We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Very Nice Resort”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Pros
Well located in a trendy area of Scottsdale, some great higher end shopping and great dinning is very close by and easily walked to.
The hotel is very high end with a golf course right at your door and a beautiful lobby with vistas out to the greens but not a luxury property IMHO. They sell pastries and decadent deserts in the lobby in the evening and a nice relaxing bar is loacted in the lobby area as well.
The pool and lazy river looked fun for the children, at night fires blaze and there are many comfortable spots to stop by and have a drink or just relax. If I had to define I would say this resort is really comfortable with very friendly staff who understand the Starwood culture.

Cons
The rooms are where they lose the excellence 5 star rating, endless hallways lead to smaller rooms at least so in my case, if you can believe it my room had 2 twin beds? The beds of course were very comfortable with very nice linens but twin beds at this standard of resort is a poor excuse no matter how comfortable they are and the reason for the small beds are the small rooms that won't hold anything larger added to that I stayed 3 nights and no housekeeping one day which of course there is no excuse for at these rates.

Would I stay here again? The answer is yes the public areas, friendly staff, activities and location win out hands down over the room issues, just set your expectations lower for the rooms and don't let them tell you no one complains about there beds, small is small at least by North American standards.....thanks

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the view you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moduline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay for a conference to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed you enjoyed the lobby and beautiful surrounding area and of course the Hershey’s Sweet Shoppe in the lobby is awfully enticing and how can anyone walk by it without stopping for a decadent dessert? Unfortunately when we are fully committed, room types are often not contracted by the particular group and are assigned based on availability at time of check-in. Sounds like you were in one of our oversized double bed rooms, but it is still the same Heavenly bed and linen collection as a king bed room. We do not have any rooms at the resort with twin beds. We are sorry housekeeping did not service your room one of the days. That is very unusual as they have several protocols in place to ensure each guest room receives the highest level of attention and your comments have been passed on to the management team. Thank you again for taking the time to provide some feedback and we hope you have the opportunity to come back and stay with us again for a vacation.
Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,325
    694
    227
    74
    61
See reviews for
611
550
76
777
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We always stay there during the summer. We love the lazy river, and the pools. They have a part everyday with the activities, like in the cruiships. They have dive in movies and sometimes the phoenix zoo will bring small animals and give a presentation. The food and drinks by the pool are a bit overpriced. Keep in mind that they have a daily resort fee. The breakfast buffet, is great. Every night, they have someone playing the bagpipes, so u can relax by the fire and enjoy the music. They have watermelon or pie contest for kids, and also u can roast marshmallows every night, they provide everything and there is no fee. They have amazing deals during the summer .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments from last summer. As you may or may not know, we will be launching our summer 2013 sales on April 1 so make sure to visit our website to take advantage and be able to come back and stay with us again this summer! Sounds like you have been able to take full advantage of all of our wonderful amenities as there truly is something for everyone in the family to take advantage of! We do have a daily $25 resort fee but it includes wifi Internet throughout the resort, local and long distance domestic phone calls from the room, access to our spa steam rooms and sauna, use of the tennis courts and equipment rental as well as 24-hour shuttle to the Kierland Commons and Scottsdale Quarter shopping and dining districts. You are correct in that we provide complimentary marshmallows for the s’mores roasting every Friday and Saturday night and it’s a great way to wind down and relax after a day full of activities. Please email us at tripadvisor@kierlandresort.com if you need any assistance on your reservations and please keep us posted on when you'll be back with us this summer. We're thrilled you come back every year and look forward to welcoming you back this summer.
Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here because they had a convention in this hotel, so my company send me to this hotel, I'll start with this:

1) If you like a hotel with it's golf field, close to luxury shopping or you have a convention in Scottsdale this would be a great option, but
2) If you are in a tourist trip and you want to stay close to Phoenix for a 2-3 day trip around the city (baseball, basketball, downtown) or as a base to visit the Botanical Gardens, museums, the Zoo and similar in my opinion this is not the best option, I'll prefer to stay in downtown.

PROS
1) Hotel: beautiful, perfect conditions
2) Staff: extremely friendly
3) Amenities: golf field, shopping (no outlets stores of course), great pool.

CONS
1) Rooms: for the price IMO the beds should be big (stay in a 2 bed room).

So my 4 rating review it's
a) because I felt more comfortable my beds at the at the Fairfield Inn (downtown Phoenix) and at the Orchards Inn (Sedona) that are by far in terms of Star Rate behind this one.
b)IMO the Value you receive by the rate you pay it's not what I should expect seems that the Scottsdales have higher prices, so more than a "problem" for this hotel is the reality of the city. If I have to choose I'll prefer to pay less in a Phoenix downtown hotel for the same star category.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback and for staying with us for a recent convention. We appreciate comments, both positive and negative, as it helps everyone involved with the day to day operations of the resort. Things are very spread out here in the Valley and we are a half hour away from the majority of the downtown Phoenix attractions but as you mentioned, we are within walking distance to two upscale shopping and dining districts as well as just a few miles from several of Scottsdale’s top attractions. We are sorry to hear that you were not as comfortable in your Heavenly Bed as you would have liked. Westin did a lot of research and normally our guests rave about the Heavenly Bed, linens and pillows. We are sorry you did not feel that way as well. We appreciate your opinion and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you will decide to visit The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa again soon.

Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was out here for a work conference. What a beautiful hotel. The gym was a little small and crowded at times but the equipment was decent and the food wasn't bad. First night, had a few drinks in the bar and the quesdia in the bar. We had breakfast and lunch provided by the hotel - both weren't bad.

Enjoyed the golf course out there and the staff was friendly. The hotel bed was comfortable and the bathroom was very clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Despite being here for a conference, it sounds like you were able to take advantage of some of our fantastic amenities. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will be able to come back and stay with us for a vacation and experience everything that The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa has to offer.
Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
217 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed here with my husband 3/6-3/12 in the pool casitas for some relaxation. The casitas were nice but we were in the end one right by the new Flow Rider so the pool view was not very good. I am not one to complain so we stayed but I think a different casita would have been a better view.

We had two bad weather days but that didn't matter with this resort. We used the spa for a couples message one afternoon which was very relaxing. I do wish they had a whirlpool / sauna room you could use together so afterwards you didn't have to separate and go on your own. Spa tip: when you are paying at the end they point out that a gratuity has been added- just know that you can change it. The shuttle service to and from the Commons and Quarters is convenient especially when we had rain and no car. They did change their policy at the Quarters since my last trip in Oct. of 2011 though. Now there is only one drop off/pickup spot. It was a little crazy when it was cold and drizzly and the driver drove right past our restaurant when we were the only people on the bus. It took awhile when we were done with dinner for the shuttle to show up every night too. Not sure if they have less shuttles or what but it was not convenient when it was only 40 degrees out and rainy to wait outside at this one bus stop. One of the perks of this resort is the shuttle service, although it is only a 4 minute walk to eat and shop at the commons and when the weather is nice it is not needed.

The pool days we had were awesome. My only complaint would be that after lunch the pool staff doesn't come around much. Now I don't think it's necessarily the staff's fault, I think they just get too busy getting orders filled. Twice we had to walk around to find our server to get our bill. They were always friendly though and the pitchers of water were a nice touch. It was plenty warm laying out in the mid 60s to mid 70s surprisingly.

All the staff were very friendly throughout the resort. We are gold starwood members and Starwood owners and were never pressured to take our update meeting. We were asked several times but not pressured. The service at the concierge/Starwood desk was much improved since my last visit. And we used several discounts throughout our stay.

We had the breakfast buffet at Monday's Cafe and it was good. We had room service twice. Once for breakfast which was perfect and once for a dinner snack that was all wrong. We did get the dinner one at no charge but it was still disappointing. Best restaurant meal and service was at Dominick's Steakhouse. PHENOMENAL!! Highly recommend this place. We also ate at Eddie V's (very good, fun bar), Brio (good food once they got the order right but bad service) and Bobby's ( good apps but dinner was so-so). We had Martinis (berry dream is delish) at Oceans before dinner one night and they had a great band that plays every Monday. It is worth a stop for sure. When the weather was nice, we spent time after dinners on the patio outside of Wiesler's and relaxed by the fire. They had heaters going and now have wood burning fire pits that are very inviting and the service was good.

Overall this is a wonderful resort and worth a visit to- so go for it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COJOWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for being valued SPG Gold members. We are so delighted you decided to come back to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa for a return trip and sounds like you were able to fully take advantage of our resort and the surrounding areas. We appreciate the feedback and your comments about our complimentary shuttle service and service at the pool will be passed on to our management teams. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope you have a chance to come and stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergas, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful grounds, rooms, and phenomenal service! Golf course looks gorgeous, we didn't golf this trip just got some sun. Everything you would want nearby the resort. Grocery store across the street. We stayed in the Villas and didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loewen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great location for a business convention. We enjoyed the golf and the staff was very accommodating with providing rental clubs, balls, etc. In addition, we were here for a convention and it was a great location for that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluedogNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Communications Team at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are delighted that despite being here for a convention, you were able to take advantage of our beautiful golf course. Hopefully, you had some time to walk around and see how much there is to do here and will come back for a vacation when you can take full advantage of all of our wonderful amenities.
Sincerely,
Communications Team
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,451 reviews
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#20 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#19 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing