We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff and Layout”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southern California
Level Contributor
674 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Nice Staff and Layout”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I found this hotel to be very nice and some of the newer touches in the hotel were great. The shower is very large and has great pressure. The room was good sized and I never felt boxed in. The sound isulation was pretty good, as I only heard people from time to time (but I am a very heavy sleeper) The furniture and carpeting are all new, and it was nice to have a seperate area just for the refrigerator and microwave. I did find the placement of the coffee maker in the closet to be odd, and I wished they had a safe, other then that it would be a location I would return to. Having said all that, I would like to say that this location is in an odd location (meaning far away from things) It is close to the freeway so that is nice, but there really isnt anything around the hotel if you didnt have a car. There is a Walmart down the street but it is a block and a half way. The staff is the superstars at this location and they are strict on people making excessive noise in the hotel (which I appreciated) and they make you feel like a VIP.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heumanntouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa G, Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
How pleased we are to know that our team made you feel like a VIP throughout your stay. Thank you for letting others know about our hotel as we are proud to be a part of the Marriott Brand of hotels. Like you, we value a relaxing and quiet environment! With a mix of guests from leisure to business, we know everyone is here to get a good night’s sleep. During the day there is nothing better than relaxing on the patio with great views of the mountains with a Starbucks beverage which are available at our Bistro. Our guests like the quiet of the desert and with easy access to the freeway allowing guests to get to most places within a 20 minute window. For short trips including the fabulous downtown Scottsdale, we provide shuttle service to enable guests to take advantage of unique restaurants, shopping and activities. That way our guests are not stranded at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    54
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
56
19
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Super Clean, new and comfortable beds. Staff was very helpful to provide takeout menus. Having a bar/starbucks available in hotel a plus. They offered van service is needing nearby items. ( Walmart close by) Showers are large. Microwave and mini fridge in the room

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Folkgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa G, Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We enjoy getting reviews like yours as it helps us learn what is important to our guests. Like you, we love our location which is close to shopping with easy access to the freeways connecting us to our Greater Phoenix Valley of the Sun. While our van does provide service to nearby places, many guests prefer to stay in and take advantage of our creative Bistro dishes plus Starbucks on our patio that offers great views of the McDowell Mountains. When another business trip brings you back to our neighborhood, we hope to be able to thank you personally for the great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This property is very new and quite comfortable. The room is about the same size as a standard Marriott, but things like toiletries are a step down. (You can tell already that I generally stay at Marriotts or equivalent.). The bathroom is nice-sized with a walk-in shower with very good water pressure and heat. There's no bath tub. The pool area is very nice and the heated pool is a plus. I didn't eat at the Bistro, but others at our conference said the food was good. The conference facilities seemed nice and the staff was generally very helpful. A couple of caveats: the wake-up call didn't work for me and another guest told me his was 40 minutes late. Sleep was slightly impacted by the noise of the fridge recycling and the ac cutting on. Also I was on the fourth (and top) floor, and the elevator was about the slowest I've ever experienced in North America. I was told this was for "green" reasons, but still!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms look out on highway 101. Ask for a room looking out over the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prhnjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa G, Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We do appreciate your comments as a valued Marriott guest. Our Courtyard is one of the newer ones in the Marriott family of hotels. Our location and setting make it convenient for getting around the valley with the freeway access nearby. In addition, the setting in the desert with the views of the McDowelll Mountains makes a perfect place to relax and watch the sunsets! Thanks for letting others know you enjoyed your conference setting. Our Bistro and Starbucks beverages are a hit with our guests as they like the convenience of having it all right on property. Your heads up on the delayed wake up call has put our team into action to insure others do not experience it too. We take your comments to heart and trust you will return with your group for a future conference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Salt River Courtyard is very new, modern, clean and comfortable. The Scottsdale location is relatively off the beaten path with respect to privacy and traffic, yet close to Old Town and and quick freeway access. The most surprising part of the hotel is the great pool area. It's large and accomodating...plenty of room to stretch out on a lounge chair. The staff is friendly and helpful. Highly recommended in my book.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comowell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa G, Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Your comments make us proud of our team and the commitment they have to delivering great customer service to all of our guests. Thank you for letting others know about your visit with us. We are pleased to be close to the beautiful downtown Scottsdale area with all the great restaurants and activities both day and night. There is so much for our guests to enjoy right on property with the enticing pool and patio, the lounge and Bistro featuring delicious and creative meals and beverages, including Starbucks! Our patio looks out at the western sky with stunning sunsets! Yes, we are proud to be right where we are and ready to welcome guests from all over the globe for a conference on site or a vacation get-away. Or even a mixture of both! Please visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Nice , clean ,new (2012) Marriott. The rooms are a bit small but are clean, newer and friendly staff. My only complaint would be the towels are thin and stiff. Otherwise nice location close to the 101.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djcusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa G, Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
How pleased we are to learn you enjoyed our hotel and found the staff to be friendly too! Yes, we are located close to the freeway system that connects our guests to all of the greater Phoenix Valley of the Sun. There are so many sports venues, entertainment and great restaurants to enjoy. We all appreciate the views of the mountains from the rooms and the patio, especially at sunset. Thanks for letting us know our towels did not meet your expectations. We are reviewing the laundry process to determine the best correction for the towels. Please visit again when you return to Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. It was very clean, extremely friendly staff, pool area was awesome, was able to take advantage of their shuttle service to do some shopping and dining out. The hotel is within walking distance of WalMart (through neighboring parking lot and across main road) but store does not sell beer/wine.

The room was very large and comfortable. We were on the first floor pretty close to check in area but never heard any noises; peaceful nights' sleep. The only trouble with the location is that it's not in walking distance to restaurants; Starbucks is on site but I'm not a fan of the coffee or the food. We grabbed a dinner one night only because we didn't feel like taking the shuttle out. I'd suggest taking the shuttle next time. It's too bad there isn't a real restaurant with a menu to support the hotel's great review otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneSmith45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa G, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
It is great to know that you found our team to be extremely friendly as they have a passion for taking care of our guests. With our location set against beautiful views of the desert, we realize we are also isolated from the hustle and bustle of a nearby neighborhood. For guests who prefer a different style of restaurant, we provide shuttle service to and from nearby venues. Other guests take advantage of an extensive restaurant delivery eliminating the need to leave the grounds. Many guests enjoy the patio for evening dining or our comfortable indoor area with quiet spaces as well as numerous TVs for keeping up with sports and entertainment while they dine. As always we strive to deliver the best experience possible for every type of guest. We look forward to having you stay with us on another visit to the Phoenix Valley of the Sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is only a year or so old, and is so convenient to Central Scottsdale, and the 101 Freeway, so you can be in Tempe in 5 minutes. It's clean, modern, and has huge showers without tubs (what a concept!) in the rooms. You can get munchies downstairs, the staff is attentive, and parking is plentiful. There is a nice outdoor pool and spa with views of the mountains. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Freeway side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parrotthead1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melisa G, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
How great it is to know you enjoyed your stay from the location and connectivity to the area, and the great rooms and amenities. Most of all I am pleased to note you found the staff attentive. It is our intention to be helpful and informative so guests can navigate the area and enjoy the sights and scenes. One of the tools we provide is the Courtyard 'Go Board' with exceptional area information and plenty of maps, news items and general information. Couple that with Marriott standards of cleanliness and service and every guest should have a fantastic stay! I invite you to return to take advantage of our great weather and valley with lots to do all year around. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River

Property: Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River
Address: 5201 N Pima Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85250-2631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Scottsdale Salt River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing