We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Tips for Westin Kierland Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
230 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Helpful Tips for Westin Kierland Resort”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Whether you rate this vs other hotels in general or vs other resorts, the Westin Kierland is a solid 5 star location. Although it's not my favorite of all time (Capella Pedregal in Cabo gets that vote) the Kierland is my favorite resort in Arizona so far - vs a similar themed resort at Starr Pass in Tuscon, the Kierland is hands down the winner. Here's why
1) The hotel itself is awesome - from the lobby views to the rooms to the atmosphere inside and out, it's really well done
2) the rooms are well appointed and make your stay enjoyable
3) the pool area is amazing - really large with multiple pools and a rather large lazy river for a non-amusement park. I enjoyed this immensely
4) the spa was quite nice, the locker rooms relaxing, and the treatment well done
5) some cool bars on property - especially the western themed one downstairs
6) the food at the cafes was nice
7) good meeting rooms
8) so many places to relax
9) close to lots of local eateries off property too

Overall, I would visit here again in a heartbeat!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank thehelpfuldad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa. We appreciate your positive words and will be sure to share your kudus with our associates. They will be honored to know that you have named our Resort as your favorite destination in Arizona.

We are thrilled that you had the opportunity to experience many of our Resort’s signature amenities. It sounds as though your stay was a perfect balance of fun and relaxation and we hope that you left feeling better than when you arrived.

We cannot wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,324
    694
    227
    74
    61
See reviews for
611
550
76
776
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My family stayed at the Westin Kierland for Labor Day weekend. We checked in at 2:00 and were told, with attitude, that our suite would not be ready until 4:00 pm. At 5:15 they finally provided us a key. The service was sparse and lacking at best. Multiple times we were told by staff that they were running a skeleton crew for the summer, and to be patient. We were until they shut down the pool due to inclement weather, which I understand was beyond their control. However, they proceeded to evict us from our cabana as our lunch was being delivered, and then charged us for the cabana and the meal. The Flow Rider pool is amazing. Not much else left a positive impression... Definitely recommend other local properties who don't use the summer slow down as an excuse for poor service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please allow us to thank you, first and foremost, for your feedback and for taking the time to share the details of what you experienced during your stay. We take all guest communication very seriously and greatly appreciate receiving detailed comments such as yours so that management is aware, our staff is informed, and we may resolve any and all issues as soon as possible.

We sincerely apologize for the frustrations that you encountered with staff responsiveness. It is never our intention to provide service that strays from our guest’s expectations, regardless of the number of guests. Please be assured that your email has been shared with the appropriate parties and executive management who will address the areas of concern that you have highlighted.

We would love the opportunity to further discuss the details of your experience. Please email your contact information to TripAdvisor@KierlandResort.com so that we can have a member of our management team reach out to you directly. We hope that we might have an opportunity to make this experience up to you so that you have no reservations to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from a conference at the Kierland. The facility is beautiful. I am gold with ownership and really wanted to stay here. I was not disappointed and was lucky to have a suite. The front desk was quick and efficient. The room comfortable and so big with the wonderful Heavenly Bed! Enjoyed a Reuben in the Saloon, and margarita. Went to the morning free yoga class with Lisa who was very sweet and made me feel comfortable as I am not very advanced. Wish I could have done this every morning! Had a great smoothie afterwards for breakfast and then enjoyed a facial in the Spa. Linda was wonderful, friendly and I was so relaxed and pampered! Delightful! The Spa staff was friendly and always there to help. Went to the adult pool where Adam ensured we had plenty of refreshments and food! Our meetings went well and everyone agreed it was the best venue we have had our conference at, the food and service, excellent.
The only complaint I have is with the Internet service which constantly disconnected my VPN connection. I did call there IT support, but was told it was my issue. Others complained about the disconnecting as well. The pool with lazy river was so nice, with tubes with cup holders and staff that helps you get in and hold your cocktail! LOL. Again the servers were great! iI am planning on returning to the Villas as an owner next April and cannot wait to enjoy the resort and explore the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2travel1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, thank you for being a loyal Starwood Preferred Guest and vacation owner. Earning the loyalty of a guest means the world to us and we are honored to have been your chosen destination.

It was truly our pleasure to provide you with a memorable experience at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa. Your sentiments will be shared with the employees you highlighted, as well as our other Resort associates and executive management. We strive to provide only the best service to our Resort guests and are delighted to hear that we made a lasting impression on your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We know that it is a common practice to research review sites, such as TripAdvisor, when electing where to stay when traveling and appreciate that you have recommended us to others.

We look forward to your return in April.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I attended a 4 day business conference at the Westin in Scottsdale from September 9, 2013 to September 12, 2013. The facilities were first class. The room was spacious and very clean. The food was very good and the service was excellent. I was constantly asked if there was anything I needed. I would recommend this facility to anyone.

Watch out for the taxi service from the Phoenix airport. The cab fare was over $60 one way to the resort. A limousine from the resort to the airport is only $50. I found out after I could have taken a limo to the resort for $50 as well. I also found out that another person attending the conference only paid $50 for a cab to the resort from the airport. So, you can be ripped off by a taxi in Phoenix - beware of that.

Other than the taxi scam, a great trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Jon,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you had a successful conference and hopefully you found some time to enjoy a few of our amenities despite being here for work. We are very sorry for the experience you had with your cab from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport. We do indeed have a car service on property that charges a flat fee of $55 each way to and from the airport. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again, when on vacation of course! If there is ever anything we can assist you with please do not hesitate to reach us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com.

Warm regards,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, GA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! I would return. Service was outstanding. Beautiful hotel with golf course and mountain views. Pool area is nothing special for me but if you like a calm and quiet pool to relax, you will love it. I would return here if I am back in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

While I was there I had a full body massage and a facial - both were fabulous!!!! The Fitness Center was also great. Also the Lazy River was great. The food was very good . Was there for a conference for People Who Stutter (PWS). We had been there before but this time I enjoyed it even more. National Stuttering Association conference. I surely hope we go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

From the front desk, to housekeeping and the spa all the service was exceptional. What a nice treat to be given chocolate covered strawberries and champagne from your considerate staff!
Rooms were clean, quiet and beautiful view of golf-course and mountains. So central to all that is fun in NE Scottsdale.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are elated to hear that you had an “outstanding anniversary stay.” We know how meaningful an anniversary celebration is and are honored to have hosted you on your special day. We hope that your visit left the two of you feeling relaxed and renewed.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value your feedback and appreciate the kind sentiments.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,450 reviews
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#18 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#19 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing