We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun but could pay attention to some details”
Review of Saguaro Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saguaro Scottsdale
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Durango, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fun but could pay attention to some details”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

i want to start by saying we actually generally enjoyed our stay & it's a wonderful hotel in many ways.
it is visually exciting. every view is fun. it is nicelyl designed & the staff is very sweet.
the management obviously does a great job at stressing customer service.
they are very considerate but know where to draw the line.

however there are a few things i would love to see improved. there were several loud parties that woke us a few nights. these were not only loud talk in the hallways & slamming doors but an out & out loud party with the doors to the balcony opened. after a while i finally called the front desk & they were on it as quickly as they could be & it was quiet again. this happened several nights & i didn't call until the last few nights of our stay. it should be known we paid the up-charge for the inner pool facing room + specifically requested a quiet room at booking & check-in. the other problem, altho this facility is suppose to be non-smoking, people lit up at the pool, hot tub, in the hot tub, on the balconies & in the room below us. it literally drove us out of the room. this isn't necessarily the hotel's fault but perhaps some signage would help? i mentioned it to the front desk when checking out & they did make a small compensation however i am allergic to smoke & this sort of thing really impacts my stay. we also have a young child.
there are minor maintenance details that could be attended but it's such a cute space this was not too important to me.

back to the positive, the saguaro is very kid friendly, safe & dog friendly without being problematic. the beds are comfortable. there are a number of fun little details in the room such as vintage postcards & western novels.

the power went out in all of scottsdale the last day we were there & the hotel handled it well. of course, saguaro had no control over this & the manager himself helped my husband load our bags.
i want to express again our gratitude for the kindness of the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mama_x888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hello Mama_x888,

Thank you for your recent review on your stay with us in Scottsdale.

Our team strives to make each and every guest have a memorable and welcoming stay. We appreciate your gratitude towards them! But, I do apologize for the loud guests that kept you awake. Always let us know so we can try our best to handle the situation.

We hope you visit us again when you are in Scottsdale. You might want to get away from the Colorado snow soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    261
    159
    76
    44
See reviews for
113
302
59
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had such a great time at The Saguaro that we couldn't leave. We checked out and ventured elsewhere for a few hours and decided to come back for another night. Everything was wonderful and now we're just trying to figure out how we can live there. Everyone on the staff was lovely and fun, the rooms were great, the complimentary infused water was delicious, the local art on displaywas great, and the location was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi Amanoil,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

We would love to have you live here; we could be neighbors! But, I do have to say, you will get hooked on that water and will never want to leave. :-)

I will be sure to pass along your compliments to the team. When will we see you again; soon we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The Saguaro is a very good hotel in a great location! The rooms are small so, if you book a Stetson with a king size bed, ask for a room that does not adjoin another room so you get as much space as possible. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable.
But it is the location that sells this hotel. It is next to the City Center, Old Town and a few blocks away from Scottsdale Stadium. The staff is focused on the customer experience.
There is no cell reception in the rooms which was problematic for us. We were in Scottsdale for a family celebration and without cell reception coordinating flights, people, and events was difficult and stressful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hello Diana!

Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us in Scottsdale, it was a pleasure having you here.

I am going to have to agree with you that we are in a great location; within walking distance to almost everything! It is the perfect place to go if you plan on going to a Spring Training game, shopping, a night out, or even a short staycation.

We hope to see you and your family again the next time you visit Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Cute hotel. Great walking location. Exuberant staff. Especially Clint, Anthony, Michael, Ricardo and Marcin at the door. Came for our 16th wedding anniversary. Art walk was spectacular. We were surprised by the museum quality of art for sale. We are coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adellshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Adellshay!

Happy Anniversary!

Thank you for your wonderful review and your delightful comments about our team! I will be sure to pass them along. I am happy to read you enjoyed all of the art that is up. We are hoping to do some more art events here, so keep an eye out on our Facebook page!

We hope to see you sooner than later! Maybe Spring Training?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Saguaro for a wedding in November 2013. The staff was welcoming and friendly.The rooms were clean but very dark. One had no desire to spend extra time in the room.The resort property was lovely and well maintained.it was a great location for a wedding!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello Mary Ann S!

Thank you for taking some time out to write a review about your recent stay with us.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed our property. Our team works very hard in keeping it well maintained and clean. Defiantly a perfect place for a wedding ceremony!

We hope you come back and visit us in Scottsdale, maybe even on just a nice getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had arrived a bit jaded from an eight-hour drive from Bryce Canyon but the sight of the Saguaro and its fantastic staff soon banished that.

Customer service here is top notch, they simply can't do enough for you from free valet parking, portering, concierge and reception services. Apparently we looked a little warm around the wonderful pool and hot tub area and soon found a jugful of ice at our elbows brought by the thoughtful Zeke. There are three pools and in case we were bored staff also brought out giant poolside games to play.

The rooms are large, modern, decorated in bright cheerful colours that follow through in the main hotel. We even had a garden area.

Eating out in Scottsdale is reasonable and breakfast at the hotel good. We weren't flying out of Phoenix until 7pm and the hotel reception readily agreed to us keeping our room on a bit later. The staff even looked up and printed out directions to get our rental car back to the airport. You can also print your boarding cards out easily in the business centre.

The staff really make this hotel and deserve the plaudits they are getting in reviews. The hotel is easy to find and right in the heart of Scottsdale's shops and museums area. We really wished we had booked more than one night here and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HfamilyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hello HfamilyYork!

We pride ourselves on the wonderful team we have on board. It is no surprise that you received the delightful customer service that you experienced. But, we never get tired of hearing about it! Thank you for writing about your recent stay and the wonderful compliments about our property and our team.

We hope to see you again soon and longer than one night this time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the property because it was within walking distance to the start line of a half marathon we were running the next morning. The room was a decent size overlooking the pool. Having two bathrooms which were separated was a great feature. From check in to check out all staff we encountered were wonderful, including the pool staff and spa staff. We spent time by the pool on Sunday after our race and enjoyed it very much. Zeke, our pool server, was awesome!! We enjoyed the property so much, we will definitely be back. Fun spot and a great location and walking distance to restaurants, lounges, etc.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pool got a little noisy late night when guests were out there chatting, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan K, Manager at Saguaro Scottsdale, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi Robyn R,

Thank you for your review!

I am glad you at least got to enjoy the pool while you were here! I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Zeke, it is much appreciated.

Our location in Old Town Scottsdale is one of our best assets; Right in the middle of all sorts of restaurants, bars, nightclubs, and shopping.

We do hope to see you again, maybe another visit to the pool soon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,624 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
#49 of 75 in Scottsdale
927 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saguaro Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saguaro Scottsdale

Property: Saguaro Scottsdale
Address: 4000 North Drinkwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly The Saguaro, a Joie de Vivre Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saguaro Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottsdale is the place to go for art, shopping and nightlife in the Valley of the Sun. Now there's a hotel creating even more desire around the desert experience. The Saguaro has arrived, bringing with it a new look to where Old Town, the Arts district and Civic Center Mall meet. Bright, lush and vibrant, it's a fresh face amid Scottsdale's buzzing downtown scene. Guestrooms & Suites: The Saguaro experience begins, fittingly enough, outside amid the arid weather and brilliant sunlight of the Sonoran Desert. Each room exterior is accented by the color of a native desert flower, creating a visual spectrum throughout the resort grounds. Inside, your room's primary color is joined by contemporary and natural furnishings in wood and leather, including hand-crafted pieces imported from Mexico. Services & Amenities: A stay here is about relaxation, nature and yes, our two famous pools. Both are easy walks from every room, heated and ringed by cabanas. The Saguaro Spa welcomes you to de-stress even further. When it's time to recharge, the comprehensive fitness center will get you looking your best for around the poolside bar. Guestroom Amenities• All rooms renovated October 2016• Flat screen, wall mounted 42" HDTVs• Authentic, traditional Mexican furniture • Views of Old Town and Civic Center park (select rooms)• Outdoor patios or step out balconies • Soaking tubs and separate shower (suites)• Work desks• Wireless Internet• Stereo with iPod docking station• On-demand movies and music. Meetings: It's the weather. The golf courses: The deals closed over cocktails by the pool. Whatever the reason, Scottsdale is a top choice for corporate gatherings. The Saguaro provides over 15,000 square feet of flexible indoor and outdoor meeting and event space, with wraparound patios, fireplaces, and a fire pit. We're ready to make your event a strategic success. Scottsdale's business climate is dynamic. Companies headquartered in Scottsdale include APL, Dial, Fender, Go Daddy, Kahala Corp, Kona Grill, Medicis, P.F. Chang's, Rural Metro, iCrossing and Taser, to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Saguaro Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing