We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, small Pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scottsdale Villa Mirage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Scottsdale Villa Mirage to your Saves list
Scottsdale Villa Mirage
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   7887 East Princess Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 79 Hotels in Scottsdale
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Great Rooms, small Pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

We just returned from a 10 day stay at Villa Mirage. I had a conference in Scottsdale and decided not to stay at the conference hotel instead pick one with nice rooms. We discovered this place because we are knew another Sunterra resort down in Florida, which completly satisfied us during the last years. And this resport was no disapointment either.

We booked a two bedroom suite, even we were only two people. It is only some USD more, and provided so much space: full kitchen, big living area and two bathrooms. All of that is nice. The rooms are very well maintained, even though we had the feeling, the equipment is somewhat older/less high priced than in Orlando. But we felt very comfortable over our whole stay. The beds are nice and cosy, and the whole resort in an excellent condition. The appartments are organized as two story buildings, we were lucky, because we had ground floor. There are no elevators.

The personal was always very friendly and helpful when we needed them - but just to mention: we did not contact them after check-in again. But they have all what you may need during your stay, we simply don't need much in this direction. What I found somewhat annoing was that after a more than 20 h travel we had to talk to the concierge, and she wanted to interest us in a sales presentation about Sunterra. Just to mention: after such a long travel I'm not open minded for that, I simply wanted to go sleeping. But beside that she was helpful, providing excellent maps for the area and tips.

What we liked at this resort as well, was that it was easy to park our car directly outside of our appartment and even when the hotel was filled up, it was never a problem to find a good parking lot. The hotel also provides many facilities such as: BBQ places with tables, pool, spa etc.. Even though this is my only concern. We were single travellers without any kids, and we discovered that this is a family place - means: many kids and at the pool there was too less space even though this thing looks big. Running, splacing water, diving right next to where you are talking to other travellers in the pool was normal. Also the cleaningness of the water is questionable: the smell in the afternoon hours was saying all about where the restrooms had been over the day for many of the pool users. We would have wished some kind of a quite pool area, where you could simply cool down from the high temperatures without all that mess. So we never spend more than about half an hour there. This was really sad.

The location: this is great, where close to the loop of 101 and close to restaurants and malls. Easy to find, even not with the Hertz navigation system, which has a street in its mind which does not exist.

Overall this is a great place. For the pool we may consider next time a hotel either with bigger pools or more business oriented. But a great choise for families.

  • Liked — The appartments and the location are great
  • Disliked — The pool was not clean enough and too small
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DoktorCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Kansas City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

We traded into this resort through Interval Int. It is off Scotsdale Road , and difficult the first time to find, esp. at night. This is an mediocre resort with family friendly activities. The one pool is average, but fills up fast., and not many umbrellas. It does have a children's splash area, but no services, except beach towels provided. There is a small cafe and tiny gift /snack shop with limited hours, however good food reasonably priced. You will definietly need transportation b/c there is nothing around the area to walk to in the summer AZ heat. No restaurants, markets, shopping etc. for a mile or more..The decor & carpets are rather outdated, but comfortable beds and nice linens, Rooms are large,esp. studio room, kitchen average. There are NO elevators for 3 floors of steep steps & there is NO covered parking at all. In AZ summers, this can be quite difficult. Exercise room is limited and there is no spa.I would recommend asking for a 1st floor room if hauling stuff , children, etc.up stairs. Staff is friendly and there is maid service mid week, which was nice. There is NOT a golf course affiliated with this resort, or any shuttle services.So not much to do unless you have transportation. We refused the "timeshare/open house" pitch, and they did not pressure us to do so.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank brneyesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

For the most part I liked this property. I loved the rooms. They were perfect for us while we went to Spring Training Games.
There were really only 2 things I did not like. The 90 min sales presentation turned into 2 1/2 hours of very high pressure sales. Comments made when I stated I did not want to purchase were phrased in ways that were intended to make me feel stupid. The other thing I did not like was the lack of parking. Several times I had to park on the far opposite side of the resort late at night and walk across dark passageways to get to my condo. I have a handicap permit and this was a little scarey when I was alone. I had a ground floor, but I do know there were many units on 3rd floor without elevators. For some this may be a problem, and I do wish they allowed pets. I did find the service from the staff very helpful. Especially the conceirge, Autumn. When asked about a nice steak place to eat, she made reservations for us, which included flowers at the tables for the ladies, a view of the lake at night, special printed menus with our name and the date for us to take home, and the resort paid for a dessert for us. For coming to have a place to stay while attending ballgames, other than the above, this was nice.

  • Liked — very comfortable roomy accomodatins
  • Disliked — very very high pressure sales
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank midders777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

Villa Mirage is clean, well kept, friendly and efficient. Large pool and hot tubs. Good exercise room. Organized daily activities if this appeals to you - we preferred taking daily trips around the area. Sedona is a must trip as is the Cave Creek preservation area if you like to walk.

  • Liked — Relaxing, friendly, quiet, efficient & clean.
  • Disliked — No elevator. Difficult to carry bags up to third floor.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vacationer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, wa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2007

Spent a week at the sunterra villa mirage........ Definately a wonderful place to stay! Thanksgiving time seems to be the call for us to return to Arizona to visit with family. Enjoyed the easy access to the 101. Made traveling easier for all. The 2 bedroom unit that we stayed in was perfect. Large king sized beds, nice furnished unit. Pool was perfect, hot tubs were HOT. Only have 2 concerns about this resort. After I checked in, I needed to get a parking pass for my car. To get your parking pass, you needed to sign up for a tour. Now after getting up early that morning, flying to Arizona, renting a car, I just wanted to relax in out condo, didnt want the additional pressure of dealing with the tour sign up so soon. And during the tour, everyone is your friend, all buddy, buddy, but after we decided NOT to purchase, we were told "our gift is ready for you over there." Now I know its a business that they're runing there, but what a 180 our "tour guide"took.. So watch for that... But besides that.. Perfect weather, perfect condo.... will return soon!

  • Liked — Pool, hot tubs, actvities
  • Disliked — time share pressure
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scott414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

We just returned from spending Thanksgiving week at the Scottsdale Villa Mirage. The timeshare is spacious, clean and well-equipped. We had the one-bedroom side of the 2BR lock-off and my in-laws stayed on the studio side. Our unit was large enough to well accomodate our family (including two small boys).

The layout is a little better than the Sheraton property next door (we've stayed there twice) and the pool is a little better, too. The Villa Mirage pool is better for small kids, and has a large area for adults.

The location is close to lots of shopping and golf courses.

Seems like the reviews complaining about not being right on a golf course are a little unfair -- you're about a two minute drive from one and a five to ten minute drive from several others. I don't know about the resort advertising claiming one on site...?

Housekeeping comes mid-week for a refresh of towels, toss trash, etc.

The unit we were in had a washer and dryer in it, in addition to a full kitchen (stove, full size refrig, pots, pans, dishes, dishwasher, etc). There is a separate bedroom with a TV, closet, etc, and the living room also has a TV, pull-out sofa, chair, kitchen table, fireplace, etc. The bathroom has a separate shower and a large jacuzzi tub for two.

The studio side unit has a small kitchen (no stove) - microwave, refrig, etc; dishes (no pots and pans). It has a bed and a pull-out sofa in the main area of the room. Separate bath and kitchen area; small dining area. That space worked well for just my in-laws, but probably would have been tight if had four adults and expected to cook all week. Would be fine for comfortably sleeping 4 if you weren't planning on doing any significant cooking.

Overall, an excellent property. We'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jcb_sandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

The Villa Mirage is in a quiet location with 2 other hotels, although there will be further building on the scrub land surrounding the resort in the future. There is no undercover parking and so cars can get very hot. The apartments are on 3 floors with no elevator. They are well appointed with a washer/dryer as well. There is a good sized balcony. The pool area is large enough and the pool is a decent size with a waterfall at none end. Children have a pool and also a water play area. The gates are most annoying as they clang shut every time someone enters or leaves. There are no shops or restaurants within walking distance, so a car is a necessity. There is a sauna as well as a wet sauna(steam room). There is a small gift shop and a snack bar.Coffee is available in reception. The apartment is cleaned midweek as well. A good base to explore South Arizona

  • Liked — well appointed apartment
  • Disliked — gates clanging by pool
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank clemi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5.8 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#2 of 79 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale North/Perimeter Center
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Scottsdale Thunderbird Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Scottsdale Links Resort
Scottsdale Links Resort
#56 of 79 in Scottsdale
3.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Sheraton Desert Oasis
#21 of 79 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Villa Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Villa Mirage

Address: 7887 East Princess Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#36 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#44 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Scottsdale Villa Mirage 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Scottsdale Villa Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Villa Mirage Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Hotel Mirage
Scottsdale Resort Mirage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing