We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“great hotel but pending authorizations will stay on credit card for up to 2 weeks!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great hotel but pending authorizations will stay on credit card for up to 2 weeks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had a great time at hotel but its has been two weeks since I checked out and still have three separate charges totaling $1500+ dollars on my credit card. Check out date 11/5 and its 11/19. Still with pending authorizations! Not necessarily a big deal for me but my advice leave some extra wiggle room on your credit card for the pending authorizations!

I have contacted Westin and send e-mail messages to Jessica Gray. Not really helpful ...placing the blame with credit card company.

Nonetheless besides the credit card issue. Enjoyed the resort! Spent time at restaurants, spa, and pool. Have stayed in other places in Scottsdale and this property stands out a little more due to proximity to shopping!

Room Tip: if you have a room facing the pool ... the sun will heat up your entire room. pick a room facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Applebee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,210
    640
    206
    69
    54
See reviews for
551
501
71
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I live in Scottsdale and needed a Staycation. We chose Westin Keirland and it was the best choice for us. The rooms are immaculate and the extra amenities are over the top. The dessert bar on the lobby is irresistible. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. In a destination such as Scottsdale, with so many amazing resorts, we are delighted to hear that you chose to stay with us, and that you had such a wonderful staycation. From you photo, we can tell you definitely took advantage of one of the favorite spots, our Dreamweaver's Canyon. We are happy that you enjoyed yourselves and we will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Great views of the golf course and landscapes can be seen from most hotel rooms, if you want to take a vacation, thus is a good place to do so. I was there for a business event and found out internet access is very slow and poor quality. During breakfast, I ordered from the menu and my food was cold, so I suggest you take the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosgomezva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the resort surroundings and that you recommend others to visit. We are sorry to hear that you had some challenges with the internet, and you were not satisfied with your in-room dining order. We will be sure to share your feedback with our management teams so that we can make every effort to improve these areas for our future guests. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and hope to welcome you back again in the future - maybe for a vacation instead of business next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff, uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed in the Kierland for a business conference. I had a junior suite which was very spacious. The customer service is excellent and the general amenities were also excellent. The restaurant was very good with a good choice of food. There is a small bar which was has a great atmosphere. The gym is OK for a resort spa - felt it could be bigger with better kit but I am being a bit picky. The hotel is very large and walking to the outlying rooms will take time - bear in mind if you have difficulty walking. The golf courses at the hotel are pretty good albeit not very challenging - big wide fairways!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank wilko51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was just there for a conference and stayed 8 nights. The property is gorgeous - beautiful pool, great gym facility, nice decor. The room itself was pretty standard sized, and was very "cushy" - very welcoming and homey. It was a bit smaller than I expected (have stayed at the Princess in Scottsdale as well and those rooms are GIANT!!), but as a single person the size was fine. My room didn't have a tub, but the shower was great. I ordered room service a few times and it was fairly quick and tasted delicious. The only reason they got a 4 rather than 5 from me was because a few times I requested some minor housekeeping things and it took forever to get them. Otherwise, no complaints - everyone was very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: The room layout is a bit of a "maze" - if you don't mind hearing elevator noises and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissGypsy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We appreciate hearing your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. We hope that you had a successful conference and we are glad that you were able to enjoy some of our resort amenities while here on business. We are sorry for the minor challenges with the housekeeping amenities, but we appreciate you sharing so that we can do our best to correct this in the future. We strive to offer the best customer service possible, and we are glad that you felt that our associates were friendly and welcoming. We certainly hope that you will visit The Westin Kierland again in the future, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Spent a couple of fabulous days at this Westin, where the food and staff were wonderful.All members of the staff went out of their way to be helpful. Would highly recommend a visit when you are in the area or even a little out of your way.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timvoight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
331 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I can't imagine a better large conference resort, generally.
Great layout with lots of meeting space (for 1200+) and other small meeting rooms. Good outdoor space to schmooze as well.
Pool & lazy river looked great, though I never made it there. Golf course is supposed to be great, though pricey.
Rooms are large & clean, with soft 'heavenly' beds & tons of pillows. I slept very well. Wifi is not free in rooms but was in the areas for the conference.
Bathrooms are big with soaking tubs and showers with 2 nozzles, which rocked.
Breakfast buffet was good though $22.
There's also a lovely outdoor shopping mall w/ good restaurants across the street.
Not sure its my prime destination outside of a conference, but for a conference hotel, its hard to beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. As a top contributer with over 137 reviews, you have a lot of hotels and resorts to compare us to. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great stay during your conference, and that you rated us so highly in so many categories. We strive to provide the best service and accommodations for our guests, whether on vacation or here for business. It sounds as though we suited your group well, and we thank you for taking the time to share some of your highlights with us. We hope that you will return to The Westin Kierland so that you have the opportunity to enjoy more of what the resort has to offer, including our pools and lazy river or a game of golf. Thank you for being a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#3 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#19 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing