We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funny! we didn't book this place but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Scottsdale Villa Mirage
Ranked #45 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Funny! we didn't book this place but...”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We got bumped here when we checked in at the Links Resort. Oddly we booked over two months prior and even had the confirmation with us but they said they were overbooked. Don't you just hate when this happens? We do too.

But what we hate even more was the phone messages to go see the consierge about our time share session. Funny, we aren't looking for a time share condo as we are on holidays. They even said they have a gift for us. The better gift would have been not bumping us to another resort.

Now that the rant is done, this place was good. Our double suite could have slept 8 people so really it was excessive (there was just the two of us). It looks a little frayed around the edges but the kitchen was in great shape and very practical for us. Our balconies faced parking lots but the pool areas are nice to relax in. The grounds themselves are very clean and the staff here were very nice. I am puzzled why they don't have a room safe? Otherwise is was an okay stay after the initial irritation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Scottsdale Villa Mirage, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are very sorry to read about your recent experience and regret that you were inconvenienced at the very start of your stay. Also we apologise if our Sales Team did not show sufficient consideration for your situation. We hope, however, that regardless this unforeseen turn you had an enjoyable stay here with us and that this experience will not deter you from booking with us again in the future. Until then we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    164
    77
    21
    14
See reviews for
129
186
17
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LaCrosse, WA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This resort is absolutely beautiful. The rooms were large: kitchen, livingroom, bathroom and bedroom. I love having two doors into the bathroom, one from the living area and one from the
bathroom. You can't beat having a washer and dryer in the unit. The swimming pool and additional hot tub and children's pool were great. Didn't use the spa but ordered from the small
restaurant. The only trouble we had was finding the resort in the dark for a late arrival.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rld70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My family and I took a much needed weekend get away and stayed at the Villa Mirage and overall had a wonderful experience! My kids really enjoyed the play ground, the pool, and the local wildlife. It was also nice to take a moment for myself in the Sauna while the kids were entertained in the activities room. The room was clean with fresh linens as to be expected. We did have one small problem with the ceiling fan being a bit squeaky but we spoke to Dawn she was very helpful and attentive to our needs and she immediately sent maintenance to our room. Generally, Villa Mirage was a great find and a diamond in the rough! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BFSword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had several day exchange. Very satisfied with our 1 bedroom unit. Roomy kitchen fully and nicely appointed. Comfortable sofa. Great most comfortable bed and bedding. The type of topper where the other person can't feel you move. Pool area was classy and people hung out reasonably. Too hot during our stay to play tennis but courts looked beautiful, would have been good for evening tennis but was still 97 degrees those days!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank offtherock165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The resort is located just east of Scottsdale road, south of 101 loop. Once you have located the property, and that takes a bit of dectective work, its convenient to many local restaurants and attractions. The accomodations are comfortable and spacious if a bit dated. The pool is refreshing on a hot day but a bit underwhelming in appearance. If there is a downside to the resort, its the continuing pressure to listen to a sales pitch for buying in to Diamond Resorts properties.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This resort has essentially the same floorplans as the Ridge in Sedona. It's a good design overall for the one bedroom units and they are reasonably spacious. Unlike our experience at the Ridge, Villa Mirage is clean and, although initially there were problems with an internet connection, they were right on top of it and had it solved quickly. The Ridge had been terrible with that and even after days wasn't able to resolve a lost connection. Alas, Diamond Resorts has the policy of charging for internet service except in the case of its best owners groups. That's simply wrong and incredibly out of date. Free internet access has increasingly become the norm in the industry and Diamond is way, way behind on this. While it can be argued that only some people use the internet and that they should pay for access, that argument gets blown out of the water when they don't charge for other amenities which only some people use (the pool or the tennis courts) and they also don't charge their owners with quite large numbers of points for the service. Tacky, tacky, tacky!

Like many timeshares, cable access is considerably more limited than most people are used to at this point.

One very important caution on room selection: there are a number of second floor units and, we understand, even some third floor units. However, there are no elevators, so you may well end up lugging your bags up a number of flights of stairs. You can, of course, request a first floor room and hope that you'll get one, but this is a significant design flaw.

Do follow the directions the resort gives to get to it. Mapquest's directions were way off base.

As best we could tell, there really weren't good, scenic views either at the resort or immediately nearby (although there is nice scenery in the Scottsdale/Phoenix area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at this Diamond resort in December 2012 to visit Phoenix and the surrounding areas. We booked a studio which was clean and well maintained. However our unit was facing to the north without a view or anything. This is caused by the poor layout of the buildings where a 1 bedroom unit and a Studio are connected with each other by a lock-off. If you book a studio there make sure it is not one of the units we had or simply upgrade to a 1 bedroom unit.
The resort itself is properly maintained and the swimming pool area is like all the other property beautifully designed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Scottsdale Villa Mirage, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your accommodations. At Scottsdale Villa Mirage, we recognize that every guest has needs that are unique to them.
While the resorts positioning prevents us from being able to offer scenic views to every guest of the resort we are happy to take into consideration any special unit requests, when notified ahead of time. Due to high occupancy rates, we cannot guarantee that requests of this type will be fulfilled at check in. Please know that whenever possible our management and front desk team members will do everything within their power to reassign your guestroom, without having to move another guest. We truly apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and we hope this has not marred your stay with us. We hope you are willing to give us a second chance and stay at our resort again. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale North/Perimeter Center
1.0 mi away
Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Scottsdale North
Courtyard Scottsdale North
#52 of 75 in Scottsdale
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Scottsdale North
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn at North Scottsdale Road
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix/Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Villa Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Villa Mirage

Property: Scottsdale Villa Mirage
Address: 7887 E Princess Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5803
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#35 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#44 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scottsdale Villa Mirage 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Vacatia, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scottsdale Villa Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Villa Mirage Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Hotel Mirage
Scottsdale Resort Mirage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing