We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good First Stop on Our Road Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good First Stop on Our Road Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our first impression of this hotel wasn't the best. I called from the UK a couple of days before we flew out to arrange for the hotel shuttle to meet us at the end of our 11 hour flight. I was advised that I would have to call again on arrival, which I thought was a disappointing response to a guest travelling from overseas.

So we landed, and I called as soon as we got through the secure area of the airport only to be told that it would be at least 45 minutes before we could be picked up as the driver was on another job. This wasn't really what we wanted to hear, as we were travelling as a group of 6, including my elderly Mother and 3 children. Directions to the pick-up point were far from clear, resulting in us waiting in 100+ degree heat for over an hour (and a further 3 international mobile calls) before we sorted the problem out. I would have hoped that, given the notice we had provided, a more efficient pick-up could have been arranged. We were hugely relieved to finally be on our way to the hotel, and being provided complimentary bottle water by the driver felt like a life-saver!

The staff at the hotel are just great. Everyone, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff, were friendly and helpful, always had a smile and were good at remembering names! A special thanks to Ricky who gave us a lift back to the airport at 7am the next day to collect our rental car, providing friendly chat and useful pointers on what to visit along the way. I suspect this is a better reflection of the usual service provided by the hotel's complimentary shuttle, and we were just unlucky when we arrived.

The rooms we had were great - spacious and clean, with plenty of bedding and towels. We did require a little assistance to un-stick the sofa bed in our room, but this was attended to promptly.

Our kids had great fun in the pool, which is, incidentally, much much smaller than it looks on the hotel website. It got pretty rowdy one of the nights we stayed, with a large crowd of late-teens/early 20's, so our kids just came away then.

The microwave and fridge in each room was really useful to have, and the air conditioning efficient, if a little noisy.

Breakfast was pretty much the best HIE one I've ever had (and we've been staying with the chain since it began). Clean, hot, tasty and plentiful. A slight issue with lack of seating on our second morning, but we were down at peak time, so we just collected what we wanted and took it back to our rooms.

The location is good for Scottsdale, and for shopping, but is further from Sky Harbor Airport than I had appreciated. I'd certainly stay here again when in Scottsdale, but would maybe choose something closer to the airport if flying in to PHX.

On balance, a very good Holiday Inn Express. Just wished the airport pick-up had been smoother. If it had been, I'd have rated 5/5!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    288
    46
    17
    9
See reviews for
212
294
66
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is the standard most all other hotels should shoot for.
We travel the world...this is one of the best. Friendly staff throughout the hotel made us feel truly welcome.
Free Happy hour and breakfast A+.
Cookies & milk in the evening and ice tea & lemon aid by the pool...double bonus!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smokey-GrapevineTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
When your response was read during our daily standup meeting with the staff, a very loud Woo Hoo was shared by all. We LOVE hearing from our guests and thank you, thank you for such kind words. We hope to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Really nice hotel close to Scottsdale Fashion Square and Old Town Scottsdale. My only advice is that if you're getting the suite expecting to have 2 people sleep on the pull out couch, don't bother. It is a very very very small twin. I tall person could never do it. Aside from that the hotel was great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arizona_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We do have some of our rooms that have 2 queen beds that have a full size sofa bed instead of a twin size, and the front desk would be happy to help you in the future if you need the larger sofa bed. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hotel is in Old Scottsdale a short walk away. The outside has been painted since last year and the lobby area and breakfast room has also been update.
Breakfast is good, hot items, fruit juice, cereals/breads/muffins and hot cinammon rolls.
Happy hour every evening, wine/beer and soda, also chips dips and chilli.
Fridge and microwave in room, very handy.
We had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool area. Only thing I would have liked was a light on the balcony, so that we could sit out in the evening and have a little drink. Maybe they don't because of bugs.
All in all a great place and I will be back next June.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiltonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpressGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Can't wait to have you as our guest again for year 4! We did paint the buliding, as well as new carpet, guest room furniture and we did re-design our lobby area to be more guest friendly! I'm confidant that you will be really like the changes we are making and look forward to seeing you June of 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Was apprehensive on staying at this hotel but after I read the reviews I decided to book. Arrived to the hotel about an hour before check in and they booked me into a room. This was the first plus because I had just got off a 7 hour road trip. The room was very clean. I really liked the room although I will request either the first floor or third floor next time. Seems like the floors were very thin, we could hear people walking around upstairs which woke me up from a deep sleep. l will book this hotel again when I go back to the Phx area.

Room Tip: Either the first floor or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trina7799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Great stay at a good price, no issues. Free hot breakfast and beer/wine/snack happy hour was nice. Clean place, the lobby looks more up to date than the rooms. This place could be even better if the rooms were a little bit more up to date and matched the decor of the lobby. Overall nice place to stay on a budget. AC unit was AMAZING!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
So glad that you liked the up to date appearance of the lobby and excited to say, that the rooms will be complete within the next few months as well! We look forward to having you as a guest again and your opinion on the new and improved rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast England
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel is not far from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport, it is a short 20 min drive and hotel is easy to find, the hotel also has a free shuttle but is not listed in the courtesy phone area in the airport so make a note of their number if you want to make use of it (it only comes by request). The hotel is an easy 15 min walk to old town Scottsdale (you have to cross over Scottsdale Road twice as the sidewalk runs out). The staff are very friendly. Rooms are clean and spacious. The managers reception each night is an added bonus which they have wine, a couple of draught beers and chips & dips. They also have a nice selection of cookies in the evening which was appreciated after arriving from a long flight. The breakfast is good with some decent hot items as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJS1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about your stay . Should you find yourself in the area again, we would love to have you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
3 Palms Hotel
#34 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Address: 3131 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-7217
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled deep in the Sonoran Desert, Scottsdale is a lovely oasis that offers the excitement and attractions of a busy metropolis, as well as the quiet and laid-back atmosphere of a Western town. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Scottsdale offers easy access to the area's attractions and lovely desert landscape. Corporate travelers appreciate that our modern facilities include a well-equipped Business Center, as well as an 875-sq-ft event room. The hotel's location in Scottsdale, Arizona places guests near such area businesses as Scottsdale Healthcare, General Dynamics, Boeing and Greenbaum Surgery Center. We suggest that you take the time to explore the nearby, beautiful Desert Botanical Garden. After spending the morning at the garden, head over to the Phoenix Zoo for a fun-filled afternoon. If you're in the mood to go shopping, you can check out Old Town Scottsdale or Fashion Square Mall. While visiting, be sure to check the schedules at Scottsdale Stadium and WestWorld to see what events are in town. Our complimentary, hot breakfast ensures that you start your day off the right way with a hearty meal. We provide free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel's facility, and the Scottsdale, Arizona area is easily accessible with our free shuttle. We look forward to welcoming you to the all-suite Holiday Inn Express® Scottsdale hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Scottsdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing