We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best in the country”
Review of Sweet Republic

Sweet Republic
Ranked #4 of 39 Dessert in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Some of the best in the country”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Unique flavors are not new to me. Jeni's in Columbus, OH has nailed fruity, salty-sweet, and savory ice creams. Several places in Boston, NYC, and SF also do salty-sweet combinations and unique ingredients. That being said, Sweet Republic is as good, with arguably stronger flavor than the rest. By that, I mean their blue cheese really tastes like cheese, their medjool date really tastes like dates, etc. I had the toffee banoffi sundae, as recommended by Alton Brown. The salty toffee with the caramel sauce was really the star of the sundae. If I went back, I'd just get a scoop of the honey blue cheese. That was amazing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mky84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    34
    15
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Bend
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Most unique artisanal ice cream flavors!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were planning to go to Gelato Spot one evening, only to discover they were closed for the night. Two women seated outdoors at the restaurant next door said, "You've got to try Sweet Republic. They have amazing ice cream". Off we went, and oh, what a treat it was! We liked it so well, we went back the following week. The owners (two women who left corporate America for this business) and shop have been written up in a number of publications. I ordered a scoop of Peanut Butter Chip, and it was heavenly; it's made with slow-churned Virginia peanuts and flakes of rich chocolate. My husband had the "Real Mint Chip" ice cream, and it's made with fresh mint. One of our cousins ordered lavender ice cream, and she said, "It tastes like a massage!" which was a funny comment, but after having a taste, I agreed. Other interesting choices include Honey Blue Cheese, made with local honey, and Basil Lime Sorbet, made with zested lime and fresh basil. There are so many interesting flavors that it's really hard to choose, but they do give tastes. It's fantastic!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
577 reviews
375 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We don't think it's that much better than other ice cream shops we've been to, but it's darn good. All natural ingredients, mostly locally sourced pumps up the prices.

On a hot Scottsdale day, it's worth a stop. It's almost unfairly located next to the Camelback Walk. An hour's exercise can go bye bye with a stop here.

Try their signature salted caramel ice cream. It's super yummy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SalfromIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Heard it was one of the best in the country and decided to try. Ice cream is really tasty and creamy. Worth a visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arbonfieti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“go!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

i love their ice cream. i wish i had a portable freezer so i could take it home with me. i hate caramel in general but i loved their popular ice cream salted caramel butter esp in a waffle cup.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbee1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Republic also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sweet Republic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing