We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place with or without kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place with or without kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We just spent 5 nights at the Westin Kierland, had a great time and hope to return some day. The entire experience was wonderful with friendly service (especially Will and Maria in reception), lovely rooms and grounds, and a variety of activities. We had attractive connecting rooms (perfect with teenagers) with exceptionally comfortable beds. Our views over the golf course and patio/ fire pit were beautiful.

We spent time at both pools - the family pool and lazy river with our kids, and the adult pool when we wanted a quieter, more serene setting. We also enjoyed the spa, fitness center, tennis and yogalates class (terrific instructor Michele). Our teenagers spent some time at OK Corral shooting hoops, playing ping pong and making smores - though most organized activities are geared toward kids under 12. In the evening, we enjoyed listening to the bagpiper while relaxing by the big firepit. It was a beautiful setting.

We liked the location of the hotel, close to nice shopping, restaurants, amusements, etc. The hotel shuttle is convenient if you don't have a car.

I was concerned the resort might feel large and crowded since we were there over spring break and Easter weekend. This was not the case. It didn't feel too big for us (being close to main elevators helps) and we had a very relaxing stay. I would recommend getting to the family pool at 9am for chairs during peak weeks/ weekends.

Customer service was excellent in general as people were very friendly and helpful, not stuffy or pushy. There was only one person we encountered who was not especially friendly (reception desk).

I have stayed at other area hotels for business and pleasure (Phoenician, Boulders, Fairmont Princess) and would recommend the Westin Kierland for a lovely resort and enjoyable experience at a better value than the 5 star hotels.

Room Tip: We prefer the higher floor with golf course views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CStock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
Thank you veyr much for sharing so much great feedback. We are so very pleased you had a wonderful time during your stay with us. We really appreciate you sharing such great detail of your experience with us for others to read and enjoy.

Please come back and stay with us again. You're always welcome and we look forward to having you back as a special guest of our Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    672
    221
    73
    60
See reviews for
583
532
74
759
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

I have been hot and cold on westin lately but this is a nice property! great for kids though we didn't bring ours and if you dont want to be run over by kids there is an adult pool (much appreciated). Spotless nicely appointed rooms and great views of the golf course. Only conwould be the lobby bar to be open a little later. Kudo's to the hotel for giving us a room to change in way after checkout so we could shower off before going to the airport, a very nice touch!! Car valets were very nice and breakfast downstairs was good! overall, a nice place to stay in scottsdale.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bufind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
We're thrilled you had a good time with us and were able to utilize some of our best amenities and experience some of our service standards. We'll share your feedback with the rest of management regarding the lobby bar hours. Thank you for providing us invaluable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed with the 4 kids over spring break. There were many activities for the kids as well as the adults. The rooms were very clean. The only real complaints were the charge for Internet (even with SPG program) and the surprising number of pets including one that barked regularly.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeN_Omaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for providing your feedback. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. We are a pet-friendly resort, but do work hard to ensure it's not a disturbance for our guests. We always appreciate hearing about any challenges our guests have at the time so we are allowed the opportunity to address the problem and find a solution immediately.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your feedback of our property. We've shared the information with our team and value it a great deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

Just an OK hotel. Was probably nicer when new, but really needs an update to compete with other hotel/resort complexes in Scottsdale.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randomvector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed here in June 2010 with our 3 kids aged: 7,8 and 9.

Despite going on several trips since, at great places, the kids have been talking about this hotel non-stop! "Ya, this place is nice, but nothing tops that hotel in Phoenix." They had the best time ever! And so did we!

It is a very luxurious 5 star resort. The lanscaping and golf course are top notch and gorgeous to look at. (We don't golf but didn't mind this course as a view.) Beautiful cactii etc.

But it was the lazy river that did it for our kids and us. Most of our time was spent in it! The kids had a blast and we relaxed. It was amazing! We would sometimes see cute little lizards scamper by on the ground next to us as we floated by. Very cool!

The pool was so great too. It was 100+ degrees when we were there (which was wonderful and new to us coming from a ton of cold rain!) The pool has lovely gradual entry points where you lay your towel right in the water and sunbathe. They also have reclining chairs in sand.

They had tons of fun for the kids. A fun scavenger hunt type activity where they collect interesting buttons. My kids loved this! The Phoenix Zoo also pays a visit once a week or so bringing exotic creatures for the kids to see and touch. They really loved that too! And a movie night by the pool on a large screen. It was soooo warm at night and wonderful. The dry heat was so fabulous and welcoming for us.

Only negative: the food was very very expensive- holy moly! But it was soooo delicious. Amazing chefs there but be prepared to pay a lot for 3 meals a day (especially if with growing kids.)

Other than that, this place had it all and as mentioned before, the kids have been begging us to go again and we will!

P.S. Tip: Prices really go down from June -end of August because most people find it way too hot to come to Phoenix! The hotel was pretty empty. But we loved the heat because we come from a cold place and it didn't seem too hot to us at all. I guess because we were in the water all the time too. Anyhow, 2 thumbs for sure!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovethesun68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, FUN Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your family vacation! It is so nice to hear all that you experienced and your favorite memories from your stay at The Westin Kierland, and we hope that you will return again in the future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

My husband and I were at the Kierland for a night recently, as I was on business in the local area. I have stayed at the resort three times now, and in all cases, love the room, am appalled at the service in the restaurants and lounges.

We had to wait a bit for our room, but it was so worth it! Great golf course view, nice balcony, very quiet room at the end of our floor. I could not have been happier, and my husband, who is rather unconcerned about any hotel room, even remarked that it was a great room. Spotless, quiet, great amenities, wonderful view.

We had waited in the downstairs lounge as our room was being readied. We eventually had to go up to the bar to order a drink (although others were being served table-side), and then were completely ignored from then on. Finally, a server came over and as he was gathering our long-empty glasses, said in passing, "Are you guys alright?" I said, "Uh, NO, we're not alright...would it be possible to get another drink?" The bar was busy, granted, and a lot of people were watching the Masters, so I was wondering why they seemed so surprised and overwhelmed to actually have customers. I did note that one of the cute waitresses was virtually hovering over a table of cute men, so apparently we didn't pass the cute-enough-to-be-waited-on test.

This has happened on every visit to this particular bar...very inattentive service and I always leave angry. It's a shame that poor service in the hotel nearly overrides the great location and rooms. My review would be a 5/5 if not for terrible service in the lounge.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelliB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Food & Beverage Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for your review and valuable feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve our service, and we will be sure to share your experience with the lounge manager. We hope that you stay with us again in the future so that we may make up for your past experiences with new memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

The Westin is a huge resort style hotel with everything you could need for a family holiday. Our two girls loved the huge family swimming pool, lazy river rides and water slide. Although located a good 5 miles north of downtown Scottsdale the hotel is within easy walking distance of Kierland Commons with its pedestrianised upmarket shopping and eateries, the hotel also runs a shuttle there for those who can't face the walk. There is ample free parking at the hotel.

HOWEVER - The hotel is a major venue for conferences so there are always suits pacing the corridors on mobiles which can be off putting when on vacation. The main lobby and bar areas were always very busy making it difficult to relax in the public areas. Rooms are a good size but our balcony was too small to enjoy.

This was our first visit to the USA and we were thoroughly impressed with the hotel, its level of service and Scottsdale itself. This is a well run, immaculately presented hotel that gives visitors the WOW factor. A good choice for families looking for plenty of things to see and do.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnhird2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinKierland, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your family vacation with us, while on your first visit to the United States. We hope you will visit the Westin Kierland again on future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Villas
The Westin Kierland Villas
#2 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa

Property: The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Address: 6902 East Greenway Parkway, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-8123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#19 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 732
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This inspiring retreat, located in the heart of "new" Scottsdale, will fill you with a sense of old Arizona and delight you with a fresh, modern destination. From family vacations to business meetings, weddings or just a restful getaway, discover our premier Scottsdale resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Kierland Hotel Scottsdale
Westin Kierland Resort
Westin Scottsdale
Scottsdale Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing