We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whats a find”

Tommy V's Urban Kitchen and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Tommy V's Urban Kitchen and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 1,257 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Scottsdale Rd.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Whats a find”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We went here based on the reviews on TA, and I am happy to say that we were not disappointed in the slightest. We have a dog which has not adjusted yet, so their willingness to accommodate us on the patio was such a help.

The food was superb and the service was impeccable. I had the Sea Bass special which was cooked to perfection, my fiance had the Chicken Parm, also done just right. They have an excellent selection of beers and wines to accompany the meal, and their desert menu, while short, covers all the bases.

Last, but by no means least, several of their offerings are *organic* and they even have Gluten Free options for those that require.

Overall, this is a fine example of how to do fine dining right, and cater to all walks of life. We will certainly make this a regular on our list of places to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    120
    35
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swanland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb food beautifully served”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

If you end up staying at the Hilton Garden Inn I would definitely recommend eating at this nearby restaurant. The food was really excellent - I had fish which was absolutely delicious. There was live music and the waiters were attentive and helpful. A surprise bonus for us was the owner's generosity. We had finished our meal and paid the bill and were asking the waiter where we could buy some milk for our breakfast as we hadn't seen any stores in the neighbourhood. After some discussion, he asked the owner who promptly gave us two very large cups of milk on the house! How kind.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I honestly don't know how this restaurant gets so many rave reviews. We dined at here last year and remember it as a good place to eat but not so this time. We started with house salads which were flavorful and had a nice mix of ingredients. We prefer our salads cold, not at room temperature but they were good nonetheless. I ordered the special, Chilean Sea-bass. When it arrived was presented with mashed potatoes and spinach. It looked good however it was very salty and the fish was quite thin. I've had this fish numerous times in many different restaurants and its usually nice and thick and juicy due to its high fat content. This dish was neither. The mashed potatoes were just OK, a bit bland but the cooked spinach was tasty. My wife had the spaghetti and meatballs. She said the meatballs were tasty but the sauce was too peppery. The restaurant was crowded and noisy and the service fair.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent venue”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We visited Tommy V's on a Saturday evening when the restaurant was very full and busy, giving it a great atmosphere. However, this did not detract from the attentive service we received or the quality of the food.

My husband ordered the sea bass and he said that it was the best fish dish he had ever eaten. As I have to follow a gluten free diet, I was happy to discover that the restaurant offers many GF choices, including pasta, and I was really spoilt for choice. The waiter's wine recommendation was also spot on and served deliciously chilled.

We were so impressed that we returned on the next evening when the restaurant was a lot quieter but the food and service were once again excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanE1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
553 reviews
407 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Another Home Run!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I don't leave Scottsdale without visiting Tommy V's for dinner and my most recent visit secured a return once again in October! The service is excellent and the food is superbly prepared and flavorful. My compliments to the chef...again!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jelsrtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy V's Urban Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Tommy V's Urban Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing