We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Resort in Scottsdale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I just returned from 3 days at the Kierland Resort & Spa. This is my second time staying at this hotel. I love Scottsdale and I especially love this hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

The staff is extremely helpful and does their utmost to make your stay enjoyable plus they are very knowledgeable about things to do in the area. The hotel is clean and the grounds are impeccable. The rooms are spacious and comfortable…especially the Heavenly bed. We were there the week before Christmas and it was pretty empty. We really enjoyed listening to the playing of the bagpipes at dusk each evening. It was very calming and peaceful.

I had the breakfast buffet one day and ordered off the menu the next. It was delicious both days but I expected my eggs to come with toast or potatoes. Everything had to be ordered separately as it is a la carte. I also ate lunch at the restaurant on the golf course which was delicious. We ate outside which was very pleasant and peaceful. We got to watch the golfers practice before beginning their game.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Scottsdale. It is located right across the street from an upscale shopping mall and there are several terrific restaurants located there. In addition, it is not far from downtown Scottsdale or to shopping, dining and attractions within the area.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smooshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,177 - 2,183 of 2,528 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2009

We enjoyed the friendly staff and services once we arrived at this hotel. Everyone was helpful and made sure our stay was perfect. This trip was a short retreat for us before our families arrived for the holidays.
The rooms were a bit small but great for what we needed during our stay.The decor of the hotel and in our room was nice and soothing . Having a choice of a shower /bath was a great plus to either soak and then shower after a long day of shopping was a nice feature we do not see at many hotels and the beds were comfy albiet with a tad too much sheets and comforters for this area.
The hotel grounds are lovely and we also dined at the Nellie Cashmen's for breakfast instead of heading over to the shops across. (Hotel guests can get a discount at some shops and restaurants across the street if you show your room key)
We were very surprised at the quality of the food and their selections at Nellie's. The meal had cost less than expected and they did everything to bring the quality up to a fine dining expierience. We were happy that we decided to dine in at the hotel and not leave so we may enjoy the grounds further. They have a great bar in the lobby too.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skelly3055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

I read a lot of the reviews on TA. They are pretty accurate. The big knock on the place is in the winter they keep the pools so cold they are not usable. I'm sure it is a cost cutting maneuver. It's a real bummer.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
Thank trvldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

This resort is beautiful, staff are first class, nice location as well. However the hotel room is disappointing-relative small with outdated decor. I particularly don't like the bed as you can see in some travellers' photos, they are not as comfortable. I feel like the room need an upgrade to stay up to five star standard.
The temperature of the outdoor heated pool is too low for end November weather, so we ended up staying in the jacuzzi.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YI_IVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

This hotel is located very nicely in Scottsdale. It is modern, the rooms are great, the service is outstanding, and the surroundings are gorgeous. It is built on many, many acres of property which houses a golf course and a number of swimming pools and a spa. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

I was visiting Scottsdale on my own in order to see some old friends and booked into the Westin Kierland for 5 nights. The hotel and resort are beautiful and the facilities very impressive; I particularly liked the adults only pool where hunky young waiters bring you complimentary jugs of iced water...and the complimentary shuttle to the mall/local restaurants, ideal for someone without a car.

Just a few small things annoyed me:
1/the usual rip off internet usage fee, unbelievable when you consider the cost of the room and the fact that I was a Starwood Preferred Guest, but they wouldn;t budge on it
2/I made one phonecall to the UK using the hotel phone, a 9 minute call that ended up costing me $90, yes, $10/minute! When I complained, they claimed there was a tiny card somewhere near the phone warning of the charges (and there was me naively thinking it would cost more to use my mobile lphone) Again, they wouldn;t budge, said they had "no control" over these charges.
3/One night, I was woken at 2am by shouting and screaming and door slamming in my corridor - this noise went on for at least an hour. After about half an hour, I rang reception, who assured me that security were dealing with the matter and eventually the noise did stop. As a woman on my own, I must admit I was worried and went to reception the next morning. After speaking to at least three members of staff, and waiting for the "manager" to get back to me (he or she never did) I was assured that the people who had caused the ruckus had checked out and there would be no more trouble. I felt that this was a bit shabby - a proper apology would have been appreciated (or some sort of gesture like waiving that night's stay would have been appropriate I think)
4/FInally, I was told that breakfast was included in my room rate when I checked in, but, of course, I was charged for a full breakfast every day of my stay when I got the bill. This was deducted when I complained, but again, I felt a hotel like this shouldn;t make mistakes like that.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orlyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for one night as a quick romantic getaway. We got a fantastic rate on Priceline ($80!). At that rate, I thought that maybe we would get the worst room in the resort. Instead we were given a room on the sixth floor with a great view of the courtyard. The room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom sparkled and the starbucks coffee in the room was great. The restaurants in the resort looked nice but we didn't want to spend a lot of money so we headed over to the Kierland Commons mall next door and had a fabulous dinner at "The Greene House." Even though it was too short...the experience was wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgar2764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,576 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $269 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing