We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Westin Kierland -- Place For Families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Glenview, Illinois
1 review
“Westin Kierland -- Place For Families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at the Westin Kierland the week after Easter (4/21-4/27) and had a very enjoyable time. Given my SPG platinum status we had access to the Peaks Lounge which was quite handy in the morning for a quick bite and perhaps a cup of coffee.

The concierge desk was very helpful one evening after a change of plans had us hunting for a quick and casual restaurant -- the concierge recommended a casual pizza place called "SAUCE" which was a couple minutes drive from the hotel and ended up being excellent and exactly what we were seeking.

The hotel pools, lazy river and facilities were all nicely managed. The evening bagpipes were a hit with our kids as they had not visited the property on our prior stays.

M. Tschanz

Room Tip: The club lounge is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Matt,

First and foremost, thank you for being a loyal member of the Starwood Preferred Guest Program. We truly appreciate your business and are thankful that you elected to stay with us during your recent trip to Arizona.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Our associates are passionate about connecting personally with each of our guests and we are thrilled to hear we achieved this goal during your stay. We hope that you left our Resort feeling relaxed and renewed and that many lasting memories were made.

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    671
    220
    73
    60
See reviews for
582
532
74
758
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed this hotel. Traveling with my family we all found something great. For my daughter pool was great along with other activities. Spa and nearby shopping made wife happy. Golf course was top notch which made me happy. Would definitely return.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blevit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent visit. We appreciate your kind sentiments and are delighted to hear that you had a memorable time with us. We hope that you and your family enjoyed a perfect mix of relaxation and FUN and that you left the Resort feeling better than when you arrived.

Please let us know if you plan a return visit. We would love to the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Live nearby and used to come down here a lot, but stopped doing so due to chronic poor service. Probably been over a year since we'd been and the kids wanted to go back, so we relented.

Nothing has changed downstairs. This must be the single most poorly managed bar/restaurant/lounge I've ever been to - the staff wander aimlessly around, customers are left hanging and there's no-one out there lighting a fire under anyone. I'd go so far as to say that this place needs a Bar Rescue - it would not be open if it were not directly attached to the hotel. Despite such a large hotel (pseudo-captive market) and one of the most beautiful locations to sit out in the evening, this place is as often empty as it is busy. That's pretty telling.

20 minutes after sitting down, waitress sees us and takes our drinks order. 20 minutes later, those arrive. 10 minutes later we order our food (the interlude was down to asking for a kids menu, which resulted in a 10 minute wander - why so hard to locate and why didn't she bring one out with our drinks, seeing we had kids?). 45 minutes after ordering simple food and not being checked on, I snag our waitresses attention and ask about our food. She checks on it (wasn't going to - said she was, but began heading away from the kitchen until I said our kids were getting hungry, so turned around and headed back). Food comes out ~5 minutes later. Note - lounge and restaurant next door are (unsurprisingly) nearly empty.

This place a has 3 nice 9-hole courses (you play 2 of the 9 for a proper 18) and I'm sure it's a nice hotel to stay in, but their F&B management is utterly lacking. I may never attempt to eat here again, in spite of all the aesthetic appeal. If you stay in the hotel, take it from me, walk the extra 500 yards to the professionally run restaurants nearby!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DnxMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Please allow us to thank you, first and foremost, for your feedback and for taking the time to write us and share the details of what you have experienced during your evening at Dreamweavers Canyon. We take all guest communication very seriously and greatly appreciate receiving detailed comments such as yours so that management is aware, our staff is informed, and we may resolve any and all issues as soon as possible. We are very sorry for the situation you described and that is never the impression of the Resort we want anyone to leave with, especially our loyal and valued neighbors. At your earliest convenience, please send us your contact info to tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com so that we can look into this further and a manager will follow up with you directly.

On behalf of everyone at The Westin Kierland, we sincerely apologize again and do hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Obregon, Mexico
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

I just loooove this hotel, vallet guys are beyond nice. I love it because my husband is a golfer, he likes the field I love the walking distance to the shops! breakfast room service is delicious!!! and rooms are super comfy!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happymary91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review and recommendation. We are delighted to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your time with us and hope that you left our Resort feeling better than when you arrived.

We always welcome the opportunity to have you back as our guests hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, ca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We just returned from a long weekend at the Kierland where 12 of us celebrated my husband's 50th birthday. This place is fantastic! We were happy with everything about the resort. That staff is very welcoming and accomodating , the rooms were beautiful ( love that Westin heavenly bed), and the grounds are spectacular. Had a great time lounging at the pool and sitting outside overlooking the golf course in the evening. We ladies visited the spa while the guys played golf and were very happy with the services provided. Participated in a yoga class also, which was taught by a great teacher. Good food on site with excellent service. Highly recommend the Kierland and will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhowclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay and for choosing to spend your husband's birthday with us! Please extend our belated birthday wishes to him. It sure sounds like you had a lovely time taking advantage of everything the Resort has to offer including the spa, golf and some relaxation time by the pool. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our oasis in the desert in the near future!

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile


Beautiful resort great rooms, great pools, great lazy river, close to lots of shopping and restaurants. Staff was very courteous and professional. Be prepared to pay resort prices for everything. Restaurants on site are average and overpriced so I would seek out one of the other restaurants located close by. Golf course is beautiful and very forgiving.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank dohaywood77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide some valuable feedback from your recent stay. It sounds like you had a nice time exploring the Resort and we appreciate your comments about the courteous and professional staff. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to sunny Scottsdale in the future and if there is ever a time we can assist you in planning that perfect getaway, please do not hesitate to reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Overall, I had an incredible three days at the hotel. The good vibes started even before I got to the hotel. Their social media staff was incredibly helpful with information about he hotel and the best ways to get to and from the airport to the resort.

The facility was absolutely gorgeous. I had a fantastic Junior Suite with a patio -- yes, a real patio large enough to comfortably put a lounge chair, and a table with four chairs. I ended up getting a bunch of work done sitting at that table looking out onto the golf course and the hills.

The concierge staff was incredibly helpful in regards to finding restaurants and getting my boss and I squeezed in to one of the restaurants at which I couldn't get a reservation myself. The front desk staff was incredibly accommodating, and genuinely made it feel like they wanted to help.

The room itself was very comfortable, and the air conditioner responded very well -- which was important when it was in the high 90s. The room service crew also did a great job.

My only complaint was with two of the on-site restaurants, but I'm not going to let that change my score, because there are so many fantastic off-site restaurants that are close by. In particular, the service at Brittlebush Bar & Grill was pitiful. The restaurant was less than half full, we got the wrong meal, got charged for someone else's meal, and overall the food was ok at best.

I can't wait to go back there on a pleasure trip rather than a business trip !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RossFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Felix,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide some feedback from your recent stay. We really appreciate receiving detailed comments such as yours which assists us in our ongoing effort to provide the best possible customer service to each and every guest. We are delighted to hear about your overall positive impression of the Resort and sounds like you had a lovely morning getting some work done from your patio while taking advantage of the beautiful Scottsdale weather! On behalf of everyone at The Westin Kierland Resort, we would like to apologize for the experience you had at Brittlebush Bar & Grill and have already forwarded your comments on to the management team. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Resort in the future, when on vacation of course!

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#3 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#19 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing