We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is hands down the best for value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Ranked #11 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This place is hands down the best for value!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great location! Close to ball parks, shopping, many tourist areas and is a great value (specially during off season). What sets this apart from other HIE is the happy hour from 5-7pm with free snacks, beer, wine and soda. The breakfast is also very good and included in the price of the stay. Fresh and clean... and employees are great. This review is not a one time... this is time after time, year after year since they opened!

Room Tip: Top floor (3rd).... and poolside.... even with pool activities it is calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craknzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Craknzee,
It's great to hear from you. We appreciate your kind review, and we're glad you stayed with us at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our happy hour, breakfast, and wonderful staff. We enjoyed your company, and we hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    291
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
216
297
67
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights last week and I have to say that the hotel lives up to all the reviews. Service was great (Dionte the Front House Manager in particular), the shuttle bus was a huge bonus, the breakfast was actually much better than we anticipated and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool area was also very nice. I would certainly stay here again and would be happy to recommend this as a great hotel for its bracket.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Paul M,
Thank you for your delightful review. We're happy to have had you as our guests, and we're glad you had a nice, pleasant visit. I appreciate your kind comments about Dionte, and I'll make sure to give him a special commendation for his outstanding work. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated as well, and we hope you'll come and visit us again soon. Safe travels.
Sincerely,
Trisha Ryno, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I only stayed one night, but we had a great experience at this HIE. The landscaping around the property and the outdoor pool area is exceptional. Check in was quick and parking was free with easy access to the rooms. In our room, everything but the bathroom had been updated. The room was very clean. Free WiFi worked well. A separate area outside the bath had an updated sink and granite top.The room had a separate sitting area between the bathroom and bed area that included a flat screen TV, microwave, small fridge, and coffee maker. There was a ceiling fan in the sitting room which seemed odd until I realized the bed area had double glass doors that shut off the bedroom heating/cooling unit.We didn't need to use the fan, but it is probably needed if the bedroom is closed off and someone is sleeping on the sofa bed. Our king bed was very comfortable and that area had it's own flat screen television. Cable channels and in room movies were both available. The fitness center had new equipment and plenty of room for several people to work out at once. Fresh water and towels were laid out. Two large flat panel televisions were available. The lobby is spacious and inviting. Coffee and tea are available all day and iced tea dispensers are set up by the glass doors to the pool area. The pool area was very pretty, clean, and had plenty of chairs and tables. The buffet breakfast was good and included all the usual hot and cold beverages, cereals, breads, some fresh fruit (bananas, apples), eggs, and bacon. There was plenty of seating and a large flat screen television. The in-room checkout was not working, but checkout at the desk was quick and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CafeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your very detailed review of our hotel; we are pleased to know you enjoyed all the little added features. We will always strive to be an "Excellent Choice" for Scottsdale so please come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is our 3rd stay at this property, and even though we knew it was getting tired, the value, the staff, location, happy hour and shuttle service couldn't be beat. We were pleasantly surprised to see the remodeling/updating completed. Clean comfortable rooms with new furniture, TVs, etc. (except bathroom - toilet & tub - wasn't updated which was kind of weird when the rest of the room was completely updated). We received a very friendly welcome along with a bag of goodies for priority club membership. Super shuttle service plus cookies and milk at 7:30. Can't say enough good things about this place. TiP: This HIE can be hard to find. It is on the corner of Earll and N. Scottsdale Rd, and entrance is on Earll.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 100nitesperyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome review of the staff, property and amenities. We are also pleased to know you enjoy coming back to us time and again. We look forward to welcoming you back for a 4th time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here for a week and found the property and staff to be top notch. The property was very clean and well kept; good breakfast selection; staff were professional and accomodating; warm cookies and milk at bedtime were a nice touch.

Room Tip: The third floor was mostly quiet even with a large convention in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We take pride in knowing our guests have an exceptional stay with us and we are so pleased you took the time to write a review about your experience! Nothing beats knowing we are "top notch" when it comes to our property and service. Thanks again and visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here a week. Friendly staff. Beautiful rooms. Everything updated. Heated outdoor pool with electric chair that could be put into pool or hot tub if you were handicapped. Wonderful breakfast and also free happy hour with chips and salsa and two drinks each and fresh cookies and popcorn. Excellent location to all points in the valley. We also left our car there for a week while we went to Cancun and had the free shuttle to and from airport. No complaints what so ever.

Room Tip: Third floor quiet..second floor over happy hour a bit noisy for awhile..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are please to learn you enjoyed everything from the rooms to our happy hour! Thank you for your wonderful review, we truly appreciate it! Please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on vacation and typically stay 85-90 nights a year in hotels on business and pleasure. Our stay was pleasant for the most part and I will list the pros and cons of our stay.

Pros: Very friendly staff
Free shuttle to and from airport and within 3 miles of hotel.
Free breakfast, happy hour, and cookies and milk @ 8pm
Nicely decorated, clean and updated rooms with flat screen tvs
Elevator
Beautiful pool and spa area
Business area
Workout room

Cons: Room given was near garbage area so we were awakened to hear a garbage truck on
two of the mornings.

Needless to say, we surely didn't need a wake up call after that.
We were thought that our Gold Priority Club membership would have warranted a
better room location.

Drain in tub was very slow and only had a twin or full size mattress pad on our king
sized bed, however, when we let the front desk know, it was remedied fairly quickly.

Our mattress wasn't very comfortable and didn't feel like other Holiday Inn beds. Could
we have gotten a room with an older mattress?

Not sure when we will return, but will consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelmomma78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are glad to hear it was pleasant despite the cons; we have taken note of them all and assure you they will be adressed with our staff. We want only the best experience for our guests so we hope you will stop by again to give us another opportunity to make your stay great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,625 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Address: 3131 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-7217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the Sonoran Desert, Scottsdale is a lovely oasis that offers the excitement and attractions of a busy metropolis, as well as the quiet and laid-back atmosphere of a Western town. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Scottsdale offers easy access to the area's attractions and lovely desert landscape. Corporate travelers appreciate that our modern facilities include a well-equipped Business Center, as well as an 875-sq-ft event room. The hotel's location in Scottsdale, Arizona places guests near such area businesses as Scottsdale Healthcare, General Dynamics, Boeing and Greenbaum Surgery Center. We suggest that you take the time to explore the nearby, beautiful Desert Botanical Garden. After spending the morning at the garden, head over to the Phoenix Zoo for a fun-filled afternoon. If you're in the mood to go shopping, you can check out Old Town Scottsdale or Fashion Square Mall. While visiting, be sure to check the schedules at Scottsdale Stadium and WestWorld to see what events are in town. Our complimentary, hot breakfast ensures that you start your day off the right way with a hearty meal. We provide free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel's facility, and the Scottsdale, Arizona area is easily accessible with our free shuttle. We look forward to welcoming you to the all-suite Holiday Inn Express® Scottsdale hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing