We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad attitudes a big let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Bad attitudes a big let down”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I prefer Holiday Inns as I am a Platinum Elite Member of their loyalty program and for the some basic standards that I can expect at all their hotels.I travelled to Arizona with my wife for the fisrts time and Scootsdale was our first and last stop. We stayed at this hotel for two nights and then one night later in the same week. As Platinum Elite member, the welcome package was nice but the room upgrade was not even mentioned. Upon enquiry, I was told that the room I had was an upgrade from a poolside suite to a poolside suite with patio which meant nothing in December weather. I also noticed that all poolside suites had patios or balconies. The bathrooms were so small that there was just enough room for one person to stand next to the shower and the toilet seat. Upon my return stay, I was not even greeted as a Platinum Elite member and again not given any upgrade. The room was not ready at the time of check in at 2.30 pm and when I protested, the girl at the front desk showed attitude and told me that rooms are gauranteed for 4 pm only even though she knew about my Platinum status by then. I did get the room by 2.50 pm and again it was the same as I booked with no upgrade. I was told that the better ones were all sold out. Now, I am not the one to suffer fools. I aksed her if I will get one if I paid more and she said no as those are sold out. I then told her that I have the website open and two such rooms are available online. She put me on hold and after a long pause, the Manager came on line and asked me what is it that was bothering me. To cut the long story short, I was upgraded to an accessible room though a regular one was still available online and the entire excercise left a bad taste in my mouth. In spite of its good location next to Old Town, Scottsdale, I shall never return to this property again. Now I am seriously worried about the Priority Club Rewards programme and the varying standards of its implementation and monitoring.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psahaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear psahaye,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Rewards Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. I am so pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel. Please accept my sincerest apology for the service you encountered affected your stay negatively. I am also sorry for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the room upgrade fell below your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Scottsdale, AZ.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    291
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
218
298
67
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

If I didn't know the name, I wouldn't guess this is a Holiday Inn Express. The property is wonderful. It is clean and well-kept. The staff is friendly and helpful. The full, hot breakfast had something for everyone in my family, including my extremely picky eater daughter. The rooms are clean, comfortable, in great condition with all your needs anticipated. They even provided paper plates and plastic utensils for use in the room along with the microwave and fridge. Very family-friendly, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to the business traveler. Convenient to Scottsdale attractions and close by to Phoenix-area attractions as well. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone. It was a real value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneygal18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Wow, thanks for the great review; we are very happy you had such a great stay with us and please always remember our name and come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed over the Christmas Holidays and couldn't have had a nicer experience. The staff was wonderful and helpful for all kinds of concierge-type assistance. The breakfast was terrific and well seen to by staff to ensure it appeared as fresh and presented during the entire time it was open. Nice happy hour with wine, beer, soft drinks, and nacho kinds of eats. Room was very nice with the kind of layout that precluded feeling cramped like some hotels of this ilk. The grounds were quite nice with a great swimming pool. The hotel is located within easy access to all tourist areas of Scottsdale, as well as to downtown Phoenix via Camelback Rd. and Paradise Valley. We've made several getaway visits to the Phoenix area over the past few years and this hotel will be our choice in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spazz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very touched to be called the "Best HI Express" and we will continue to always try and be the best. Being away from home for the holiday's can sometimes be difficult but we're glad you still had a great experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights as a getaway. It was very comfortable and the staff were AWSOME! The beds were very very comfortable and the room was very clean. Any time I am in Scottsdale, I will stay at the Holiday Inn Express!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It's great to hear you had an awesome time with us. Anytime you are in Scottsdale, please visit us as we would love to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

A very nice hotel, although located right off of a busy, and apparently popular street we couldn't hear the traffic noise. We loved the room, the check in was easy and the staff at the desk very nice and friendly. As usual with what appears to be ALL Holiday Inns, their coffee is the very worst! The breakfast buffet was good, though.

Room Tip: You may want a room away from the pool area, it can get a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlia50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and the kind words about the front desk staff. We are happy you had a great stay despite the coffee issues and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Having stayed at many Holiday Inn properties over the years, this hotel is undoubtedly up there with the best. My wife and I stayed 4 nights, having previously stayed here 3 years ago - and I am pleased to say that their standards have not slipped at all in the interim. Our suite was large; quiet, comfortable and clean.

The hotel is ideally located for the Old Town; Scottsdale Stadium; Shops; Restaurants and the Fashion Mall. Ample free car parking; nice reception; internet access; free beer/wine during happy hour; free milk & cookies; unlimited coffee available 24hrs a day. Breakfast was typical HOE fare.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall an excellent hotel, and a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
It never ceases to amaze us when we get such kind words from our guests. Thank you so much for your review and we will always strive to deliver a great experience for our guests and to be the best. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed for 4 nights over the Thanksgiving weekend while visiting family. Room was very comfortable. We liked the fact it was a suite with it's own area where the kids could sleep and watch tv. The staff was very accommodating and even send an apology note with a gift certificate to a local ice cream restaurant, because house keeping missed us one day. The breakfast was good every day with lots of choices. They have a happy hour in the evening with beer or wine and nachos and popcorn and then cookies and milk at night! Overall, was very happy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvadeal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We are always happy to be able to be apart of families getting together, especially around the Holidays; so thank you for giving us that opportunity and making your stay a great one. We apologize for the inconvenience of the housekeeping but happy the front desk staff was able to rectify the situation for you. Thank you for your review and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,636 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Address: 3131 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-7217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the Sonoran Desert, Scottsdale is a lovely oasis that offers the excitement and attractions of a busy metropolis, as well as the quiet and laid-back atmosphere of a Western town. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Scottsdale offers easy access to the area's attractions and lovely desert landscape. Corporate travelers appreciate that our modern facilities include a well-equipped Business Center, as well as an 875-sq-ft event room. The hotel's location in Scottsdale, Arizona places guests near such area businesses as Scottsdale Healthcare, General Dynamics, Boeing and Greenbaum Surgery Center. We suggest that you take the time to explore the nearby, beautiful Desert Botanical Garden. After spending the morning at the garden, head over to the Phoenix Zoo for a fun-filled afternoon. If you're in the mood to go shopping, you can check out Old Town Scottsdale or Fashion Square Mall. While visiting, be sure to check the schedules at Scottsdale Stadium and WestWorld to see what events are in town. Our complimentary, hot breakfast ensures that you start your day off the right way with a hearty meal. We provide free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel's facility, and the Scottsdale, Arizona area is easily accessible with our free shuttle. We look forward to welcoming you to the all-suite Holiday Inn Express® Scottsdale hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing