We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale and Family Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2004

Our family of four (parents and 2 children) just returned from a relaxing weekend at the Kierland Resort and Spa. We live in Tuscon, AZ and like to run up to the Phoenix area during the summer and sample the various resorts when rates are lower. (We got a $164 internet rate).

This new resort (open less than 2 years) is the best for us so far. Big WOW factor from the start when you drive on to the property... architecture is impressive and stately, with towering palm trees lining the main entrance. Huge sliding glass doors open with a blast of cold air to reveal dual waterfalls on each side and a large marble-floored lobby. The view across the lobby through large glass windows is of Dream Weavers Canyon, the golf course. Checkin was fast and painless. (One negative... $18.00 per 24 hours to drive up to the front door and then have valet services take over. Otherwise it's a LONG walk from the self-parking area to your room with luggage.) The kids each recieved a "Welcome Pack" consisting of a cute hat and a drinking cup, which they can use at the pool and restaurants for free unlimited soda or lemonade.

This is a huge resort (over 750 rooms) and it was quite a little walk to our room ... very maze-like. The room was good-sized and very clean, no smell. The bathroom was large and had a walk-in glass-walled shower with dual heads (GREAT shower!) as well as a separate tub. The beds were the best hotel bed we've ever slept in. Named the Heavenly Bed...good name! Pillow top with quilted sheets and comforter and wonderful pillows. Two nice bathrobes are in each room. Small private balcony with 2 chairs and a view of the pool area. (All rooms have a private balcony). In-room safe and the usual collection of high-priced goodies and snacks in the little fridge. The carpet and a leather chair were both a little worn in a couple of spots, but no big deal. Several large framed photos of Arizona sites decorated the room AND bathroom.

The pool area was very enjoyable and not the crowded, loud, jam-packed water park we've seen at other resorts. (The higher prices probably help here.) A nice swimming area with a small sandy beach, a twisting water slide, and the nicest "Lazy River" we've seen in the Phoenix area. An adult pool is open 24 hours and a great place for laps. Next to this pool is a very upscale spa with full services and workout areas.

There are a few very nice (expensive) restaurants in the hotel, or, you can ride a courtesy shuttle (brand-new Ford Expedition!) or walk over to the Kierland Commons, an upscale shopping area with multiple trendy restaurants and stores...no shortage of dining choices. After returning to the hotel from dinner one evening, we were treated to S'mores (marshmellows, chocolate,etc) around a fire and live music in the courtyard area. We then headed back to the pool for a "dive-in" movie.

The staff... we didn't see one who didn't smile or offer to help in some way. Room service is TWICE a day, and multiple complementary items are available if you forget your deodorant or something. We should have requested the available bed-rails, since our five year old bailed off the tall bed one night! Read the booklet on the desk that lists all the items available, such as the bed-rails, strollers, diaper Genie, shower caps, combs, etc. Your child can even use the phone to listen to one of 30 available bed time stories!

We may stop sampling resorts and go back to this one!

7  Thank Okies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,416 - 2,422 of 2,505 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, CA
15
Reviewed July 5, 2004

This is an amazing hotel. We stayed at the JW Marriott Desert Ridge last year, and I was a little afraid that this hotel wouldn't be as nice. However, I couldn't have been more wrong. This was an absolutely fabulous hotel, especially for families. From the moment we walked in, we were impressed by the decor, the friendliness of the ENTIRE staff, and how quickly we were made to feel at home. Check-in was quick, and the rooms were very nicely decorated, clean, and comfortable. The bed and shower are amazing. The small balcony is also a nice touch, especially if you want to sit outside at night (and have some alone time) while the kids are sleeping.

This is a very family-friendly hotel. We have two small children, and the Westin Kids Club was great. We had dinner in the hotel at Nellie's, and the children can have dinner with other children while you have dinner in the main dining room. They will watch your children while you eat dinner and the kids can watch the video or play with games or toys.

The pool and lazy river are perfect for families with small children because the water is not very deep in the children's pool. Service at the pool for drinks and lunch was also great.

I highly recommend this hotel. We'll be going back again. BTW, parking was not very far from the hotel at all, and if you cut through the ballroom entrance, you won't have to walk outside very much at all.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Director of Public Relations at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Thank you for your review. We hope you come back to visit The Westin Kierland again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
37
Reviewed July 4, 2004

I recently stayed at this resort for 3 nights and absolutely enjoyed it. The entire property was beautiful. From the lobby to the golf course, everything was beautifully designed and very well kept. The room was very cozy and well appointed. I absolutely loved the bed and the shower.

The service at this hotel, to my surprise, was great. I had read some negative reviews about the service at this site before my visit, but the hotel staff had proven to be very friendly and professional. The check-in and check-out process was very quick and painless. I was greeted with smiles everywhere I went and the concierge desk was very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping service was very efficient and even made the bed twice every day.

I highly recommend this resort.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Director of Public Relations at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Thank you for your review. We hope you come back to visit The Westin Kierland again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
541
Reviewed June 28, 2004

This is really some hotel. My wife was there for a conference and I went along for the ride. The lobby is magnificant. We had a two room suite with huge comfortable bed, a sofa, two leather chairs... the works. The room was very comfortable and the shower was fantastic. One note: you could buy most of the contents of a Safeway store for the cost of emptying your honor bar in this place.

The pool area is great. They have an adult only pool with spa and a larger family pool with water slide and lazy river. The water slide was really a hoot.

The golf course is okay but there are much better places in the immediate vicinity, most of them at somewhat better prices.

We had one bad experience: a 1 a.m. fire alarm. Then, 20 minutes after they came out and told us it was a false alarm and to go back to our rooms, they blasted us with a loud-speaker announcement to the same effect. Wake me once, shame on you; wake me twice....

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Director of Public Relations at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Thank you for your review. We hope you come back to visit The Westin Kierland again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chandler, AZ
12
Reviewed June 20, 2004

This was a great resort to stay at for a local vacation. The price was great (government rate) and the pool service was excellent!! We'll definately be making regular visits to this resort. The Kierland Commons shopping center within walking distance is great and rapidly expending with upscale shops. I highly recomemend this resort to anyone. My kids had a great time in the river pool and water slide.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2004

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank atl-travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Director of Public Relations at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pleasanton, CA
15
Reviewed June 12, 2004

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Director of Public Relations at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,548 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#20 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: $221 - $620 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing