We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort, Amazing Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Delta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Resort, Amazing Pool”
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Our family of four (Children 13 and 10) stayed here for three nights in August after touring the Grand Canyon. Although the hotel is a big international convention hotel the tone and attitude of the hotel and its staff is very relaxed and down to earth. the rooms are somewhat small but they are comfortable with large well appointed bathrooms. Our room had a lovely balcony from which we could watch the scottish piper every night. The best feature of the hotel is the pool compleax which features a large main pool and a large "lazy river". The pool is excellent and is well served by a wait staff that is quick with drinks and food. The kids program is top notch with activities to keep children busy all day and smores and a "dive in" movie every night. The best part of the trip was sitting in the pool at 10pm with a drink watching the movie in 90 degree heat. The food at the hotel is expensive so we ate at one of the many nearby malls and we kept a cooler in our room to store drinks and a breakfast food (many people seemed to be doing this).

  • Liked — Pool and Lazy River
  • Disliked — Lack of affordable on-site restaurants
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catsaver911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,346
    702
    229
    74
    61
See reviews for
626
558
76
784
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We started our Arizona vacation at the Grand Canyon and spent the first 4 days up north by the Canyon and Sedona. We then came down to Scottsdale for the last 4 days of our vacation! It was perfect. Our travel agent suggested the itinerary and told us to forget all about the other "suggested" hotels to stay at in Scottsdale and go straight to the Westin. He was so right! My husband, I and two kids (10 & 14) had the best time. We travel alot and this was way at the top of our hotel picks. We are just so sorry we were only there for 4 days. It is beautiful from the minute you walk in. THe rooms were very clean and if I could do my bathroom over I would do it the way they have it at the Westin. The lazy river and slide were of course a big hit with the kids, the Dream Weaver Canyon with the bag pipes at sunset was beautiful, and the staff we encountered were extremely courteous and helpful. The kids loved the crafts and games they had at the pool during the day! I really have nothing to say negative about this place and can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — How comfortable they made us feel and the open, airy feeling of hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chele29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe AZ
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Our stay at the Westin Kierland Resort was excellent. Our room and bathroom were spotless, the pool side service was excellent, and we all enjoyed the lazy river. The grounds and facilities were beautiful and plentiful. And access to the KIerland shopping area was a big plus - Bistro Zinc has become my favorite restaurant in the area. Excellent for kids and families.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank nyumoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS VEGAS
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

We arrived prior to the normal check-in time and were given our rooms at Noon. The agent checking us was very helpful letting us know about the Westin Unwind. We had resereved a cabana for one day and we choose the adult pool. She advised to change it to the pool that has the lazy river as it would be more fun for us. She said if you want to have fun that was the pool area. I agree.

We had 2 rooms and they placed us acorss from each other. The rooms was very large, had the Westin Heavly bed, a sitting area, balcony, mini-bar, seperate shower and tub. Very nice.

The pool area is perfect. The cabana came with fruit, water, chairs, tv and two chaise lounges in front of the cabana. Very good wait staff to take drink/food orders. Lazy river is great! Very relaxing day at the spa.

We ate in Nellie Cashman's Club Cafe every morning for breakfast. Also had dinner one night at Deseo. Deseo was good but be prepared to spend.

There is also a coffee place (not Starbucks) to get that extra cup of coffee if you don't get enough with the in-room coffee.

Valet is free until 11pm then you may self park. Self parking is not covered (I don't think valet is either) but it is very close.

The four nights we spend here were wonderful. Easy to un-wind and enjoy!

We are already planning another trip in October.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale, arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Just returned from an overnight stay at Westin Kierland. This is the fifth time I've stayed there, and probably the last. Had to switch rooms 3 times when I checked in due to first room with completely wet carpet, 2nd room very small, tattered with no view. We had booked the romance stay which included sparkling wine at arrival and breakfast. Had to call to remind them about the wine, which was eventually delivered. Although the rate included breakfast, we were charged for it anyway, and had to have the charges reversed. In general, very disorganized hotel. If you stay here, make sure to allow plenty of time to follow-up on promises made by the hotel.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — crappy hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank timetraveler89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Stayed here during the height of summer (117F high!). The total property is wonderful. Loved our evenings on the north patio having a glass of wine and listening to the piper. Used the gym (very good). Had to work while there and was very well accommodated by staff as I sat in the lobby at 4 am typing away on my laptop. Ate at Deseo and was very pleased with the service and the food.

I wouldn't say the room was exceptional but it was spacious, clean and the beds at Westins are quite good.

The hotel is well situated with excellent shopping and eating alternatives (Kierland Commons) walking distance.

A very good deal during the summer low season.

  • Liked — Total resort features
  • Disliked — Limited dining options in hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Maplehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

The Westin Kierland was a wonderful hotel, with almost no drawbacks. I will start with them, since there are so few. The resort is about a 30-40 minute drive from the Phoenix airport. The cost of a taxi is about $50, so if you are flying into Phoenix plan to spend $100 on transportation round trip. However, the Scottsdale airport is practically in walking distance. I wish I had known that when I booked the trip. Taxis everywhere are a must if you plan on leaving the resort.
NOW, for all the pros.
Upon arriving at the resort, we were offered water and were checked right in. The staff at the front desk was extremely pleasant, and they even credited me with Starwood points even though I had forgotten I was a member, and didn't have my number. They put us on teh Starwood floor, but I doubt there was any difference.
The rooms were large and the beds were very comfortable. There was a large flat screen TV in the room as well.
There was a nice martini bar in the lobby which we went to every night to have espresso martinis. The only thing we didn't like was the fact that they didn't make chocolate martinis, which seemed odd. We ate at the latin fusion restaurant the first night and the food was outstanding. They even gave us dessert on the house because my steak was slightly undercooked and I had to wait for them to re-cook it.
There is an ATM in the hotel, which was very helpful.
The pool was huge and the umbrellas were plentiful, which we needed since the sun was scorching. There was water provided all day long at the pool, but sometimes it was tough to get a waiter/waitress. There were a lot of kids at the pool, but there is also an adult pool right next to the main pool. We didn't go there because there was no music at that pool. The music at the main pool was nice and had a great variety.
The spa was my favorite. I went with 2 girlfriends, and we all went for facials, which were fantastic. That morning, we also went to a yoga class as well since we had access to the fitness center that day. The spa itself had lovely amenities (steam room, sauna, jacuzzi) and we left plenty of time to enjoy them. They also had acupuncture on the spa menu which we had wanted to try, but it wasn't available at the time.
Overall, the hotel was great and the staff made it even better. Across the road was the Kierland Commons which had shopping and restaurants, but we didn't get to check it out. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone with kids (there were a lot of activities going on throughout the day).

  • Liked — The spa
  • Disliked — The distance from the Phoenix airport
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank keirao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#3 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,461 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#19 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing