We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Taco Tuesday”
Review of Barrio Queen

Barrio Queen
Ranked #76 of 1,323 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $24
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Best Mexican Soul Food in Arizona. Unique flavors of authentic Mexico City dishes. One of the Top Five largest Tequileria in United States.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

$3 margaritas and $2 tacos - great service with a smile. Table side guacamole with the Chef touch is wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RKReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, Manager at Barrio Queen, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

So glad to hear that you really enjoyed Taco Tuesday. It gives everyone a chance to sample some great tacos and margaritas! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

784 - 788 of 845 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stopped in, off the street impromptu, on Sat at 445. Front bar was full so we were walked to back bar. The barrio there was kind and helpful. We had a hand made, fresh, margarita for $3. It was very tasty. We also ordered the happy hr special, two tacos for $3. These were small but tasty! Bartender was kind and friendly. A great place for a drop in!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kirbyfredstpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Barrio Queen is located west of Scottsdale Road, just south of the canal, in Old Scottsdale. Parking was available in the below ground garage. Without reservations, we were immediately seated for dinner on a weeknight. The Chiles en Nogada and Pollo Coco were recommended by our waitress as entrees and we were not disappointed. We paired our entrees with dark beer on tap. The guacamole was made table side with not-the-norm ingredients--an appetizer to share. Wonderful service and atmosphere. Our table agreed we would revisit again. It was a pleasure to dine here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Twogreynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, General Manager at Barrio Queen, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words! We hope to see you very soon and have a terrific New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Four of us stopped in while walking around the downtown area. It was after 2pm, so.... HAPPY HOUR! 3 buck beers and 3 buck margaritas were the choice of the afternoon along with a bowl of their self-proclaimed "famous" guacamole. Well.... the drinks were very good as was the service. The famous guacamole was "okay", but I'm not a real fan of extra stuff in guacamole, of which they put in plenty. Good place to stop and watch the town go by...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OregonStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, General Manager at Barrio Queen, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you for your great comments about our Happy Hour and Margaritas! We try hard to create great value with all of our food and beverages. Have a great holiday and we look forward to serving you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

After eating at the Barrio Cafe, we were excited to try Barrio Queen. It may be the same chef, as we were told, but it's not the same food. Tacos were lukewarm at best when served. Guacamole was nothing special, nor was the sangria (both real standouts at the Barrio Cafe). Drinks were a disappointment. Service shifted midway through the dinner from obtrusive to elusive. Price and quality just seem a little out of alignment.

Thank longjch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan R, General Manager at Barrio Queen, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for your comments on your experience at the Barrio Queen! I am so sorry that we did not live up to your expectations after visiting the Cafe in Phoenix. Your comments will be taken seriously and shared with the entire team and we hope you give us another chance to serve you great food and drink on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrio Queen also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Barrio Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing