We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience!”
Review of Distrito - CLOSED

Distrito
Price range: $12 - $60
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Indian School Rd./ Buckboard
Transit: Valley Metro bus Route 41- Indian School arriving every half hour, Scottsdale Trolley, Ollie the Trolley.
Description: Distrito is a cool celebration of the culture and cuisine of Mexico City, with a menu focused on the cuisine of what is known by locals as the "Distrito Federal.” With a premium tequila bar and lounge seating, Distrito is an exciting backdrop for Chef Garces' modern Mexican small plates.Private Parties: Distrito welcomes groups of all sizes. Festive settings, service and menus are perfect for intimate dinners with friends, special occasions and holidays, corporate meetings and staff parties.
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible experience!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I booked brunch at Distrito and could not be more disappointed. It was one of the worst service experiences we've ever had. Our waiter was incredibly entitled and rude acting. My husband ordered a drink and the waiter snapped "that's the most repulsive thing on the menu" after he acted completely offended when we requested brunch menus. By the way, this was a reservation made on open table for brunch. The food was okay, but pretty forgettable and I was shocked at the bill. We went to some other fantastic restaurants in Scottsdale and this was one of the most expensive. The margaritas were terrible.... way too sweet! We will never be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    59
    27
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awful! !!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Stay away!! Ok to bad food. The portions were so small we had to go elsewhere to fill our bellies. You know something is up when the restaurant is completely empty. The waiter tried to do his best to accommodate. Everyone could have eaten 4 to 5 times the portions served.

Helpful?
1 Thank Veryfussycritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
268 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A fun flight around "New" Mexico”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We enjoyed many of the small plates. Favorites were the fish tacos and grilled. Octopus.
The housemade chips were just so so and Guacamole, while good wasn't great. It needed something to punch it up like lime juice. Beautiful dessert...cheesecake. Fabulous selection of
Tequlia, but the Monitor I ordered was underwhelming.
We stayed at the hotel Saguro and were confused because items previewed in the room
didn't show up on the menu such as the Barbacoa. We had wonderful and nicely paced service
with staff eager to educate us about the dishes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vikitorisedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicaog, il
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“fun Lunch”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Went on a Monday for lunch. the place was empty, only one other table. The decor is very cool and the food delicious. Had the mexican ceviche that was excellent. fish and chicken tacos for entree. would like to try the dinner menu next time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank decodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced.”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were staying the the Saguaro hotel for a night, so we decided to eat at Distrito. We had not heard of this restaurant being from out of state, except that we all knew of Chef Jose Garces, so we were hoping for a nice meal. And we were not disappointed, the fish tacos were great, and the duck was delicious. We were not as happy with our drinks. We went with the exotic sounding margaritas and found them to be small and pricey and not so great. The chocolate dessert we had, tho, was terrific. So the meal ended on a good note. Overall we had a good meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDH_AustinTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Distrito also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing