We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff, uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed in the Kierland for a business conference. I had a junior suite which was very spacious. The customer service is excellent and the general amenities were also excellent. The restaurant was very good with a good choice of food. There is a small bar which was has a great atmosphere. The gym is OK for a resort spa - felt it could be bigger with better kit but I am being a bit picky. The hotel is very large and walking to the outlying rooms will take time - bear in mind if you have difficulty walking. The golf courses at the hotel are pretty good albeit not very challenging - big wide fairways!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank wilko51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    640
    206
    69
    54
See reviews for
551
500
71
710
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was just there for a conference and stayed 8 nights. The property is gorgeous - beautiful pool, great gym facility, nice decor. The room itself was pretty standard sized, and was very "cushy" - very welcoming and homey. It was a bit smaller than I expected (have stayed at the Princess in Scottsdale as well and those rooms are GIANT!!), but as a single person the size was fine. My room didn't have a tub, but the shower was great. I ordered room service a few times and it was fairly quick and tasted delicious. The only reason they got a 4 rather than 5 from me was because a few times I requested some minor housekeeping things and it took forever to get them. Otherwise, no complaints - everyone was very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: The room layout is a bit of a "maze" - if you don't mind hearing elevator noises and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissGypsy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We appreciate hearing your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had such a great experience. We hope that you had a successful conference and we are glad that you were able to enjoy some of our resort amenities while here on business. We are sorry for the minor challenges with the housekeeping amenities, but we appreciate you sharing so that we can do our best to correct this in the future. We strive to offer the best customer service possible, and we are glad that you felt that our associates were friendly and welcoming. We certainly hope that you will visit The Westin Kierland again in the future, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Spent a couple of fabulous days at this Westin, where the food and staff were wonderful.All members of the staff went out of their way to be helpful. Would highly recommend a visit when you are in the area or even a little out of your way.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timvoight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
331 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I can't imagine a better large conference resort, generally.
Great layout with lots of meeting space (for 1200+) and other small meeting rooms. Good outdoor space to schmooze as well.
Pool & lazy river looked great, though I never made it there. Golf course is supposed to be great, though pricey.
Rooms are large & clean, with soft 'heavenly' beds & tons of pillows. I slept very well. Wifi is not free in rooms but was in the areas for the conference.
Bathrooms are big with soaking tubs and showers with 2 nozzles, which rocked.
Breakfast buffet was good though $22.
There's also a lovely outdoor shopping mall w/ good restaurants across the street.
Not sure its my prime destination outside of a conference, but for a conference hotel, its hard to beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. As a top contributer with over 137 reviews, you have a lot of hotels and resorts to compare us to. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great stay during your conference, and that you rated us so highly in so many categories. We strive to provide the best service and accommodations for our guests, whether on vacation or here for business. It sounds as though we suited your group well, and we thank you for taking the time to share some of your highlights with us. We hope that you will return to The Westin Kierland so that you have the opportunity to enjoy more of what the resort has to offer, including our pools and lazy river or a game of golf. Thank you for being a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I recently stayed at The Westin Kierland as part of a 3 day conference that was at the hotel. It was a lovely place to stay - friendly staff, spacious room, beautiful view of the golf course and overall a great experience. I decided not to get my room serviced and they gave me a $5 voucher for f&b - which I used on having a coffee at their cute little cafe, unexpected and very nice. Also the hotel was very close to the shops in Scotsdale so good for some post-conference retail therapy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I really enjoyed this resort. The beds are comfortable and the layout of the hotel is compact in a way that it's easy to get around. The balcony in my room was fantastic. The pool area is gorgeous and includes a water slide, lazy river and flow rider. Golf is just a few steps away and if your lucky enough (or you pay for it), you'll get a room with a view of the course. The food at the hotel was very good, although there weren't a lot of options on the menu. I really enjoyed the outside seating area.

The only downside of this hotel is that I didn't feel like I was in Arizona. The resort could be located anywhere. I don't think I saw one Saguaro cactus, but there were plenty of palm trees. You need to be on one of the upper levels to even see a view of the mountains.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pilarkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. We appreciate hearing about your Kierland experience. We hope that you had the opportunity to enjoy the pools, lazy river and our brand new FlowRider, even though you were traveling on business. We are disappointed to hear that you felt our resort lacked an "Arizona" feeling, as we pride ourselves in treasuring the essence of arizona with the materials used to build the resort, the art that is displayed throughout the hallways that tells the story, and the significance of every name given to our meeting spaces and dining venues. We are sorry to hear that you missed out on learning some of the Arizona history shared through our property. However, we are delighted to hear of your satisfaction with our amenities, property layout, and views. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a nice, clean room with a flat screen, a tub and a shower, refrigerator and a great view overlooking the bar/outdoor dining/fire pit/golf course/lake. The resort has a bagpiper who plays every night @ 5-great if you like bagpipes. They had multiple sitting areas with fireplaces, fire pots and the major fire pit which were perfect for the cool nights. Maybe it was the wind direction when we were there, but if we opened the sliding door to go out onto the balcony in the evening, the smell /smoke of the fire pit came into the room. Not so great-we keep the sliding door closed and did not sit out on the balcony in the evenings. If you play golf, the course was right outside. Typical of resort courses, the fairways sloped towards the center to keep the duffer's balls on the fairway and out of the rough. The pool area was very nice with great poolside service and there was a separate kiddies pool. Perfect if you are trying to escape your our and don't want to spoil your adult time with kids. The spa and work out facilities were first class.
One big gripe. When paying $270+$35 (tax) a night, why do I have to pay another $20/day for internet? Every motel for under $100/night has it for free.

Room Tip: best views are of the golf course and lake not of the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate hearing your detailed feedback. It is great to know that you enjoyed your overall experience, including the resort surroundings and our Bagpipes at Sunset series. We are sorry to hear that the direction of the wind impaired you from enjoying your balcony in the evenings, but it sounds as though you took advantage of our Dreamweaver's Canyon fire pit instead set to the backdrop of the golf course. Thank you for sharing your photos of your guest room views. We will be sure to share all of your feedback with our management teams so that we may work to correct the challenges you experienced for our future guests, and hopefully you as well on a return visit to The Westin Kierland. Thank you again for taking the time to share your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#3 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#4 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#19 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing