We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Mexican/Southwestern”
Review of Sol Cocina

Sol Cocina
Ranked #209 of 1,250 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Greenway Hayden Loop and Scottsdale Road
Puerto Penasco, Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican/Southwestern”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stopped in for a quick lunch on a week day. It was not crowed and we were seated immediately. There is both indoor and outdoor seating and a bar for each as well. A very interesting menu. Generally the kind of Mex food you expect on the menu but not at all presented in the traditional manner. The dishes are excellently presented. I had a quesadilla with mushrooms and a verde sauce on top. Slightly spicey and very good. I would come back to check out the happy hour scene on the outdoor patio.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RockyPointRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    55
    24
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great margarita”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The house margarita was pretty good, I would definitely return for happy hour. The chips and salsa, I did not like so much, I understand they are going for different and upscale, but a little to much for me.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beautiful37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwood
Level Contributor
415 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Superb night out”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Newish Baja style Mexican restaurant in Scottsdale Quarter, very different type of cooking with great flavours, some spicy, well designed and extremely well presented plates. Wonderful cocktails, great service, busy, bustling atmosphere. Live music Sunday mornings and Tuesday evenings. Open late as well, bar until 2 am weekends, food through 11 pm.
Well worth a great night out with friends and family.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good location and atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Was there for Happy Hour...not much to choose from but good quality. There are better places in town for the money.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank aztravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very different mexican food experience”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Really good and spicy hot sonoran mexico food - not the traditional chimi/taco/burro/enchalada. It wasn't so hot that we couldn't eat it - but it was spicy. Great service.

I did not order the $185 shot of tequila.

This was a complete surprise to those of us who have been living in the southwest for decades - and a really nice change of pace.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol Cocina also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sol Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing