We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italian it ain't!”
Review of Mia Francesca - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mia Francesca
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pima / Thompson Peak Parkway DC RANCH MARKET STREET
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
380 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Italian it ain't!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spend the holidays in Scottsdale every year and the the restaurant scene continues to mystify us. We have dined at just about every one of the top 20 TripAdvisor restaurants and, with a couple of exceptions, we have yet to find anything comparable to Florida and Maine where we live the rest of the year. Scottsdale certainly does not lack for money, and most people we have met here are well traveled, but the dining scene here is for the pits. The philosophy seems to be if it is expensive it must be good. Anyway, Mia Francesca is well decorated for a chain, the service was good and the food tasty. But whoever heard of an "Italian" restaurant with no veal on the menu? Everything was chicken and pasta. "Faux Italian" comes to mind. We had Caesar Salads and Rigattoni Bolognese. The salad was just ok, a little tired, and the Bolognese wasn't Bolognese. A good wine list but very over priced as was the entire meal. No Gardner stars for this place. Try Gianfranco in Pinnacle Peak for REAL ITALIAN!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardner34285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent chain food”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Pleasant experience. Food was fine.nothing was special, but was decent. We sat outdoors which was nice.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bridgeexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good concept, nice ambience but...”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We went to one of DC Ranch's newest restaurants, Mia Francesca with some friends last night. It is attractive and the wait staff is friendly and knowledgeable. The menu offers some great choices but the food was very average. We asked our server about the gnocchi and she offered to send over a sample. The sample looked like a full order so we all got to taste it. It was very heavy and gummy, not what we would expect gnocchi to be like. So we all ordered other pasta dishes (the ravioli special, the fusilli with italian sausage and the penne bolognese). The portions are very generous but unfortunately not exceptionally tasty.

We were glad we tried it but none of have any desire to return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xadgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
454 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Located in DC Ranch, this is the real Italian deal. Go out on a limb to try the Scooter beverage creation; the mix-master pulls together the amazing ingredients into a balanced blend. Interesting, varied, price-appropriate and plentiful wine by the glass. Perfect pasta entrees are quickly served. Terrific locale with exemplary service. Thankfully, not a big box menu. Fish choices available. A few Mia F's scatted across the country but this one has a unique, cozy feel to it. Plenty of available parking behind the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twogreynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
144 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice addition to DC Ranch Marketplace”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

DC Ranch should be able to support many restaurants although most in the area have failed. Mia Francesca offers a pretty cool ambiance althouh it can be a little loaud due to the glass and high ceilings. It was less than 1/2 full on a recent visit Monday night visit. Food was good although nothing exceptional. Sevice was lacking at best especially considering the fact that they were not busy. Prices are reasonable. Kids menu was basic (pizza, chicken or pasta) but inexpensive ($6.99) and included a drink and gelato.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mia Francesca also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing