We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic Resort Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel has a great location near a small outdoor mall, adjacent to a golf course, and close enough to Scottsdale that you can cab it back and forth.

My room was on the 4th floor, overlooking the golf course. The room had a very nice bathroom of standard size, a small closet and a balcony that easily fit two. The room had all the typical Westin ammenities, no surprises. There was one surprise. From my balcony I could wach/listen to the bagpiper at sunset, which lasts about 20 minutes.

The property is large, but the pool is just a short walk from the main hotel entrance. The pool is amazing! There is an adult pool and then a great pool for the kids/families. Any kid would love it. I also heard several people rave about the kids programs.

Room service was prompt, food was warm, not too overpriced and of good quality.

The mall acoss the steet had several stores and restaurants - RA sushi, a fish house, a couple of chains. There was something for everyone as well as a Starbucks and Cold Stone.

Would I stay here again? Yes, especially with family.

Room Tip: Ask to look out over the golf course if you want to enjoy the bag pipers, but ask to be to the left...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbtravel2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    640
    206
    69
    54
See reviews for
552
500
71
709
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I want to start by saying that we got an incredible deal for our stay at this resort. If I had paid a lot of money for the room I may have been more picky. We had a nice stay and were treated very well. Every person we dealt with treated up very well and were eager to please. Originally we were put in a handicap room which we really didn't like. The bathroom was not at all romantic so we asked to be moved. They were happy to move us and we ended up in a much better room for us. The rooms were comfortable and clean and nicely decorated. I think 4 stars is the perfect level to rate them. Not as plush as you would expect at a 5 star, but very nice. The pool was nice with plenty of places to sit and very relaxing. As always the heavenly bed was wonderful. I would say the bath was a bit small and shallow. Being a bath person, I wasn't too impressed by that. Loved how close it was to the Kierland mall. Super easy to walk over for dinner each night. Overall a very nice stay.

Room Tip: The handicap rooms are bigger, but you definitely lose some ambiance. If space is important you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We encourage our guests to provide feedback about their stay so that we can understand what the highlights were, and where we are able to improve. We are delighted to hear that you felt welcome at our resort, as it is our goal to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. It sounds as though you enjoyed many of the resort amenities, and enjoyed walking to the nearby shopping and dining districts. We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had a great time at hotel but its has been two weeks since I checked out and still have three separate charges totaling $1500+ dollars on my credit card. Check out date 11/5 and its 11/19. Still with pending authorizations! Not necessarily a big deal for me but my advice leave some extra wiggle room on your credit card for the pending authorizations!

I have contacted Westin and send e-mail messages to Jessica Gray. Not really helpful ...placing the blame with credit card company.

Nonetheless besides the credit card issue. Enjoyed the resort! Spent time at restaurants, spa, and pool. Have stayed in other places in Scottsdale and this property stands out a little more due to proximity to shopping!

Room Tip: if you have a room facing the pool ... the sun will heat up your entire room. pick a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Applebee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I live in Scottsdale and needed a Staycation. We chose Westin Keirland and it was the best choice for us. The rooms are immaculate and the extra amenities are over the top. The dessert bar on the lobby is irresistible. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. In a destination such as Scottsdale, with so many amazing resorts, we are delighted to hear that you chose to stay with us, and that you had such a wonderful staycation. From you photo, we can tell you definitely took advantage of one of the favorite spots, our Dreamweaver's Canyon. We are happy that you enjoyed yourselves and we will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Great views of the golf course and landscapes can be seen from most hotel rooms, if you want to take a vacation, thus is a good place to do so. I was there for a business event and found out internet access is very slow and poor quality. During breakfast, I ordered from the menu and my food was cold, so I suggest you take the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosgomezva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the resort surroundings and that you recommend others to visit. We are sorry to hear that you had some challenges with the internet, and you were not satisfied with your in-room dining order. We will be sure to share your feedback with our management teams so that we can make every effort to improve these areas for our future guests. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future - maybe for a vacation instead of business next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff, uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed in the Kierland for a business conference. I had a junior suite which was very spacious. The customer service is excellent and the general amenities were also excellent. The restaurant was very good with a good choice of food. There is a small bar which was has a great atmosphere. The gym is OK for a resort spa - felt it could be bigger with better kit but I am being a bit picky. The hotel is very large and walking to the outlying rooms will take time - bear in mind if you have difficulty walking. The golf courses at the hotel are pretty good albeit not very challenging - big wide fairways!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank wilko51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was just there for a conference and stayed 8 nights. The property is gorgeous - beautiful pool, great gym facility, nice decor. The room itself was pretty standard sized, and was very "cushy" - very welcoming and homey. It was a bit smaller than I expected (have stayed at the Princess in Scottsdale as well and those rooms are GIANT!!), but as a single person the size was fine. My room didn't have a tub, but the shower was great. I ordered room service a few times and it was fairly quick and tasted delicious. The only reason they got a 4 rather than 5 from me was because a few times I requested some minor housekeeping things and it took forever to get them. Otherwise, no complaints - everyone was very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: The room layout is a bit of a "maze" - if you don't mind hearing elevator noises and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissGypsy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We appreciate hearing your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. We hope that you had a successful conference and we are glad that you were able to enjoy some of our resort amenities while here on business. We are sorry for the minor challenges with the housekeeping amenities, but we appreciate you sharing so that we can do our best to correct this in the future. We strive to offer the best customer service possible, and we are glad that you felt that our associates were friendly and welcoming. We certainly hope that you will visit The Westin Kierland again in the future, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#3 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,294 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#19 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing