We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfort in a convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scottsdale Villa Mirage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scottsdale Villa Mirage
Ranked #45 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfort in a convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The resort is located just east of Scottsdale road, south of 101 loop. Once you have located the property, and that takes a bit of dectective work, its convenient to many local restaurants and attractions. The accomodations are comfortable and spacious if a bit dated. The pool is refreshing on a hot day but a bit underwhelming in appearance. If there is a downside to the resort, its the continuing pressure to listen to a sales pitch for buying in to Diamond Resorts properties.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    145
    68
    19
    13
See reviews for
116
166
13
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
215 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This resort has essentially the same floorplans as the Ridge in Sedona. It's a good design overall for the one bedroom units and they are reasonably spacious. Unlike our experience at the Ridge, Villa Mirage is clean and, although initially there were problems with an internet connection, they were right on top of it and had it solved quickly. The Ridge had been terrible with that and even after days wasn't able to resolve a lost connection. Alas, Diamond Resorts has the policy of charging for internet service except in the case of its best owners groups. That's simply wrong and incredibly out of date. Free internet access has increasingly become the norm in the industry and Diamond is way, way behind on this. While it can be argued that only some people use the internet and that they should pay for access, that argument gets blown out of the water when they don't charge for other amenities which only some people use (the pool or the tennis courts) and they also don't charge their owners with quite large numbers of points for the service. Tacky, tacky, tacky!

Like many timeshares, cable access is considerably more limited than most people are used to at this point.

One very important caution on room selection: there are a number of second floor units and, we understand, even some third floor units. However, there are no elevators, so you may well end up lugging your bags up a number of flights of stairs. You can, of course, request a first floor room and hope that you'll get one, but this is a significant design flaw.

Do follow the directions the resort gives to get to it. Mapquest's directions were way off base.

As best we could tell, there really weren't good, scenic views either at the resort or immediately nearby (although there is nice scenery in the Scottsdale/Phoenix area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at this Diamond resort in December 2012 to visit Phoenix and the surrounding areas. We booked a studio which was clean and well maintained. However our unit was facing to the north without a view or anything. This is caused by the poor layout of the buildings where a 1 bedroom unit and a Studio are connected with each other by a lock-off. If you book a studio there make sure it is not one of the units we had or simply upgrade to a 1 bedroom unit.
The resort itself is properly maintained and the swimming pool area is like all the other property beautifully designed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Scottsdale Villa Mirage, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your accommodations. At Scottsdale Villa Mirage, we recognize that every guest has needs that are unique to them.
While the resorts positioning prevents us from being able to offer scenic views to every guest of the resort we are happy to take into consideration any special unit requests, when notified ahead of time. Due to high occupancy rates, we cannot guarantee that requests of this type will be fulfilled at check in. Please know that whenever possible our management and front desk team members will do everything within their power to reassign your guestroom, without having to move another guest. We truly apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and we hope this has not marred your stay with us. We hope you are willing to give us a second chance and stay at our resort again. Your business with us is sincerely appreciated and we wish you the best on all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just completed a family vacation in Scottsdale with rooms both at the Villa Mirage and the Sheraton Desert Oasis. At the last minute I decided it would be best if our youngest adult son had his own room, and since the Sheraton was booked, we decided to try out the Villa Mirage which is separated from the Sheraton by only a gate. First of all, this room was a fabulous value!!! My son had a one bedroom unit -- far more room than he really needed -- and we paid less for it than any of the rooms that we had rented at the Sheraton. The Villa Mirage is an older looking resort; its decor is definitely dated. Still, it's certainly acceptable. Best of all, though, the room was very spacious with tons of space. My son had a full kitchen, with a full size oven and fridge and lots of counter space. We even prepared one of our meals in his room simply because he had the more spacious kitchen. The pool is lovely, and while ours at the Sheraton was actually being heated (!), the pool at the Mirage was refreshingly cool. Best of all, the service at the Villa Mirage was wonderful; everyone was kind, thoughtful, and extremely helpful!!! We would definitely stay here again! And if anyone staying at the Sheraton -- like us -- happens to need a room at the last minute, the Villa Mirage is very convenient, a very short walk through the gate. My son found no difficulty at all in moving back and forth between resorts. Finally, at no time were we bothered about attending a time share demonstration. This was especially nice. In short, this is a great place to stay, particularly if you are traveling on a budget!

Room Tip: Don't settle for the studio; go for the one bedroom unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shakespearenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at this resort. We have 2 small children and they absolutely loved to play in the 1 foot kids pool and splash pad. We made sure to take them there as much as we could. Also, the staff at this resort was so friendly and welcoming that you never felt like a bother asking questions or just walking around the resort. Our balcony walked right out onto the kids playground. Our children loved to be able to just walk onto the grass and play on the slides.
My husband and I also attended the presentation offered by the resort. I was a bit nervous leaving our little ones at the play center. We usually only leave them with family, but they loved every minute there. They did not want to leave when we picked them up. They made such cute crafts that they got to take home with them. My husband and I joked that we should try out the play center more often.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 1st floor. The second and third floors offer stairs only...no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It is nice place for the family vacation. Kids enjoyed the pool, although I think it should be bigger for the number of rooms within this resort. They organize daily activities like yoga in the pool, or bingo which is nice. The big drawback is lack of free WiFi. You can purchase one per each device, but it is about $30 per week, or $7/day. They offer different activities to purchase through the hotel, but I organized everything ahead of time; even bought some Groupon for the horseback riding.
The rooms were clean and I liked the small kitchen. Overall, it was a pleasant experience

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NevaPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Scottsdale Villa Mirage, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry if our current Wi-Fi policy proved disappointing to you. Regretfully, as a timeshare resort we are currently not able to incorporate the cost for this service in the charges as this is a decision which needs to be taken by each individual HOA board. That being said, we receive a lot of feedback in regard to Wi-Fi costs and are in discussion with our Homeowner’s Association to see if this can be covered for guests in the future. We are pleased that you appear to have had an otherwise enjoyable stay and hope to see you again!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent 2 weeks in a 1 bedrm apartment this July. We arrived when it was dark and drove around for an hour trying to find it, no signs till you are on the property, not a good start. Initially our booking couldn't be found, told there wasn't one, but later found out that there were 3 couples with the same name arriving on the same day, but I'm sure they didn't all have the same first names or came from Scotland, so our apartment had been given to someone else. Anyway, the apartment was very spacious, but dated - all very beige and brown. It had a well equiped kitchen although no instructions on how anything worked, but we did work it out. Very comfortable bed!

Sadly in the day light we found that there was little natural light as the terrace faced on to the side of a building which blocked out nearly everything, so not happy with the lack of any view. Was told that all the 1 bed apartments face inwards so we were going to be disappointed anyway. Lots of calls the next day welcoming us (staff were very friendly) and invited to the consierge desk to collect our welcome pack. We usually stay in apartments in Europe and a welcome pack consists of a large bottle of water, bread, milk, butter, jam, eggs, tea & coffee and a bottle of wine already in the apartment. Here it seemed to be a small basket next to the coffee machine with a few small packet of tea, coffee, dried milk and at the desk we were given to very small botles of water - very underwhelming! Being on the ground floor was also not ideal when there was a noisy child above running up and down and jumping off furniture, a little more soundproofing would have been welcome.
We didn't use the pool but it always seemed very busy and surprised the cafe\bar closed at 7pm so you couldn't get anything to eat on site. So, not totally blown away with the place, it was a bit 'grubby', the bird droppings on our terrace wall only disappeared after a rain storm but the other stains were still there. Not quite up to the standard Diamond Resorts blurb would lead you to expect. Given a choice I don't think we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want any kind of view anything other than the ground floor might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanBJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale North/Perimeter Center
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Scottsdale North
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Scottsdale North
Courtyard Scottsdale North
#46 of 78 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn at North Scottsdale Road
1.1 mi away
Scottsdale Marriott at McDowell Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Villa Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Villa Mirage

Property: Scottsdale Villa Mirage
Address: 7887 E Princess Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255-5803
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#35 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#44 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scottsdale Villa Mirage 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Vacatia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Scottsdale Villa Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Villa Mirage Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Hotel Mirage
Scottsdale Resort Mirage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing