We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice retreat in the AZ heat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
yukon, ok
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice retreat in the AZ heat”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here for 8 days while my husband attended a conference. My favorite thing - the way the hotel lobby smelled!! I loved this hotel. Everything you need on site, a block from great shopping and a dessert bar in the lobby every night. My only issue (and a very small one) was cable/TV station selections. It was really hot out and I spent a few afternoons watching TV in the room - mostly ESPN and news channels. Food is a little pricey, but was always delicious. Service was great. LOVED the muddled drink bar and the Sunday champagne brunch. Best hotel gym I've ever used! Would recommend this resort to others and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the "mountains" which was really nice. Everyone says to get the ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay and we are so thrilled you were able to take advantage of the Resort while your husband worked. That was our signature white tea scent you enjoyed in the lobby. Isn’t it delightful? We are sorry that you felt the selection of TV channels in your guest room was limited. We offer over 40 complimentary channels, including HBO. Many of them are in spectacular high-definition. Hopefully you enjoyed the rest of your stay and we would love the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    699
    229
    74
    61
See reviews for
619
553
76
782
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Beautiful serene desert setting but service is where this resort really shines above the rest. Their attention to guests needs in detail was amazing and a rarity these days....We stayed 4 nights and wished it was 40. We enjoyed both the buffet breakfast and dinners outside as well. Food was fabulous and service even better. Don't miss the bagpiper and light show in the evenings--very relaxing and entertaining. We do travel alot and will keep Westin Kierland at the top of our list when we return. Many thanks f an exceptional stay in every way........

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sssIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Please allow us to thank you, first and foremost, for sharing the details of your recent stay and your overall positive experience with us. We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and greatly value your feedback. Your comments will be shared with our Resort associates and executive management. On behalf of The Westin Kierland, it was our pleasure to provide you with exceptional customer service. All of our associates strive to exceed expectations for all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and please reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com if there is anything we can assist you with.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Reasons I love the Westin Keirland:

1. Shuttles from resort to shopping/ dining area- you just tell your server you are finish and the driver comes to get you
2. Cameron and the excellent pool side service he provides-3 full days at the pool and lazy river, my drink hand was never empty, the veggie wraps were delish and he has superb knowledge of the area for sights to see and places to eat.
3. Golf- 27 holes of well manicured greens, even during the summer when it's over 100. Scottish bagpiper plays at dusk - get a balcony that faces the fire pit so you can enjoy.
4. Live music - Friday and Saturday nights out on the back patio from 7:30 to 10. Great place to have a glass of wine and relax.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllDayCristiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. Sounds like you had a wonderful time and was able to fully take in everything the Resort has to offer including our golf course, nightly bagpiper and live music on the weekends. We will make sure that Cameron knows how appreciative you are. All of our associates strive each day to go above and beyond for every guest. We hope to have the pleasure of having you here as our guest again soon! Please reach out to us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com if there is anything we can assist you with.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our second trip to the Westin Kierland as a family although my husband stays here often for business. We stayed last year (2012) in Apri for a baseball game, which unfortunately coincided with spring break. The resort was a zoo, families everywhere, no chairs at the pool, crowded restaurants, etc. Because we did like the hotel and the area, we gave it another try just recently. What a difference a month or two makes! We were there during the 116 degree weather, the time when most people would prefer to stay home, but we loved it. The pool was busy, but not overwhelming. We especially enjoyed floating in the lazy river with our cocktails in the late afternoon. (The inner tubes have cup holders!) They recently added the Flowrider, a simulated surf opportunity. It's not inexpensive, but my husband and daughter had fun trying it out.

There were activities for the kids each day, although the pool with its lazy river, slide, and sandy beach area offers plenty.Our daughter did a few of the activities, although often she was the only one because the hotel was so quiet. The staff was really nice.

The rooms are very clean and spacious. The Westin beds are always so comfy. Our room overlooked the golf course which is a great view. An hour before sunset, they have a bagpiper calling the golfers home, a bit of a Scottish vibe. They also did a light show on the building's exterior each night which was fun to watch.

The Kierland Commons is short five minute walk. We often go to the Commons when we are staying other places in Scottsdale. There are great shops and restaurants. Try Sushi Ra, or our favorite for Italian is North. There is another area just a bit further called the Scottsdale Quarter. More places to eat and shop with beautiful palm trees all lit at night.

We discovered Grimaldi's (great wood oven pizza) and Sol (Modern Mexican). All the restaurants have misters, so we enjoyed the outside patios even in 100 heat. There are many more choices including the chains such as Cheesecake Factory, and Tommy Bahamas. It's nice to be able to enjoy a glass or two of wine because you don't have to drive home!

There are many food outlets at the hotel, but we have only ordered room service for breakfast and lunch by the pool. Service was great at the pool, very attentive staff. We just enjoy walking over to the Commons or Quarter for dinner.

Only thing I don't like, which is an Arizona thing, is too many smokers in the outdoor areas at the hotel. We sat out to enjoy the bagpipes and a glass of wine in the evening, but were surrounded by cigar smokers. If I ruled the world, it would all be non-smoking!

We talked to several families from the surrounding area who come regulary in the summer for a "staycation". Great idea, especially since the rates are about $100 a night, about a third of the peak season rate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livealoha1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are so delighted you gave us a second chance and had a wonderful time this summer. Sounds like you were able to really take advantage of everything the Resort has to offer including our award-winning FUN program, Kierland FlowRider and close proximity to Kierland Commons and Scottsdale Quarter. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming your entire family back again soon and if there is ever anything we can assist you with, please email us at tripadvisor@kierlandresaort.com.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It is my second stay in this beautiful hotel. Good spa/pool/facility and beautiful landscape make this hotel has a great outfit, but the good services really place this resort outstanding. I personally love the Green Choice that provide people to save $5 on the food and beverage within this hotel. And I want to highlight the bed! It is really comfortable comparing to other hotels. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IriSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our room was at the end of a long maze like walk from the front desk. It was very quiet and private,but our air conditioner was not up to par with 105+ temps. They did come down right away when we reported it. We stayed at the resort for a conference. I would mention the food is expensive, but it is a resort. I highly recommend finding time at sunset to hear the bagpiper. He was spectacular, the light show that followed at dark, was fun and very professionally done. They offered shuttle service to the Commons and the another other mall close by. Close to Taliesan West, Old Town,the Art District and we were able to day trip to Sedona and Jerome from there. The staff was very friendly, professional, responsive and went out of their way to greet you and ask if you needed anything. I did not enjoy the Hershey Sweet Shop, spent the $ for the chocolate cake and it was stale on the bottom,too long a walk and too late at night to go back and report it. I would like to see a more family priced menu here along with the fine dining. would nicely round this out and make it , in my view 5 star.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget for meals, there is a nice Deli style restaurant in the Commons called Chloe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for four nights at the end of our holiday and it was great. The room was nice and clean and spacious with a balcony to sit out and enjoy the view. All the staff were excellent and welcoming. A very well run hotel in all aspects.The buffet breakfast was very good with many choices and freshly cooked eggs and omlettes. A lively atmosphere in the Rim bar and outside terrace bar that was open later in the evenings. Although it is a very large hotel, it still feels personal and the kids clubs and pool areas and adult pool make it a good option for both families and couples. The Kierland shops and restaurants just across the main street from the hotel are really convenient to either walk to or the hotel has a shuttle for guests. WE will definitely stay at this hotel again on our next visit to Phoenix..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soot30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#3 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,454 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#19 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing