Arizona area is easily accessible with our free shuttle. We look forward to welcoming you to the all-suite Holiday Inn Express® Scottsdale hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing